Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's really unseemly how much we love this heinous show
Got this for Christmas "for my husband." Yeah, right. Fact is, it was as much for me as for him. We save it to watch just before bed on only the worst, most stressful days, because it's so incredibly hilarious and utterly vicious. This show gleefully shatters taboos you hadn't even realized existed.

Let me say right here that I don't think offensiveness is...
Published on February 20, 2011 by Jeddy 3

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything is good except the package
The edges of the box are no longer right angles because of not placing right in the warehouse probably, the pictures of the product didn't show enough details of how the DVDs were placed so I thought it was designed in special packages like other TV series than just a regular DVD cases.
Published 1 month ago by Krauser W.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's really unseemly how much we love this heinous show, February 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
Got this for Christmas "for my husband." Yeah, right. Fact is, it was as much for me as for him. We save it to watch just before bed on only the worst, most stressful days, because it's so incredibly hilarious and utterly vicious. This show gleefully shatters taboos you hadn't even realized existed.

Let me say right here that I don't think offensiveness is funny just because it's offensive. That's lazy humor, and it's boring. This humor is funny because it's brilliantly well written, it offers a joke about every 15 seconds, it's character-driven, and the comedy springs from its premise: A parody of the kinds of "reality show" that put dysfunctional people together in the same living quarters and watch them fight, act out, and drive each other crazy. I hate those kinds of shows, but I love Drawn Together. Unlike those reality shows, it somehow retains its humanity and even some sense of compassion for the insane characters.

Go figure. It wallows in the worst and, by mercilessly mocking it, somehow makes me feel good. I'm so sorry they cancelled this brilliant thing. Oh, Drawn Together, this world was never meant for one so... *sniff*... beautiful as you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST INVESTMENT EVER!, August 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
This DVD set is the best EVER! I bought all 3 seasons about a year ago and I loved them so much that they all got ruined in my constant viewing. I had some reservations about buying this set because i wasnt sure if it was EVERY episode or if it had all the original dvd extras, BUT IT DOES!. This set is not only all 3 COMPLETE seasons, but it includes a board game, multiple drinking games and all the extra commentary and extras that my original dvds had! it is the best if you love Drawn Together, but also a great set if you have only seen a few episodes and liked it! it is SUPER cheap for the amount of activities and episodes you get! If you cant tell, I have utilized one the drinking games right now (one of many) from the discs, and it rocks! This set plus the two movies completes everything you will ever need from Drawn Together. BUY THIS DVD SET! IT IS THE BEST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes South Park look like a Merchant Ivory film, April 5, 2010
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
The show is about a "Cartoon Reality Show". Various character archetypes from reality shows e.g. Captain Hero (the Superman character), the Princess (the Disney Princess character) and misc cartoons live together in a house. Outlandish hijinks ensue that often poke fun at real-life stereotypes (e.g. Ling-Ling, the "pikachu" character speaks "Engrish") and cartoon cliches (i.e. Captain Hero reads his own origin story). And of course, as mentioned raunchy hijinks necessarily ensue.

This is a low-brow (no political or social commentary like South Park), but funny show with lots of scatological humor, pop culture references, and a ridiculously over-the top nature. If you like over the top slapstick and scatological humor, you'll like this show.

If you're in college, the board game set included is also pretty nice, and the special features include a "milk" drinking game. If I was 10 years younger, I'd probably think it was amazing.

Recommended if you like Tripping the Rift (the humor is fairly similar) or South Park.

*Just a warning - if you're easily offended don't watch this show. It makes South Park look like Barney the Purple Dinosaur by comparison. It really is probably the most offensive thing I've ever seen on TV. At some point, every human being will be offended by something on it.

It kind of reminds me of Fritz the Cat, except funnier. They explore every possible stereotype regarding race, religion, and orientation humanly possible. There are also plenty of graphic discussions and depictions of sex and nudity. This show is the kind of thing that would give the PMRC nightmares. I'd watch an episode on comedy central's website before purchasing. This show is really, really offensive and the DVD is uncensored which is much more offensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Googly Moogly! This Box set is awesome!, January 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
Drawn Together is not meant for everyone. But for those of you who enjoy blatant, politically incorrect humor; there's never been a better deal! When I bought this boxed set (which contains all 3 seasons in their entirety) it was on sale for only $10.00! It was a deal I couldn't pass up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Defenatly a party in my box!, March 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
perhaps not the wittiest humour out there, but if you are not offended easily... drawn together is sure too push your boundries and offend you at one point or another. never the less this show is fantastic and forces us to take a good look at ourselves (and others) and laugh about how politically correct the world has gotten.

Also the unsencored content is a bit confronting at times... but worth the watch if you have seen the sencored tv version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a shame there was only 3 seasons and a movie. It could have gone on much longer., December 1, 2011
By 
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
In the rise of popularity of adult orientated cartoons like South Park, the hunt was on to find more shows like it in the attempt that someone would hit gold and out-do Trey and Matt. Even The Simspons attempted some more adult orientated shows there for a while. But not all of them succeeded, instead they just found small cult followings. But Drawn Together hit the nail on the head right away. With Big Brother being a current pop-culture hit, it was only a matter of time before someone made fun of it. That's where Drawn Together brought in a house of different contestants in this whacky and outrageous reality-TV show parody.

The main characters of the show are a Super-Man-like man named Captain Hero, who not only is not all that courageous at times and is also battling his own Sexuality. He likes to use his super-powers of being able to fly and have laser vision, as well as try and hump everything on two legs, whether they work or not.

Then there is Clara who is a Disney-Like princess, who has been a little sheltered in her posh royal upbringing, and doesn't seem to always know how to be politically correct all the time. She also has her quirks and a few surprises up her...umm... dress.

Then there is Toot. Who is a Betty-Boop-like woman, who has seen her best days gone a way a long time ago. She is a gross overweight pig who, like Captain Hero, also doesn't like to hold back her hormones at times.

Xander is a queer Zelda-like video game character who in the beginning is always saying he is on a never ending quest to save his girlfriend, only to discover his true sexuality. He also has many lives and dies quite a few times in the show, but not quite a rip off of Kenny tho.

Spanky Ham is a favorite character. He is one of those toons that showed up online in spam adverts. He is a rough, sleazy, horny little pig who... yeah, I guess they all pretty much have that quirk.

Ling Ling is a Pokemon-like thing who doesn't speak English, least not well. Mostly when he speaks it is subtitled. He is kinda cute, and always either getting sad or angry and wanting to do battle with someone.

Foxxy Love is a Josie and The Pussy Cats kind of thing. Sometimes she also reminds me of someone who never was, but should have been in Scooby Doo. She is a strong opinionated black woman, and she will open a can of whoopie on your butt if you mess with her. She also likes to party and make out with Clara from time to time.

And finally there is Wooldart. An annoying Sponge-Bob-like character who is the looniest of them all. Not too bright at times, but always does something stupid enough to make the viewers laugh.

Taking all of these characters and combining them into the same house, it makes a hilarious combination of misfit cartoons of different types to come together and see how they would get along. Each episode is often nothing like the last one, sometimes it might be the house game show, sometimes it might just consist of them doing their own things, or finding trouble, love, hate etc...

In the DVD package you get seasons 1, 2 & 3 as well as the movie. Unfortunately my Australian release of this did not come with the game board, but I don't mind, I probably never would have played it anyway. The DVD's do have extra features such as "making-ofs", "interviews", "audio commentaries" and a few other things. Note: there is no closed captions/subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Show To End All Shows!, March 13, 2010
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
Reality TV has pretty much taken over the airwaves so it is time to bite back with Drawn Together. This is an animated reality show putting 8 different cartoon characters in a house and seeing what happens. What happens you ask? It can all be summed up in one word...<CENSORED>.

I would love to tell you what this show is all about, but I have a feeling that it won't be able to get published on this site. What I can tell you is this is the show that reality tv fans will love and reality tv haters will love even more! This show pretty much crosses the line on everything that is good and pure in this world. It is rauncher than Jackass, grosser that Fear Factor, goofier than Flavor of Love and pretty much more amazing than anything you will ever see on television. Each joke makes you laugh until your sides hurt, the uncensored verson on these dvds will shock you so much your jaw will drop all the way down to the Earths core. The pop culture references of television, reality television and various animation companies will make laugh so hard you will do things I can't even say on this web site. What I can say is this is a must see show for anyone from super avengelical to devil worshipers. Get all three seasons in all their gut busting and gut wrenching glory, beleive me it is so worth it! On that note so will the movie!

*Recomended Episodes*
Hot Tub/Pilot - Season 1
Foxxy VS. The Board Of Education - Season 2
Drawn Together Babies - Season 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG So funny, February 8, 2010
By 
David Frydenlund (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
This is one of the funniest series I've ever watched. Every episode is full of non stop humor! No matter how many times I can see one of these episodes, I'll watch it again and find something else that's funny with it!

Some people are really critical about this show probably because they take it too seriously. WELL STOP IT! It's a really enjoyable cartoon and if you open your mind a little you'll see how funny it can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny-but dont watch when you're eating!, January 21, 2011
By 
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
Funny show about a variety of cartoon characters from different shows "drawn together" into a reality tv show. Of course the angle of the show is to mock reality tv shows and the stupidity they entail. Real funny and one of the rarer places to find where they go further than most shows. I say dont watch when youre eating because there are far too many barf, fart, poop, blood,snot, bodily fluids,gore or other nasties to not get a little grossed out-even though they are just cartoons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, yet flawed, July 7, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Caldwell, Idaho, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawn Together - The Complete Series (DVD)
Love this show, and that the games were neatly packed into the box. However, once you take the pieces out of their cardboard casing, the box isn't so fit anymore. You can't even put the cards back. So you have to store the game pieces in something else. But it's great for a collector's piece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Drawn Together - The Complete Series
Drawn Together - The Complete Series by Drawn Together (DVD - 2009)
$59.98 $22.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.