Dragon Tears and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Dragon Tears has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dragon Tears Mass Market Paperback – February 7, 2006


See all 30 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.99
$0.04 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$9.95

14th Deadly Sin
Third in the Women's Murder Club series: As violence sweeps through San Francisco, Detective Lindsay Boxer and her friends must risk their lives in the name of justice—before it's too late. Read more about authors James Patterson and Maxine Paetro
$7.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Dragon Tears + Phantoms + Darkfall
Price for all three: $24.97

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

“A razor-sharp, nonstop, suspenseful story.”—The San Diego Union-Tribune

“A great story…the most ambitious of Dean Koontz’s books.”—Columbus Dispatch

“The take-a-deep-breath ending alone is worth the price of the ticket.”—People

“A great story, sympathetic characters, and enough suspense to keep the pages flying.”—Detroit News

About the Author

Dean Koontz was born in Everett, Pennsylvania, and grew up in nearby Bedford. He won an Atlantic Monthly fiction competition when he was twenty and has been writing ever since. Mr. Koontz's books are published in 38 languages. Worldwide sales total more than 175 million copies, a figure that currently increases at a rate of more than 350 million copies a year. Dean and his wife, Gerda, live in southern California.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley; Reissue edition (February 7, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425208435
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425208434
  • Product Dimensions: 4.3 x 1.2 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (189 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #460,815 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Dean Koontz, the author of many #1 New York Times bestsellers, lives in Southern California with his wife, Gerda, their golden retriever Anna, and the enduring spirit of their golden, Trixie.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful By Edward Hancock II on April 13, 2007
Format: Mass Market Paperback
How do you kill what can not be killed? That is the question with which Harry and Connie must wrestle throughout the story that is Dragon Tears.

Yes there is a bit of the Koontz "formula" to this story, which is why I graded it 4 stars instead of 5...but this book is arguably one of my favorites. Unlike some of his other "formula" books (like the much-celebrated WATCHERS) I truly enjoyed the frights in this book. It was engaging and engrossing. If a reader doesn't get absolutely caught up in this chase.... well, I just don't know what to say.

Highly recommended!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful By Marcie on April 10, 2001
Format: Audio Cassette
I listened to Dragon Tears on audio and enjoyed it, but like another reviewer, it reminded me of other Koontz novels. It was a cool story idea, having a 20 year old man with supernatural powers try to rid the world of people he didn't feel deserved to be here. Like a homeless man and a woman and child living out of their car. When a police officer accidently ticked him off, he and his partner are the next in line. I thought Dean Koontz did a good job of making the apparitions scary, and the narrative by the dog was great. I love dogs, and this sounded like I would have imagined the dog to be able to think and talk. The only drawback was that I think the police officers figured out the whole plot way too fast. I would have never guessed what was causing the terrifying beasts to appear, or have been able to figure out who was behind it, but that's fiction and it was a fun listen. I like all of Koontz's novels, this wasn't my favorite, but I would recommend it to anyone who likes a little horror.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Serene Night on June 15, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Harry and Connie are L.A. homicide detective's ala the "Odd Couple." Harry is obsessively neat, and Connie is a messy dirty Harry type. Both characters are tracking a serial killer who brutalizes women. Harry's life takes an unexpected turn, when he encounter a strange hobo who tells him "Tick Tock You'll Be Dead By Dawn," thus begins a 12 hour Odyssey wherein Harry, Connie, and a rag-tag group of homeless pit their wits against a psychic serial-killer with a God-Complex.
Okay, I liked the first HALF of Dragon Tears. But after that it devolved into sheer Koontz formula.
For readers of Koontz, there really are no surprises in this novel. He uses the same formula in numerous other books. Lessee: There is a best friend who is a Hispanic cop. A Saintly single mom character. Quotations from the `book of Counted Sorrow,' a sentient dog, ranting about the apocalypse, mistrust of the psychiatric profession, and a serial killer who collects body parts... *Yawn.* How many Koontz books have elements similar to this?
The disappointing thing was I actually enjoyed the first HALF of the book. I liked the characters of Connie and Harry, but the second half contained way too much deus ex machina to be believed. And whatever happened to the first case Harry and Connie were working on? This subplot was dropped entirely. Disappointing. This was average Koontz. It might entertain readers who haven't read his backlist and for whom many plot elements are new...But for Koontz fans it contains no surprises...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful By The Tweeder on June 20, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
On the precipice of being a fine horror novel, Dean Koontz's "Dragon Tears" attempts to convey a very admirable message-that dire events or situations that may occur throughout life are only as horrible as they are perceived by those who they occur to-but falls flat on its face because of an outrageously dubious plotline. Similar to his last couple previous works such as "Hideaway", this work attempts to use an inhuman, prophet-like murderer from the Dark Side to torment the protagonists.
Police detectives Harry Lyon and Connie Gulliver are partners but could not be more different-Harry is consumed with order and balance, from his perfectly crafted color-coordinated closet to a strict daily routine that involves voluntary tedious paper work, while Connie embraces chaos, using it to fuel her aggressive craving to stop evil and make the world a better place. A Tuesday afternoon seems harmless enough, but Harry and Connie are summoned to stop a raging killer in a restaurant, leaving Harry to eventually shoot the perpetrator numerous times with his gun. Harry's day only gets worse from there, as a huge, disgusting street vagrant foretells him that he is going to die by sunrise and that all the people and things he cherishes are in danger as well. As dawn ticks closer and closer, Harry and Connie must comprehend all of these bizarre convictions before it is too late. What they discover is than a callous force believed to possess the strength of a god is out to make severe changes to the current world, one change being the exodus of the two detectives.
"Dragon Tears" brings in too many extraneous and fairly inconsequential characters into the narrative, especially the repeatedly used canine personification that is speckled throughout.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By James N Simpson TOP 1000 REVIEWER on August 9, 2003
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is a slow starting but eventual fast paced novel. The greatest Koontz character ever created lets you into his mind when he appears about half way through the book. That character named Woofer is a dog who gives the reader an insight into the way dogs actually think, ie being mainly obsessed with getting food. Woofer is a sensational character who although not a super intelligent dog like in other Koontz novels such as Watchers, is still the greatest character of the book. It's a shame he didn't appear a little earlier when the book hadn't yet picked up the pace.
Human characters in the book are also pretty interesting such as the detectives Harry Lyon and Connie Gulliver who are complete opposites but honest hard working police officers. Bryan (known as Tick Tock by his tormented) is an evil childish man with sensational supernatural powers who enjoys practicing his lethal powers while waiting to Become. He believes he is the next God whose job is to thin out the human population with the remainders holding him in awe and fear. He targets the two detectives for his next victims but they won't die without a fight.
Although starting a bit slow this book especially the second half is a sensational thriller and you really will enjoy meeting Woofer. Buy Dragon Tears just to meet him alone.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Dragon Tears
This item: Dragon Tears
Price: $7.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?