Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Introduction to Secret Garden
Unlike the previous reviewer, I was very much aware that this was a compilation album and not the new studio album which is due this fall. I also would have to ask the burning question, how can one lose one's creativity when you release a compilation album? Isn't the point of a compilation album to release previously released materials? With that being said, the only...
Published on May 25, 2001 by Timothy Slomka

versus
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
Secret Garden is a favorite group of mine. It has been awhile since they have had a new album ,so Dreamcatcher was a welcome addition to their three previous albums. This album is a great disappointment as it is simply a compilation of tracks from the earlier disks,with the addition of only one new song listed as a "bonus track",which is not even up to their...
Published on June 15, 2001 by elizabeth robison


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Introduction to Secret Garden, May 25, 2001
By 
Timothy Slomka (Novi, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
Unlike the previous reviewer, I was very much aware that this was a compilation album and not the new studio album which is due this fall. I also would have to ask the burning question, how can one lose one's creativity when you release a compilation album? Isn't the point of a compilation album to release previously released materials? With that being said, the only new material on the album is the final track entitled "The Present," which was written by a Korean artist for a movie soundtrack. It is not a bad track, however, to those who have heard their previous works, it is clear that it is not at the same level as their songs that they wrote themselves.
For those that have never heard or bought any of the Secret Garden's previous releases, this is a great way to introduce yourself to a great instrumental band. For those, like myself, who already own all three Secret Garden albums and just has to own everything by this group, the new track will get some play, but I think most will favor the older songs to the new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Secret Garden - Best of, August 18, 2000
By 
Arthur K. Bonney (Leominster, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rolf Lovland: Nocturne (Audio CD)
This is a "good news - bad news" review since this CD is a compilation of already released Secret Garden material. If you're not yet a Secret Garden fan, this is a wonderful and delightful means of introduction. If Secret Garden is already in your collection, then you have to think twice. Songs on this CD are from their previous (excellent!) releases, "Songs from a Secret Garden" (tracks 1,5,6,12,14&15), "White Stones" (3,8,11,13&16) and "Dawn of a New Century" (2,4,7,9,10,17&18).
If you're not yet a Secret Garden fan, then I strongly recommend this CD for it's breadth of introduction to their material. Imagine a tall, gracious and strong marble piller with strings of flowering vines running up it - that's Secret Garden. Strong Danish melodies with a Celtic violin weaving throughout, supported by an evocative blend of vocals. And, should you have the chance to experience them live, don't miss it. Incredible!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from Solo Piano Publications, November 5, 2001
By 
Kathy Parsons (Florence, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
"Dreamcatcher" is a "best of" compilation of eighteen tracks from Secret Garden's first three albums plus one new "bonus" track recorded for an upcoming feature film in Korea. If Secret Garden is new to you, this is a great introduction to this exciting duo. Longtime fans will be delighted to find their favorites on one CD. "Dreamcatcher" truly indicates the range and versatility of Fionnuala Sherry and Rolf Lovland as composers as well as musicians. Drawing on influences from Celtic, Norwegian folk, new age, and classical music, Secret Garden's pieces tend to be on the melancholy, bittersweet side, but the rousing anthem "Dawn of a New Century" proves that this group has no limitations or boundaries. From breathy, ethereal vocals to various instrumental ensembles big and small to full-blown symphonic pieces, this CD will both soothe and excite, and will take the listener on a satisfying musical journey. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who need an introduction to Secret Garden, December 22, 2001
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
This was recommended to me as an Enyalike recording, and I do believe that Enya fans will respond to it. There is the same Celtic flavor, and over all the ethereal beauty of the singing. For those who already have Secret Garden CD's, you may prefer buying the others, because you won't find much new on this. But for those who haven't yet tried these artists, and are into Celtic new age music, music that you can sit and dream or meditate to, or just thoroughly enjoy, this CD is most highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, June 15, 2001
By 
elizabeth robison (Tucson, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
Secret Garden is a favorite group of mine. It has been awhile since they have had a new album ,so Dreamcatcher was a welcome addition to their three previous albums. This album is a great disappointment as it is simply a compilation of tracks from the earlier disks,with the addition of only one new song listed as a "bonus track",which is not even up to their standards.If you already own the other three I would not advise buying this,but if you are not familar with Secret Garden this is a very good introduction to them,as it does contain the best of their previous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ::: Beautiful composition :::, December 1, 2001
By 
Galitt (South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
I got familiar with this CD after getting a recommendation from Enya's fan.
The only similar thing I found between Secret Garden and Enya is the Celtic roots.
Secret Garden music is more an instrumental pieces than songs. In their web site, they describes their creation as "music to a film not yet seen". I think it a perfect definition to the experience you have when you listen to this CD.
This album is a special compilation album that was released in the US. The album is a selection of tracks from Secret Garden's former three CDs, including one new bonus track called "The Present" from the Korean film with the same name.
I found it very emotional, enchanting and relaxing. Gentle, moody rhythms and colorful sound that combined together into a musical kaleidoscope. Beautiful spiritual journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Duplication, July 12, 2001
By 
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
While this is a good sampling of the excellent music Secret Garden typically produces, that's exactly what it is: a sampling of numbers from their other CD's. There is only one totally new number on this whole disk. Since I already own their other three albums, this was unnecessary duplication. I would not have purchased this 4th CD if its description had clearly explained that it was primarily a compilation from previous albums by this group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Moving", March 16, 2002
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
Like the title of its third track, this compilation from Secret Garden is "Moving." Imagine the musical arrangements of Bill Whelan or Enya combined with clear, lilting vocals (much like those of The Cranberries' Dolores O'Riordan) and the lush sound of a symphony orchestra. That's the sound of Secret Garden.
Highlights are "Dawn of a New Century," and "In Our Tears," featuring the Irish vocal group Anuna (from Riverdance), as well as "Sigma," with the Irish National Chamber Choir. Davy Spillane, Des Moore, and a host of others also appear.
I would recommend this CD to new listeners, as it is a compilation of tracks from their former CD's "Songs from a Secret Garden," "White Stones," and "Dawn of a New Century." It includes one bonus track, "Last Present," from an upcoming soundtrack. This would be a great find for anyone looking for beautiful Irish-tinged wedding music. Also, several tracks are very peaceful, good for a restful night's sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have been called "Best of Secret Garden", July 15, 2001
By 
Douglas Hedman (Graham, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
If you have no Secret Garden CD's then you will love this one! If you have any of their other CD's then you will be as disappointed as we were. We were so looking forward to new material from this group, as they are one of our true favorite New Age bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Secret Garden, September 4, 2004
This review is from: Dreamcatcher (Audio CD)
This CD is a compilation of three previously released CDs of Secret Garden (a Norwegian neo-classical duo):

'Dawn of a New Century' (1999),
'White Stones' (1997),
'Songs From a Secret Garden' (1996).
plus there is a bonus track - a composition called "Last Present".

The music is relaxing and moody. Probably it is because of one of the main instruments that is used in all tracks - a violin. What I like in Secret Garden is that they create original music for acoustic instruments accompanied by the RTE Concert Orchestra or the Irish National Symphony Orchestra.

All tracks are breathtakingly beautiful. Many of those are so emotional and exciting that I can feel how my breath is changing in the course of a melody.

My favourite track is no. 19 - Last Present. It is a new composition which you will not find neither in previous Secret Garden CD nor anywhere else on this web-site. It is the main theme from the Korean movie "Last Present" composed by the talented movie score composer Cho Sung Woo and performed by Secret Garden. This is a very beautiful composition. It is very tender and touching.

Please note that by the time of this review, Secret Garden released their new album "Once in a Red Moon" (2002).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dreamcatcher
Dreamcatcher by Secret Garden
Buy MP3 Album$5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.