Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Dragon's Apprentice (Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica, The)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$16.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 1, 2010
I love the idea of this series, all these famous authors (long dead and gone) working together (mostly) to stop the destruction of an alternate "fictional" world. However, with that said, there are too many characters to keep straight in this series. And, with this 5th book, Owen adds even more characters! I am an English teacher and know many of the authors, however, I have several students who have read these books and they easily get confused and miss many of the underlying puns and jokes. Owen really, REALLY, needs to include a list of characters in these books, explaining who these people are in real life, as well as how they are connected to the story.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2010
I have enjoyed every one of the books in this series and have read each more then once. And, each time I always seem say this one or this one is the best. And, once again that rings true for this the fifth one in the series. But, this time, unless the next ones are even better, which if they are I am certainly going to have long nights reading in the future, I have truly found my favorite of the series so far. To anyone whose has yet to read the series, if you like fantasy, read it, and if you have been following the books then you best get to reading this one and soon. Once again my hats off to the author.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
This series held the whole family spellbound. We bought the series for our 10 and 11 year old kids but read it first to check it out ... and we were hooked. A little over the heads of our kids in many of the references, but that didn't detract from their enjoyment. Great books for adults who enjoy reading young adult fiction!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
A few years ago I discovered the novel Here, There Be Dragons by James A. Owen. This is the first book in the 7 books series known as the “The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica” which follows the lives of Jack, John and Charles as they battle the forces of evil in an effort to save the World. Quite a tall order for three unknown gentlemen from Oxford.

This is a wonderful series of books that draws on many of the known myths and histories laid out in our most treasured stories. The books mix elements of time travel and fantasy to produce a rich and dense forest of interconnected story lines–both real and fictional–that keep you moving forward to discover the Grand Reveal at the end of book seven, The First Dragon. The artwork at the start of each chapter is also stunning! That’s right, each chapter in every single novel of this series is illuminated. Each image is hand drawn by the author himself.

By the third book in the series, The Indigo King, the plot gets a bit complicated and becomes one of those time travel books/series that will keep your mind spinning and trying to work it all out. The shear number of the characters with their similar names and the overlapping, intertwining timelines also cause the mind to spin a bit. However, I stuck it out after a confusing third book and thoroughly enjoyed book 4, The Shadow Dragons, and book 5, The Dragon’s Apprentice, which set the series up for the what I hoped would be a fantastic finish. Book 6, The Dragons of Winter was once again just a s complicated as book 3 and once again confusion set in. However, all was made clear with book 7, The First Dragon. The conclusion was satisfying even if it felt a little rushed with some of the true historical background about the three main Caretakers not being fully fleshed out and shared with the readers.

Overall, I liked “The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica” by James A. Owen. The world he creates is partially known and brand new. The illustrations provided in each book at the start of every chapter are amazingly detailed. “The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica” series by James A. Owen gets a thumbs up.

<a href="http://www.secondrunreviews.com/" target="_blank">This review was originally posted on Second Run Reviews</a>.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
This book explores the depths of each of its characters while also providing an interesting story line that gives readers thrills and plenty food for thought. If you have not already started this set of books then I would suggest starting with the first book Here There Be Dragons. If you already read the first book then enjoy! Charles
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2011
Not just another fine installment in the Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica series, this book seems to mark a change of direction, setting up new goals for our heroes. I love this series, but if James Owen's characters were as deep and intricate as his plots, it would be perfect. That aside, it's a great book in a great series, but absolutely not the place for new readers to start.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2010
Another fantastic installment in the Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica. This one picks up just where the fourth book ended, and while the fourth book was slower and left a lot a plot holes lying about, this one resolves them in that Owen style we know and love. Complicated plot twists, changing alliances, and one of the best combinations of fantasy, science fiction and traditional literature. Also, it seems the kid gloves are coming off, as this novel gets darker and more dangerous than the previous ones. The caretakers are discovering that their actions are not merely confined to a specific event, but that they are all tied up together, with repercussions into both the past, and more disturbingly, the future.

In this novel the Caretakers discover the consequences to the destruction of the Keep of Time, the dismissal of the Dragons, and their meddling in time have caused a rip in the Archipelago, separating it completely from the Summer Country. As they investigate, they discover that indeed, for every action there's a reaction, and that their actions, from the first novel to the last one, were perhaps, not the wisest. They also find themselves fighting with their inner demons, and with the loses of their closest friends to the war (both in the Summer Country and in the Archipelago).

As has become common with this series, there is a huge amount of characters, from the good and the bad, to the tragic, pathetic, and ambiguous, and Owen does a great job of molding and developing each character. We see more of Rose Dyson and Laura Glue, who are maturing into young women, we learn more about the history of Bert and Jules, we discover more of the secrets to Termalene House and its mysterious caretaker, among other things. And the ending is a great surprise that leaves you waiting for the next book, cursing that it will be a year till it comes out. Anyone who loves this series will love this book; anyone who loves literature, fantasy and science fiction will love this book, and anyone who hasn't read these books... where have you been?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2010
The Dragon's Apprentice is the fifth entry in the Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica, the Atlas of Imaginary Lands, which has been protected by famous writers of our world -Dante, Shakespeare, Cervantes, Verne, etc.- for over a millenium.

This time around, as the time-flow finally cracks, and with it the Archipielago of Dreams, present Caretakers, J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, are hard-pressed to find the solution: finding the Dragon's Apprentice and mapping time to make things right. As events from the future effect the past, and the new past affects future events, the Caretakers and their allies fight their most fearsome enemies yet: The Primordial Shadows.

James Owen presents another compelling story, with great pace, interesting plot, and as always, the wonderful gift of the motivation to look into the classics, and discover -or re-discover- all the wonderful stories the great men of the past have left us as heritage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2010
A GREAT sequel to the series. Very exciting, very funny. Owen lives up to my expectations one again in continueing his story. I can't say enough how wonderful it is and whenever I go to a bookstore and I see someone standing nearby the shelf with his books on it i always go over and say, "Hey, you should really read this!" and walk away. They usually pick it up. =) A great series and worth reading again and again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2010
I've enjoyed all of the books in this series and each has gotten progressively better. I love that you can just enjoy the story or look deeper at the famous characters or myths to see how everything connects. There are a ton of characters, but most are familiar from history and are secondary. My only disappointment with this book is that the next in the series is not available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse