Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just bought and using this book
I bought this book because a few art ladies in my neighborhood meet once a week to work from this book and now I am meeting with them. I have never read any of Edwards other books and am not familiar with her theories. I just wanted to reactivate my art talent.

I have done ten of the forty exercises so far. I have been impressed with how easy it was to just...
Published on December 2, 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
291 of 309 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing
I loved the video "Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain" and also the book "The New Drawing on the right Side of the Brain",but this new book is just a new format for the exercises covered in the book and video. There are not 40 new exercises as promised, and actually there are very few new exercises.
I was looking forward to the book to further...
Published on November 1, 2002 by nickey777


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

291 of 309 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, November 1, 2002
By 
"nickey777" (Rockville Centre, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
I loved the video "Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain" and also the book "The New Drawing on the right Side of the Brain",but this new book is just a new format for the exercises covered in the book and video. There are not 40 new exercises as promised, and actually there are very few new exercises.
I was looking forward to the book to further the skills I developed with new ideas not to redo the exercises I've completed.
It's a great book for someone who never invested time or money in Betty Edwards' book or video, but it's not worth it if you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just bought and using this book, December 2, 2005
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
I bought this book because a few art ladies in my neighborhood meet once a week to work from this book and now I am meeting with them. I have never read any of Edwards other books and am not familiar with her theories. I just wanted to reactivate my art talent.

I have done ten of the forty exercises so far. I have been impressed with how easy it was to just start drawing again. From some of the exercises I get the drift of where Edwards is coming from, but what is more important is the experience I am gaining.

On exercise six are drawings upside down and you sketch them that way; then turn them upright when done and surprise you have an amazing sketch of the drawing you copied. The idea is that you trick your brain into switching to the right side and stop the left side from talking and cluttering up your mind with thoughts such as "I don't do upside down pictures".

If you get the book do all the drawings in this exercise and you will find an interesting thing happens. The drawing you think is the simplest to do and get right is actually the hardest and the hardest is the easiest to do. You can come up with your own theory on that. I have my own. I learned a lot about myself from this exercise when I analyzed my pictures. One thing I found is that I draw things slightly larger than I see them. So go for it and see what happens for you.

I mail ordered all the supplies listed in the book and found that I did not need all the things on the list and could have done without some things and saved myself some money. It is easy to adapt the lessons to your budget if you get creative. Do get the kneaded eraser, charcoal, and number four pencil. You can end up spending over twenty dollars for all the supplies recommended.

I plan to update this review when I am done with the workbook. I give it four stars now because I have not finished the book and the issue with the supply list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Portable Classroom, July 11, 2004
By 
Sarah Dreher (Amherst, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
I started out as an insecure, fumble-fingered incompetent -- couldn't even doodle. With the techniques Edwards puts forth, I've been able to learn a tremendous amount about drawing, and about looking at the world (a side-effect not to be understimated). This workbook provides a classroom experience for those who can't find or afford a classroom. For those of us with some experience, it's a great refresher course. I recommend it very highly. In fact, I'm ordering my second copy, for an insecure, fumble-fingered friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, February 18, 2006
By 
T. Muench (Saint Germain, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
While not absolutely necessary, this is an easy way to keep organized and on track if you're using the Drawing On the Right Side of the Brain text. You can find the essential materials and supplies you'll need in your own home, but this workbook gives you a place to keep your work in one place and in order. I suppose you could just use this workbook, but the text is where you'll learn the 'why' of what you're practicing, so I'd recommend that if you're only going to buy one, buy the text, not this workbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Resource for Artists & Would-Be Artists!, November 3, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
If you are taking a drawing class, or using Dr. Edwards' book, "The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain," you will find this a very helpful workbook. It features lots of new information, and expanded exercises and projects that will help to reinforce your drawing skills and abilities, whether you are a beginner or a seasoned expert. I also highly recommend the video of Dr. Edwards' actually teaching her class - there is an order slip in the Workbook that you can use to get the video. She is a gifted teacher, and it is great to see her teaching "in-person."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't draw? This book will show you how., December 23, 2005
By 
G. Helms (Silicon Valley, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
Terrence Hines has become stuck on the right vs. left brain issue and is ignoring the quality of the instruction in this book. Forget the whole left vs right brain right or wrong issue, and you still have a fantastic book that is in use by dozens of colleges across the country.

Can you barely draw stick figures? This book will show you a different way to look at the world. Can you doodle or cartoon, but want to draw more realistic portraits? This is the book to pick up. Artists look at the world in a different paradigm than when tooling around picking up groceries, and this book will show you how to switch paradigms. From looking at the negative space that surrounds an object, to looking at only the shades of dark that define an object, you'll learn how to 'see' objects in a way that makes it MUCH easier to draw.

I've doodled and cartooned for years, and was dissatisfied with the 'flat' appearance of my scribbles. "Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain" was recommended to me by a friend, and in a few short weeks I went from flat cartoons to drawing recognizeable portraits. One of my portraits has been published on the rear cover of "From Turban to Toering". To date this remains one of my favorite gifts to give to friends who want to draw and claim they can't. You *can*, and this book will help!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource!, January 20, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
I have loved every book that Betty Edwards has published, and this workbook is an excellent "companion" to those. If you already know how to draw and want to brush up on your skills, this book has some excellent tools and tricks to support you. If you're just learning to draw, it is a supportive guide. Buy it along with THE NEW DRAWING ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE BRAIN, and they will change your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Betty Edwards without the Psychobabble!, November 25, 2009
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
I do have her original book and her "new" Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain, and each time I picked them up I found the exercises useful but was quite turned off by her fairly incessant, and often physiologically incorrect, psychobabble. Now this exercise book provides you with her exercises largely shorn of the right brain/left brain psychobabble. The exercises are good and do help release and train your creativity and are designed to improve your "vision" of the surrounding world, and in this it succeeds. The workbook has blank pages left for you to draw in the book itself, which is useful since it leaves you with a permanent record of your progress. I do wish they had used better drawing paper for those pages, but then I can be fussy about my materials and since many art students use newsprint for their practice exercises and since the book is meant as a set of exercises rather than as finished art work, I guess I am nitpicking here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool for artists and non-artists, December 14, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
I have to disagree with the few negative reviews that have recently appeared for the Edwards workbook.
This is a fine gift for anyone interested in learning to draw. While it doesn't go into depth as "Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain" does, it does provide enough information to get started - the methods and approach of Dr. Edwards are groundbreaking and absolutely essential information if you want to use your WHOLE brain. (And yes, Nicolaides' book is important, too, but Edwards work is very complementary to it, and carries his work many steps further...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine workbook - worth the price!, June 28, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing (Ring-bound)
This isn't meant to replace Edwards' outstanding books, including the classic Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. But it is helpful with its exercises, drawing tool, and current research. Don't expect miracles, but do expect improvement in your drawing skills! ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing
$18.95 $16.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.