Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dream More: Celebrate the Dreamer in You
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Melvins The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 27, 2012
Dolly Parton shares her philosophy on life in her new book based on a commencement speech that she gave to graduating students at the University of Tennessee in 2009. Now she expands on her beliefs and urges readers to dream more, learn more, care more, and be more.

Written in a conversational style with much humor and wit, Dolly offers her words of wisdom and advice gained over a lifetime of achievement. Her biggest wish is for people to dream more and stay true to those dreams. She tells us it's alright to be a dreamer. That's where great ideas start. She confesses she has always been a dreamer, still has dreams and will never stop working. She said it would be ok to drop dead on stage doing what she loves. Yes, she said that!

Using examples from her life beginning with her childhood and growing up poor, Dolly talks about her early dreams of going to Nashville to be a star, doesn't shy away from talking about her style of big hair, tight clothes and creating an appearance she was happy with. She is so open and forthcoming it's difficult not to like her.

I listened to the audiobook which was narrated by Dolly herself. Her vibrant personality and her enthusiasm for life shines through. As a bonus, she treats the listener to some of her music occasionally bursting into song on a few of the tracks. I highly recommend the audio version. You can't help feeling good when you are finished listening to this book.
11 comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
Dolly Parton has done, and continues to do, everything an entertainer can do: she acts, sings, is a philanthropist, produces, is a highly respected and savvy business woman, and most of all a writer. When asked many years ago what is the one thing she holds dear to her heart more than anything she has ever done it is writing. She could write songs before she could talk with her mother writing down the words to her songs when Dolly would start singing songs her mother knew were Dolly's own compositions.

Having written over 4000 songs now, an autobiography in 1994, and two children's books Dolly now has come out with "Dream More". The book is not another biography by some superstar, but Dolly's own philisophical way in leading a better and happier life. She has stated this is not book as "a way to live your life" because she has often stated in interviews it is sometimes dangerous to emulate yourself after someone else as we are all different people. Instead "Dream More" gives the reader "advice" on how Dolly, when faced with pressures of life and obstacles that were in her way at various courses in her lifetime, dealt with these issues and how she was able to overcome the sometimes hardships and difficulties in being a better and happier person.

The book got its origins in 2009 when Dolly Parton was asked to give a commencemnet speech at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville where she later received an Honorary Doctorate. Never being nervous before the public Dolly later admitted, "I was a nervous wreck having never talked to so many well-educated people in my life!". The speech she gave was brilliant and was very much Dolly. She gave it her all with her wit, candor and most of all her "common-sense" approach to living your life the best way she could. What came out of that speech for me and many others was to NEVER stop dreaming. "One may never attain certain dreams, but one can certainly keep dreaming them", Dolly later stated in an interview and it was always her dreams that has gotten her through life.

Many know Dolly's story, but what many don't know is the serious person she is and how her dreams is what got her out of the Smoky Mountains and into the realm of the entertainment industry. While even in Nashville and being a "girl singer" on a syndicated TV show Dolly continued to dream. Her duet partner Porter Wagoner often stated, "She had the mind and imagination of a wizard always coming up with new ideas". His attitude toward Dolly changed drastically when the two broke up professionally in 1976 when he later snarled in 1979, "Dolly is living in a fairy-tale land. She wants to act in movies and wants to be known world wide as some huge singer". Well Porter (rest his soul) Dolly did more than act: she became a movie star, a singing sensation and a household name globally because of her dreams.

An excellent book for all of us to read, "Dream More" is all Dolly and she wants all of us (and not just her hardcore fanbase! LOL) to dream our dreams and perhaps someday they will come true.

"Dream More" is also available in audio format and read by Dolly and contains two original songs sung by her including the moving one she did at the University of Tennessee.

All proceeds from "Dream More" will go to Dolly's "Imagination Library Literacy Program" that helps benefit children in the United States, Canada, and Britain to receive a book a month until they begin elementary school.
88 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
The audiobook is read by Dolly : ) It is great!!!! I love Dolly and have seen her in many interviews, but this book really gets to who she is & what she is all about...in her own words. The stories about "what makes her tick" are inspirational to everyone. Thank you for writing this book Dolly.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have been a fan of Dolly Parton's music since 1978, when I started collecting vinyl records. I have also read some books including three biographies. From those books and information I've read, I was aware that Dolly did her share (if not more) of charity work, but I'd not explored it. However, I had learned that she gives millions of books away to children to give them a better chance of learning to read.

When I first saw this book, I hesitated before buying it, but I'm glad that I did. It appears that in her local area, children know her as The "Book Lady" because that's how they first knew about her. I know that her music doesn't get as much radio airplay as it once did, and that may be a factor too, but Dolly has always been a positive thinker and in any case, she long ago ceased to need radio airplay. It is Dolly's positive thinking that is at the heart of this book.

I have often compared my life history with others, and the contrast with Dolly is stark. She comes from a very poor background, but from a very close-knit family, so it would seem = and I have no reason to disbelieve her on either count, because it shows through in her songs. Meanwhile, I come from a family who were certainly not rich, but who lived comfortably by the standards of the time. However, I wouldn't describe my family as close-knit. There are many different family situations the world over. Despite her poor background, Dolly was actually one of the lucky ones. She was surrounded by people who were willing to help her achieve her dreams, even if they didn't agree with what Dolly wanted to do.

The advice Dolly gives is soundly based, but for each individual, it is a matter of how much of the advice they are able to take. For example, if a child cannot do anything to please his or her parents or guardians, then unless they can get positive feedback from others, they aren't likely to grow up to be positive adults.

Over the years, I've learned from other sources that some of the advice here is absolutely spot-on - for example, you should know your own strengths and weaknesses, and make adjustments as far as possible.

Towards the end of the book there's a section containing quotes that Dolly is remembered for.

This is a great little book by a highly intelligent woman who knows what she's writing about.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
This book contains a lot of what you would expect from Dolly. It is derived from a Commencement speech Dolly gave at the University of Tennessee. The best part for me was the question and answer session at the end. It presents Dolly at her wittiest.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
A nice book to add to a collection of management/ life lesson books. She lays out some basic ideas that she's had running through her life and business. It's written in a style we have come to know as Dolly's- a little bit country, a little bit funny and a lot of smarts.
I enjoyed the book, which was a quick read, but also enjoyed the quips at the end, a collection of funny things she's been known to say.
This is not a gossip filled book nor is it particularly long winded or a biography. It touches on 4 basic areas and dedicates a chapter to each.
It's rather straightforward, but the hope is that you will be inspired to be more, do more, dream more, learn more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
Great book that imparts years of learning from the challenges of life. It's not a star studded 'look at me'. She writes of her humble up bringing, her love of family, and of the person she is on the inside. Not the Dolly on stage but the one who has such compassion for people and a passion for squeezing every ounce of living life to it's fullest and best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
A short, sweet inspirational book. Dolly has not always had an easy life, but she has managed to do a lot of good. Much of the book is about Dolly's faith and beliefs, and why and what she believes in. I enjoyed reading that she created the "Imagination Library" because her own father couldn't read or write. Clearly, Dolly wants to do good for others. Her wisdom is certainly interesting and she has a unique sense of humor. This one could leave you feeling like you can do even more than you can imagine.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
I enjoyed this uplifting book and learned a lot about Dolly I didn't know before. I came away with an increased respect for Dolly because of her big heart and her desire to promote reading. Her book will leave you with many positive thoughts to get you through life.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
This is a book for everybody and anybody in whatever walk of life they are in, whatever their age and whatever they do or don't believe in. If you haven't got either the book Dream More, or the audio Book Dream More, then you should get them. I say that in total honesty. If you can't get both, and you have to choose, I would say get the Audio Book first. The content is drawn from an acclaimed commencment speech Dolly Parton gave at the University of Tennessee. She elaborates on that here and on the themes 'Dream more, Learn more, Care more, and Be more. But it is much more than that. It is not an autobiography, it is really her philosophy of life told and explained in a very clear, simple and inspiring way. Dolly Parton has a knack of saying something that is very deep in a way that is accessible to all. This is because it comes from her real, hard earned experience and it is very honest. The message is worth thousands of philosophy and psychology books combined. She brings it together in a way that seems so easy, but makes you think deeply and it stays with you. The added value here is that she is a gifted reader and story teller and her voice is perfect to take one through the chapters. What makes it even more special is the fact that she interjects the passages with acapella singing of some lines or verses of a number of her songs. In addition, we get Coat of Many Colours, just accompanied by her guitar, and the insipriational song Celebrate the Dreamer with music and backing singers. The aceppela verses include: The Sacrifice, The Seeker,Try,I want to be somebody, proud of who I am, In the good old days when times were bad, Better get to Living, Light of a Clear Blue Morning, Confidence, everybody shout it, I will Always Love You. So it's not just a good listen to an audio book, it is highly entertaining. By the way, every penny from her audio book as with her book goes into the Imagination Library,her foundation to help children's literacy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.