Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Oldie but a Goldie
Guptill wrote this book early in the 20th century and it carries an illustrators overtones. However it offers clear and concise instruction in the art of pencil sketching from the basics to finer points of detail. I originally bought the book from a curiosity point of view, but, found it's practical and concise instruction very much to my liking even though the...
Published on October 28, 2008 by Frankie Boy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Way too much writing but what illustrations are there are nice
Type a little small for my older eyes. The illustration or reproductions are wonderful. Some suffer because printing,like the cover art is dramatic but on the inside page, is flat and lifeless.(page 86). Overall just the pages on representations of details are worth the book. Just wish there were more drawings.
Published 17 months ago by drweb4


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Oldie but a Goldie, October 28, 2008
By 
Frankie Boy (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Sketching in Pencil (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
Guptill wrote this book early in the 20th century and it carries an illustrators overtones. However it offers clear and concise instruction in the art of pencil sketching from the basics to finer points of detail. I originally bought the book from a curiosity point of view, but, found it's practical and concise instruction very much to my liking even though the illustrations were clearly early 20th century.

Beautifully presented this is a classic in the art instruction genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful illustrations, February 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Sketching in Pencil (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
This splendid and inexpensive book is one of a long list of "old" art manuals published by Dover, a publisher I will never thank enough for its commitment to re-publishing these wonderful volumes. Like most of such manuals, these are not step-by-step how-to manuals and if this is what you are looking for you should definitely look elsewhere. Rather, this book is a very "wordy" manual, written in beautiful and (given its age) old-fashioned English.

Keep in mind, however, that I am not really using this book as a guide, so I cannot duly evaluate its usefuleness along this important dimension. I purchased this book because I love pencil and ink and I enjoy watching and studying good artwork. In this dimension, this book is outstanding. Rather than pages and pages of simple exercises to help, step-by-step, to produce somewhat un-remarkable drawings, this book contains many examples of wonderful art by accomplished artists. There are examples of architecture, animals, landscapes and human figures. All of them a real pleasure to watch. Coupled with the interesting text and the remarkably low price, I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes pencil.

If you like this book you should also check out Guptill's "Rendering in Pen and Ink", which I love even better than this one, and that for a similarly low price offers countless examples of truly awesome black & white artwork. At the time I am writing this review the "look inside" option is not yet available on Amazon for "Pencil", but it available already for "Pen and Ink". I would then check a few pages of "Pen and Ink" to have a better idea about structure and content, which is very similar between the two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing and Sketching In Pencil---helpful, thorough, and art-inspiring., April 21, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Sketching in Pencil (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
I chose a five-star rating for Drawing and Sketching in Pencil because I very much like Mr. Guptill's style of drawing and his way of instructing. Mr. Guptill is very helpful and thorough when he explains why he approaches a subject in a certain way, and many times he discusses MORE than one way to get the job done. Did I say 'job'? Maybe I should have said 'achieve the end result'. This book helps a person to see that drawing and sketching is relaxing as well as productive and satisfying. For me, there is nothing negative about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Way too much writing but what illustrations are there are nice, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Sketching in Pencil (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
Type a little small for my older eyes. The illustration or reproductions are wonderful. Some suffer because printing,like the cover art is dramatic but on the inside page, is flat and lifeless.(page 86). Overall just the pages on representations of details are worth the book. Just wish there were more drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Sketching in Pencil (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
Enjoying this book, but they will not allow any books over 8.5" X 11"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Drawing and Sketching in Pencil (Dover Art Instruction)
Drawing and Sketching in Pencil (Dover Art Instruction) by Arthur Leighton Guptill (Paperback - November 9, 2007)
$22.95 $18.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.