Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 6, 2005
...The publishers of the present book deserve credit for presenting to the reading public the gist of Freud's psychology in the master's own words, and in a form which shall neither discourage beginners, nor appear too elementary to those who are more advanced in psychoanalytic study.

Dream psychology is the key to Freud's works and to all modern psychology. With a simple, compact manual such as Dream Psychology there shall be no longer any excuse for ignorance of the most revolutionary psychological system of modern times...

...Sigmund Freud's (1856-1939) attitude toward dream study was, in other words, that of a statistician who does not know, and has no means of foreseeing, what conclusions will be forced on him by the information he is gathering, but who is fully prepared to accept those unavoidable conclusions.

This was indeed a novel way in psychology...

Five facts of first magnitude were made obvious to the world by his interpretation of dreams.

First of all, Freud pointed out a constant connection between some part of every dream and some detail of the dreamer's life during the previous waking state...

Secondly, Freud, after studying the dreamer's life and modes of thought, after noting down all his mannerisms and the apparently insignificant details of his conduct which reveal his secret thoughts, came to the conclusion that there was in every dream the attempted or successful gratification of some wish, conscious or unconscious.

Thirdly, he proved that many of our dream visions are symbolical, which causes us to consider them as absurd and unintelligible; the universality of those symbols, however, makes them very transparent to the trained observer.

Fourthly, Freud showed that sexual desires play an enormous part in our unconscious, a part which puritanical hypocrisy has always tried to minimize, if not to ignore entirely.

Finally, Freud established a direct connection between dreams and insanity, between the symbolic visions of our sleep and the symbolic actions of the mentally deranged...

André Tridon
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
I read some of the reviews of this book and just about laughed myself silly! Some people were very disappointed with the book, saying it was dry, boring, useless, etc.. Well, for one thing, it is NOT a dream interpretation book. I can't help but wonder if any of those people actually noticed the Author....The unbelievable Dr. Sigmund Freud. AND written in the early 1900's. This is Freud's theories, his concepts,....If you're looking to find out what your dream about falling out of a train and into a pool of butterflies means - this is NOT the book for you!!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2010
I really liked this book. It is a very solid read, that is, if you like Sigmund Freud enough to at least want to read about his theories and opinions. I give this book 5 stars, not because I completely agree with every view that is expressed in it, but because I think it was an interesting read.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2011
I strongly recommend Dream Psychology Psychoanalysis for people who really appreciate enticing theories and other possiblities. You will be attached to this book for a while gathering as much information as possible.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2005
Freud is the father of modern psychology and he established the psychoanalytical point of view. No one who is not well grounded in Freudian lore can hope to achieve any work of value in the field of psychoanalysis.

The publishers of the present book deserve credit for presenting to the reading public the gist of Freud's psychology in the master's own words, and in a form which shall neither discourage beginners, nor appear too elementary to those who are more advanced in psychoanalytic study.

Dream psychology is the key to Freud's works and to all modern psychology.

Freud's theories are anything but theoretical.

He was moved by the fact that there always seemed to be a close connection between his patients' dreams and their mental abnormalities, to collect thousands of dreams and to compare them with the case histories in his possession.

He did not start out with a preconceived bias, hoping to find evidence which might support his views. He looked at facts a thousand times "until they began to tell him something." His attitude toward dream study was, in other words, that of a statistician who does not know, and has no means of foreseeing, what conclusions will be forced on him by the information he is gathering, but who is fully prepared to accept those unavoidable conclusions.

This was indeed a novel way in psychology.

Five facts of first magnitude were made obvious to the world by his interpretation of dreams.

First of all, Freud pointed out a constant connection between some part of every dream and some detail of the dreamer's life during the previous waking state. This positively establishes a relation between sleeping states and waking states and disposes of the widely prevalent view that dreams are purely nonsensical phenomena coming from nowhere and leading nowhere.

Secondly, Freud, after studying the dreamer's life and modes of thought, after noting down all his mannerisms and the apparently insignificant details of his conduct which reveal his secret thoughts, came to the conclusion that there was in every dream the attempted or successful gratification of some wish, conscious or unconscious.

Thirdly, he proved that many of our dream visions are symbolical, which causes us to consider them as absurd and unintelligible; the universality of those symbols, however, makes them very transparent to the trained observer.

Fourthly, Freud showed that sexual desires play an enormous part in our unconscious, a part which puritanical hypocrisy has always tried to minimize, if not to ignore entirely.

Finally, Freud established a direct connection between dreams and insanity, between the symbolic visions of our sleep and the symbolic actions of the mentally deranged.

(Andre Tridon)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2016
I got the kindle version of the book as it cost less. And honestly would advice the book to any psych major or if you just have interest in psychology. It gives a great insight on Freud's Ideas and theories. The book was originally written in early 1900 so yes it is an original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
Great book! This book has helped me on multiple occasions! Definitely recommend it! Very useful information! Sigmund Freud is a genius and to learn from him directly is amazing! I have learned so much from this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
I don't really like Freud so much, I mean he did an awesome job, but I'm not so much for psychoanalysis and looking for a meaning in every tiny detail. Till now I only had read the parts from his books so I decided to read the full book. The beginning seemed funny to me, but then it got serious and really interesting to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
I thought it concise, and a good read. I myself am a Jungian, however, do give credence to Freud's insights on dream analyses. And find this book a good place to start in the understanding of ourselves. And the productions of our minds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Another piece of Freud's work that provides insight into how Freud developed his perspectives. Old school thoughts and modern implications are evident. Enjoyed reading the words of the man, as close as a translation can get to them, rather than a work rewritten and summarized by someone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse