Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Significant Improvement Over The Original DQM: Joker
The original DQM: Joker was a fun monster hunting game, but a bit a flawed. The sequel addresses virtually every problem of its predecessor and adds several new features that really make this an impressive game. The only real complaint I had was the graphics. While they were a step up from DQM: Joker they still felt a big step backwards from Dragon Quest IX. The pacing...
Published on September 29, 2011 by Robert Hlozek

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And then the game ended...
To call DQMJ2 short isn't correct. But the ending of the game leaves much to be desired. You feel like you spend time building up your team in preparation to become a champion and explore the world. The reality is not exactly that.

I felt let down by the world and the overall story of the game. Without getting spoilers involved I'll end there and say the...
Published on November 7, 2011 by Timothy D. Schroeder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Significant Improvement Over The Original DQM: Joker, September 29, 2011
By 
Robert Hlozek (Oviedo, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
The original DQM: Joker was a fun monster hunting game, but a bit a flawed. The sequel addresses virtually every problem of its predecessor and adds several new features that really make this an impressive game. The only real complaint I had was the graphics. While they were a step up from DQM: Joker they still felt a big step backwards from Dragon Quest IX. The pacing also feels a little slow at time too, though not as bad as it was in DQM: Joker. Those are minor gripes though and any Dragon Quest fan will be happy with this game.

As far as what's new, the biggest change in the game is in regards to your party of monsters. Traditionally monsters parties consisted of three different monsters. Now you have 3 available slots that can be taken up by 3 regular sized monsters, or a combination of larger sized monsters. These larger monsters can take up 2 or all 3 slot, and usually are significantly stronger than other monsters available to the player at that time. It changes up a player's strategy, since the team is now smaller, but they provides extra tactical advantages and are almost always a benefit.

But what really makes DQM: Joker 2 shine is all of the small changes to the game. Many monsters now have special passive attributes. A poisonous Bubble Slime may poison an attack simply by being attacked. Others might automatical heal or increase a teammate's tension/psyche level. Outside of combat the environments/hunting grounds got an extra level of realism. In addition to the day/night cycle there is also a chance of inclement weather that usually brings out stronger monsters and can also allow players to enter areas that were previously unavailable. Also, monsters don't just aimlessly wander; sometimes you'll see a couple monsters fighting one another, a frustrated Golem will punch at a wall, a Great Sabrecat and her cubs will be seen sitting around a dead snack. None of these things change the core experience, but it's a nice switch from monsters that just walk in circles until they decide to close in on you.

Overall, it's a great game and will provide at least 30 hours for the player who wants to just breeze straight through. For those who want to spend more time in online combat with friends or try to hunt down as many monster as possible it's easily to play for dozens of hours more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And then the game ended..., November 7, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
To call DQMJ2 short isn't correct. But the ending of the game leaves much to be desired. You feel like you spend time building up your team in preparation to become a champion and explore the world. The reality is not exactly that.

I felt let down by the world and the overall story of the game. Without getting spoilers involved I'll end there and say the reason DQMJ2 gets a 3 star is in fun and mechanics of the game itself. Once you start the game you really can't put it down, you always want to tweak and synthesize your team and constantly seek out newer and more powerful monsters.

If you come from a pokemon background and collecting is your goal, the game will not disappoint. If you come from a JRPG background than the story and world will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I play this more than any of my 3DS games, February 7, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This game impressed me. I looked at reviews, I looked at gameplay videos, I did my research, and still, I was not ready for this game to absorb so much time from me. The story isn't important, just like pokemon, it's about the core gameplay and mechanics. I purchased a guide for this game before playing because I wanted to know what it took to capture/create certain monsters, and the guide reveals just how many monsters are packed into this game. Through the entire storymode, you see maybe HALF of these monsters, maybe less. The rest must be created by YOU. You expect there to be more lower level monsters and less "god" monsters, but there are dozens and dozens of seriously ass kicking monsters you can create. On top of that, no monsters have to be the same, through planning ahead, you can implement certain traits into certain monsters. If your team of 3 requires a "healer", well you can breed your monsters and choose to keep healer traits. The limits of this game are seriously vast. Even after the story mode, I dumped 30 hours into building up to beating the "final boss" , after credits roll, you come back and they want you to keep going, with new challenges and more powerful bosses to fight. I own a 3DS, but because of lack of games, I dip into the DS library, and this game looks great. The game does not feature towns, or really anyone to talk to besides a few here and there, there really aren't side quests, but how you use your time is up to you. The game doesn't push or pressure you into doing too much, most of the game is a repetitive but addicting process of grinding a monster up to level 10-20, then breeding them with another, and hopefully increasing your monster's rank. The true grinding shouldn't come into play until you have a rank A or better, or if it's just not possible to rank up in the story. This game is great, I haven't spent as much time on any other DS game. Great visuals, excellent classic Dragon Quest music, great animations, good controls, easy to grasp, hard to master. Great Damn Game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2, January 4, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
It's hard to make a review for this game being my expectations were much different than what was delivered. In some ways I feel the game designers did an excellent job, and in others I wish they would have thrown whatever plans they had and made a DQM 1.7 release copying the format of the previous title.

Why? Because DQM Joker 2 just doesn't have the laid back feel of the previous title. Without giving away too much of the story line, you are relatively stranded and unlock regions to search as you go. Some areas feel much less creative, and going to regions feels "game-like" if you understand what I mean. Rather than having an intuitive reason behind travel, a menu like screen with a map pops up and asks you to click which area you would like to travel to, instead of having certain docks that bring you to certain regions as in the last game.
Edit: Even traveling inside of a map feels very game-like which aids to remove the player from having an emotional response to the game play. This is done by creating small areas with warp like exits that seem clearly navigable. The gameplay generally goes according to the paradigm: Walk around in small area, warp through a clearly navigable area, reappear in new area and repeat. There are some new things like climbing up extensively high walls and slowly walking across a narrow ridge against a cliff wall, both of which the designers tediously overuse. ***This paragraph is to contrast with relative inclusion of an actual island that is completely and entirely explorable and which uses warps only when traveling into a cave. This game uses warps excessively to the point that you no longer feel like an explorer, or an adventurer, but rather just a dude who must go through an island that is connected through strange and arbitrary lines of imagination. I may be going completely out on my own limb here, but I consider that a complete downgrade in comparison to the previous title. Oh, sorry, I have to stop rambling and warp, because we couldn't just connect our island. . .

The music is really great and enjoyable in some areas, and in others it just seems annoying and not very enjoyable to listen to. (This, of course, is slightly preferential)

The graphics are improved only slightly. But the graphics of the previous title were good enough for me.

The challenges that each place presents is less strategic and more based upon weather. Rather than lowering that bridge by going through a maze of monsters and various challenges in order to access a faster route inside the specific region, weather conditions will do this for you, such as rain breaking a branch down that will allow you to pass.

There are giant monsters in this game, but that doesn't necessarily mean that they are extremely strong towards the end game, some of them may be only rank D, while others can be much higher. This changes how many monsters can be on a team at once because giants can take up to 2 or 3 slots.

The environments are semi-realistic. You will find birds protecting their eggs, lion-like monsters protecting lion-like cubs and so on, but in the end, you will still see some birds that fly into the wall as their heads go right through, or the occasional monster that you walk straight into and somehow dodge.

Are you a DQM Joker fan looking for the sequel? Don't expect the same game type as the last.

DQMJ2 Graphics 8/10 These are pretty good, but don't expect too much.
Presentation 7/10 A selection menu for travel? Really? I had hoped for something a little more intuitive. . .
Lasting appeal 7/10 Some sections you may want to revisit, while others are headache inducing and completely annoying
Music 6-7/10 Most of the music is fitting to the area, which means I very much dislike quite a few of the areas.
Customization 10/10 I don't think anyone will be disappointed with the sheer amount of customization this game has to offer, and if you can do/figure it out without a guide book, all the better for you.

Overall, this game does not seem like a nostalgic release with upgrades to the previous title, but a completely different style of game with much less overall, and much more annoying storyline.

I personally recommend the previous title, but if you have to have the best, newest version, then I suppose you should try this one out too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many Impovements, DQM and Pokemon fans rejoice!, November 1, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
The only problem I had with this game was the feeling that it was a little too short, and the difficulty of the last level. However, there are many improvements from the first, and a whole new storyline. The strategy guide, though way overpriced, is nice to have to aid in the synthesis of monsters, as well as progressing through the game.
perhaps the coolest addition is the WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP done over the Nintendo wi-fi connection. You can do wifi battle from DS to DS using the basic DS to DS wifi, but if you can logon to the internet through a wireless connection you can compete in the worldwide competition! Pretty cool... Of course you have the gamers who are obsessed and have all level X monsters that they've maxed out by constant level grinding who are at the top, and unless you plan on spending all of your time on the game, you can't even compete with the top players, but its still fun to enter the tournament.
If you enjoyed DQM 1 or Pokemon games or are even a dragon quest fan, this is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first one, January 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I have only logged about 18 hours on this game SO FAR but I love it! If you played the first one all the reviews that say this one is much improved are correct. It's not an easier game but access to everything is easier...a much better system for managing your items, monsters, equipment, etc. Sure there's a lot of grinding involved but that just goes with these types of games, doesn't it? I have thoroughly enjoyed online wi-fi play as well. I'd recommend this game to people who like the "collecting" games or dungeon crawlers...I think it would appeal to people of all ages that are statistic oriented collectors. This game seems to have tons of hours of play and friend codes and wi-fi make it a really great bang for your buck. I abandoned DQM Joker after about 30 hours but when I began it the online play had already been discontinued. This game is a good price for the many hours you can play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first but...(minor spoilers), March 26, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I can't recommend these games. First of all, the story hearkens back to that same old, "be the best monster hunter you can be," idea, with a really weak ending that really gives other dragon warrior/quest games a bad name. If you like monster synthesis, well you better love grinding too, cause the really good monsters to use for synthesis are VERY difficult to scout, much more so than the first game. By the end of joker 1 I has three rank S monsters, and was able to do all the post game "fun" without a hitch. At the end of this one I had three rank B's, one with an 100 in the attack 3 skill, and was still pulling 7% on the Rank B monsters to recruit. The same monster who basically single handedly took down the final boss. The graphics were okay, but I'd MUCH rather have a good story. Still, the story and characters (and bosses for that matter) were better than the first, and I did have fun with it. You can too, just understand what you're getting into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Beginnings... Great Game, October 25, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
First, allow me to say that Joker 2 is miles better than its predecessor. The pacing is better, the menus are more accessible, and the travel is a lot simpler.

That said, Joker 2 starts out VERY slow. Like Pokemon, the game insists on holding your hand for the first few hours in order to walk you through the game mechanics.

One of the primary draws of Joker 2 is the ability to "synthesize" monsters by mixing them together. However, it takes around two to three hours to get to the point where you even have the option to do so.

The battle system is one of the best I've seen in a monster collection game. By default, your monsters fight according to preset parameters (focus on healing, use magic, etc); it cuts down on battle tedium when you don't constantly have to input commands. There is still the option to enter commands manually however, so you have that control if you want it.

The entire game is set up to keep you out in the field battling and collecting monsters for the most part. You won't be stumbling across villages and buying supplies. You work out of your ship as the central hub (buying items from a vending machine, breeding monsters, etc.) and try to open new areas of the island to explore.

The story is somewhat forgettable but it get's the job done. There's the usual Dragon Quest puns and humour still. One of the monsters is a parody of a character from the movie The Warriors.

Overall, if you're looking for a long RPG that focuses more on collection and grinding than story, I would highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Game, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This game is a fantastic alternative to monster catching games like Pokemon. It has real connection to Joker 1, so feel free to jump in without playing that one. There are a ton of improvements from Joker 1 as well. The interface is more refined. Its easier to get around. The DQM Joker games are geared mainly towards those that are Dragon Quest fans, and have been following the franchise since its inception on the NES. All of the fan favorite monsters are present, with the exception of some of the newer ones from DQIX. You can also compete online, and if you finish top 100 in one of the predetermined ranks (which isn't hard to do) you get an awesome reward, which can sometimes be a rare mob! Synthesis is a big part of this game, so if you like huge breeding chains to get certain monsters, this game is for you. If you like Dragon Quest, this game is probably for you. If you like Pokemon, this game is probably for you too. It's light on story, but heavy on content. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Pros: you get to synthesize creatures, gain experience when you beat the game.
Cons: very easy bosses, little time to beat the game and 2-3 spots used for bug monsters.

Overall: simplistic game for little kids. But, I love the square enix games like final fantasy and dragon quest. I just love the turn based gameplay and how you can create a team and use teamwork to kick butt. Another issue was the ridiculous amount of time grinding and synthesizing just to get the best monsters. It takes forever and wifi is challenging because people are able to cheat and get away with the wifi prizes. Very fun and addicting. Very enjoyable but can be a problem for your vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 - Nintendo DS
$34.99 $16.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.