Dragon naturally speaking Home Vs Premium I am looking to buy one or the other version and not sure which is most reliable or most effective. I am a writer and my main purpose would be to dictate or copy my audio files from speaking engagements. I would appreciate input of experiences with either version
[UPDATED] asked by Elaine on October 18, 2010
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 answers
A
votes
I can't tell you if either Premium or Home edition of DNS 11 is more reliable. Looking at the reviews of both versions, you can see some people have no problems. Others have major problems. I don't see a good way to predict how well it would work for you, other than trying the software.

In my review on amazon, which you can read here if you haven't already:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/cdp/member-reviews/A298F00JNDOETS/ref=cm_cr_pr_auth_rev?ie=UTF8&sort_by=MostRecentReview
I do spell out the specific features that Premium has that Home does not. One feature that might help you, if it works well, since you want to use voice recognition software to transcribe speaking engagements, is the feature of Premium that allows transcription from **certain** supported digital voice recorders. (I haven't tried using a digital voice recorder with DNS, but I suspect if you have a different digital voice recorder other than one supported by Nuance, it may not work at all. My review suggests a link to check Nuance's website for which ones it says DNS supports.)

Do you want to transcribe your own voice with DNS at speaking engagements, or the voices of others? Premium DNS 11 would probably work well if you placed a supported digital voice recorder on a lectern while you gave a speech.