Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dragons of Berk Are Back!
Dragons: Riders of Berk Part 1 picks up following the events of the feature film How to Train Your Dragon (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Dragon Double Pack) [Blu-ray] and the holiday special DreamWorks Dragons: Gift of the Night Fury / Book of Dragons Double Pack (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Online Video Game). Luckily many of the original voice cast from the feature...
Published 17 months ago by Jason S.

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, less than great copy.
The show starts right where the Movie leaves off. The stories are great, and enjoyable by both kids and adults. The voice acting is great, the actors they had to change do a great job of sounding a lot like the originals you could barely tell they changed. My problem is the animation quality. It just looks rough and unfinished. The characters don't move smoothly it...
Published 17 months ago by xytalyst


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dragons of Berk Are Back!, July 24, 2013
By 
Jason S. (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Dragons: Riders of Berk Part 1 picks up following the events of the feature film How to Train Your Dragon (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Dragon Double Pack) [Blu-ray] and the holiday special DreamWorks Dragons: Gift of the Night Fury / Book of Dragons Double Pack (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Online Video Game). Luckily many of the original voice cast from the feature film return to voice their characters in this Cartoon Network TV Series. The few voices that had to be recast are masterfully done to where they sound very much like their feature film counterparts. Beyond the voice acting, the stories & animation present in this 1st season are top-notch and are a great way to pass the time until the 2nd feature film due out in 2014. One touch I like is how Hiccup narrates the beginning & end of the episodes as he did in the original film.

Part 1 consists of 2 discs with the 1st 11 episodes of season 1; each episode running approximately 22 1/2 minutes. Each disc features a "play all" function for the episodes. The dvd case comes with a slipcover and has two slips inside: one is a code for the Ultimate Battle Pack to be used in the online/mobile game School of Dragons (limited time offer); the other is a coupon good for $3 off on a new Defenders of Berk Action Dragon Toy (coupon valid from 7/30/13 to 1/31/14). The final 9 episodes of season 1 can be found on Dragons: Riders of Berk - Part 2

I personally am very pleased with the video & audio presentation of the episodes. The audio is available only in English with Dolby Digital 5.1; subtitles are available in English, Spanish, and French. As with most, if not all, DreamWorks releases one of the special features is the World of DreamWorks Animation which features sneak peeks into other DreamWorks animation properties. Another Sneak Peeks section also includes some other animation theatrical trailers as well as a look at the Dragon toys for which the included coupon can be used. "Dragon Tracker Part 1" provides an overview of the 4 new types of dragons introduced in the included 11 episodes. "Evolution of Thunderdrum" is a behind the scenes look at the creation of one of these new dragons. The final bonus feature is a music video titled "Heavy Metal" Dragon Mash-Up.

The actual episodes on the 2 discs are as follows:
1) How to Start a Dragon Academy
2) Viking for Hire
3) Animal House
4) The Terrible Twos
5) In Dragons We Trust (part 1 of a 2 part episode)
6) Alvin and The Outcasts (part 2 of a 2 part episode)
7) How to Pick Your Dragon
8) Portrait of Hiccup as a Buff Man
9) Dragon Flower
10) Heather Report Part 1
11) Heather Report Part 2

Unfortunately for purchasers of the Dragons: Riders of Berk dvd premiere, the 4 episodes on that disc are repeated here; on the plus side that single disc release did include 5 exclusive dragon trading cards.

Regarding my rating of 4 stars, I based it mainly upon a semi-weak selection of bonus features. It would have been nice to see much more substantial behind the scenes features on the animation & voice talent behind this wonderful series along with possibly some deleted/abandoned scenes/story ideas and some episode commentaries. Offering the series in Blu-ray would have been good, too, as well as a single full season release vs 2 separate volumes.

The series, itself, I rate 5 stars and highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of the original film. And while it would have been great to have a single full season release, don't let that stop you from picking up this terrific series; the pricing is reasonable enough to allow for purchasing both volumes. Plus you'll want to get ready for the start of season 2: Defenders of Berk which begins in September. And if you haven't seen the original feature film yet, why not??? It's definitely recommended viewing and should be seen before beginning the TV series; trust me: you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's quality is almost as good as the movie! often when a cartoon series based off a movie it slips down in quality and the story line drifts off the original theme. But not in this series, I also enjoyed watching Hiccup and Toothless's bond grow even deeper, definitely worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable!, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragons: Riders of Berk Volume 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
My 20 month old daughter LOVES How To Train Your Dragon, so when I discovered the series I was thrilled because now I have lots of episodes to choose from & don't have to listen to the same lines day after day. Plus the series is truely enjoyable, not crude or disgusting, teachs values and lesson in each episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, less than great copy., July 23, 2013
The show starts right where the Movie leaves off. The stories are great, and enjoyable by both kids and adults. The voice acting is great, the actors they had to change do a great job of sounding a lot like the originals you could barely tell they changed. My problem is the animation quality. It just looks rough and unfinished. The characters don't move smoothly it almost looks like bad claymation at times. Kids probably wouldn't even notice. I didn't even notice it till i got to disk two, but its driving me nuts. It makes me wonder if this is why the show is not available in Blu ray, It would make its graphical shortcomings too obvious. I understand the animation like in the movie is expensive, and the budget on such a show it limited, but I'd like to think they could have done a slightly better job then this. I would have given it 5 stars had it not been for this. Otherwise, it's an awesome show and I'm sure most of you probably wont even notice what I'm talkin about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Drastic Theme Change From Village-Dragon Integration, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The pilot and the first few episodes of this series led me to believe that the entire show would be Hiccup trying to solve issues with Berk's integration with dragons. However the series does curve off by switching the theme to adventure and documenting the unknown. I'm cool with the adventuring, people love it, but I don't like the fact that the show threw me off partway through the first ten episodes.

I like when shows or movies don't have that clear bad guy. More specifically, I like that the enemy in the first episodes really is not someone, but a non-physical difficulty of the village creating a relationship with dragons. And, when developed properly, this can create a unique series that isn't the standard fight the evil dude. This is also why I hate the fact that Mildew was created, mind as well slap on a twirly mustache to his character design.

But my lust for seeing a documentary of fantasy civil engineering isn't the reason for the 4 stars... it's the first point, the one about the drastic shift in the theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful experience, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragons: Riders of Berk Volume 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this series. Being a geek myself, it's easy to relate to Hiccup, the undersized but intelligent Viking who single-handedly does what no other of his tribe has ever done--tame a dragon. But the real star, in my mind, is Hiccup's dragon, the dreaded Night Fury Toothless, who's anything but. Toothless is the most intelligent of dragons and his and Hiccup's bond transcends all obstacles. I normally hate "cutesy" stuff but this series is adorable without being nauseating. At the end of each episode, my desire to have a Toothless of my own keeps increasing. Also, the animation is masterful--see it in HD for best effect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first season of Dragon TV series, June 2, 2014
The voices are all familiar, the same 6 kids are there, the adults, there are a few extra characters in the TV series than there was in the movie. Some of the characters from the books, in name only made into the TV series. Alvin the Treacherous for instance.

My 13 year old son and I both love the How to Dragon your Dragon TV series. So worth watching, whether you have kiddos or not.

did a great job sticking to the movies in style and story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than worth the price, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An excellent movie followed, surprisingly, by an excellent TV series. I hope the series continues. Not only have my grandkids enjoyed watching the episodes, but I found I could watch along with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamworks Dragons: Riders of Berk, Season 1, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragons: Riders of Berk Volume 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
The animated series "Dreamworks Dragons: Riders of Berk" faithfully continues the story line begun in the feature film "How to Train Your Dragon". As with many animated productions, the program appeals to young people, but much of the dialogue is in the adult idiom. In particular, the story continues the adventures of a group of 6 adolescents in a fantasy (with some historical context of what life must have been in a Viking village), but facing typical adolescent issues. These adventures inevitably involve the kids' interactions with some adults of the village. Several wholesome themes are developed in these stories: integrity, compassion, problem-solving, compromise, social skills, and probably a host of others. As in the feature film, violent scenes are depicted, and some mild vulgarity appears as is typical among adolescent peers. These do not detract from a generally uplifting message for youth and adult alike. The very young might be entertailed by the animated action, but may not grasp the significance of certain decisions the kids in the story make, nor their potential consequences, perhaps much less the allusions to stereotypical adolescent behavior. The young Viking hero (Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III) is not without his own imperfections, and it is important to him to accept, confront, and adapt these, and pursuade his friends and fellow villagers alike, to do likewise. The dragons, of course, are characters essential to the story-line, and themselves show many endearing characteristics, much like family pets who behave more like partners in problem-solving. The series has much to recommend it for viewers of all ages. For first-time viewers it is not recommended that the series' on-line wiki be consulted, because of the numerous spoilers. It will be sad when the series, now in its second season, finally goes out of production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommend, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter loves both the movie and music to "how to train your dragon", but she can only watch it soo many times, it was nice to see something else to the story called "riders of berk". It is cute and it nicely transitions where the movie left off with everyone getting used to the dragons and training them at school. The quality of the animation for "riders of berk" is not as good as "how to train your dragon" but maybe they didnt have the same budget..not really sure but after a few minutes you get used to it. The voices of the characters all seem to be the same from the movie as well, which is nice. definitely recommend. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because of the animation quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.