Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Corr Blimey!
This compilation album from the mega-talented Corr Family Singers (as opposed to the Von Trapp Family Singers of course) is their second "hits" collection, but the two albums are different enough to justify getting both if you're a Corrs fan.

Jim, Sharon, Caroline and Andrea Corr (thought I'd list Jim first for a change) play almost every musical instrument...
Published on December 1, 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good sampler album for newcomers, nothing new for longtime fans
If you already have all the Corrs albums you don't really need this one since there is no new songs. If you are a fan you will buy this cd regardless if you are a casual new/fan then this cd would be a good introduction to the Corrs. I cannot say I agreed with all their music selection. I personally liked the song "No Good for Me" but I guess it was not one for their...
Published on January 14, 2007 by pen name


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Corr Blimey!, December 1, 2006
This compilation album from the mega-talented Corr Family Singers (as opposed to the Von Trapp Family Singers of course) is their second "hits" collection, but the two albums are different enough to justify getting both if you're a Corrs fan.

Jim, Sharon, Caroline and Andrea Corr (thought I'd list Jim first for a change) play almost every musical instrument known to man (or woman) between them, including the tin whistle (Andrea) and the bodhran (Caroline), giving them a very distinctive sound that you can pick out across a crowded room.

This CD has twenty tracks, only eight of which can be found on "The Best of the Corrs" and most of the eight are remixed and tweaked for a whole new sound. Fourteen of their singles are included, the lead off single from this CD being a remix of "Goodbye" from the album "Borrowed Heaven"

Other tracks of special interest are the radio mix of "Dreams" (written by Stevie Nicks and made famous by Fleetwood Mac); "When the Stars Go Blue" a live performance of the Ryan Adams song, featuring Bono; perennial favorite "Breathless", and the classic "Ruby Tuesday" featuring Ron Wood from the "Live in Dublin" album.

There are also two instrumentals, "Haste to the Wedding" (fans of the kid's group "The Wiggles" will remember this one) and "Toss the Feathers".

Recommended for Corrs fans everywhere to keep us going until a new album is released.

Amanda Richards, December 1, 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Kid You Not, March 13, 2007
This review is from: Dreams: The Ultimate Corrs Collection (Audio CD)
Since 1991 The Corrs have been major international stars. Not Abba huge but possibly the biggest thing to hit Europe, the Far East and Down Under since them. America not so much. I blame this on the stranglehold of hip-hop and rap on US radio and not at all on the group. The Corrs are an Irish family band consisting of three sisters and a brother and they are all talented singers individually and have that natural, beautiful harmony only siblings can provide.

This is pop music that pays tribute to The Corrs' Celtic roots, complete with fiddles and pennywhistles, shown off to best effect on the Gaelic "Brid Og Ni Mhaille."

This CD pulls from their various previous work as well as remixed versions of Fleetwood Mac's "Dreams," "Goodbye" and "So Young," live versions of "Radio" and "Ruby Tuesday," the latter with a guest performance from Rolling Stone Ron Wood. Other guests are represented here including Laurent Volzy duetting with the group on the Everly Brothers' "All I Have To Do Is Dream" and Time Magazine Man Of The Year Bono on the beautiful "When The Stars Go Blue" (a minor country hit in America for Tim McGraw).

But The Corrs need no assistance to shine. Whether it's the uptempo pop of "Breathless" (which should have been their American breakthrough) to Sharon and Caroline Corrs' beautiful live duet "No Frontiers" with nothing more than a piano to accompany their lovely voices or the piano driven (with chicken scratch guitar, strings and Beatlesque horns) of "Old Town" which is the highest point of a CD filled with peaks and no valleys.

If you like pop music or are just over hip-hop and rap, check out what the rest of the world already knows - The Corrs Rule!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Corrs!!!, March 15, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dreams: The Ultimate Corrs Collection (Audio CD)
"Dreams:The Ultimate Corrs Collection" was initially released in Europe in late 2006 and has taken a bit longer to reach its release in the U.S.
The wait was definitely worth it though.
"Dreams" includes many of The Corrs best known hits as well as fan favorites and a few unique rarities. Tracks such "Forgiven Not Forgiven", "Only When I Sleep" and "Runaway" are all included here as well as "Breathless", "So Young" and "When The Stars Go Blue" which were successful hits in the U.S., the latter track featuring U2's Bono in a heartfelt duet with Andrea Corr.
The tracks that are unique to this compilation are a worthwhile addition for the avid Corrs fan. The new remix of "Goodbye" is stellar and so is the studio version of the aforementioned "When The Stars Go Blue". Also unique to the CD are a cover version of "All I Have To Do Is Dream" and "I Know My Love" which features the legendary traditional Irish group The Chieftains.
Indeed, "Dreams" serves as an excellent introduction to The Corrs music. The band's Pop influences and Celtic roots come across effortlessly in every track included here. Another great Corrs compilation is the 2001 "Best Of The Corrs" which is only available as an import but still worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, Okay Compilation, October 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dreams: The Ultimate Corrs Collection (Audio CD)
When the Corr siblings formed a band in 1990, few Irish acts had mainstream success. In the last fifteen years, however, the group has earned worldwide acclaim, sold over 25 million albums, and played for individuals as famous as Nelson Mandela and Pope John Paul II. Twelve years after their first record, "Forgiven, Not Forgotten," the quartet has released "Dreams: The Ultimate Corrs Collection". And while the music is, as always, fantastic, the compilation is okay at best. Yes, some of the band's biggest hits are here, from their first single, 'Runaway', to American success 'Breathless'. However, some of the track selections are a bit questionable, and the album is by no means an "ultimate collection".

Only eight of the songs here made the band's 2001 "Best Of" album, which itself is surprising. Most of the tracks are from the second half of the group's career, heavily drawing from 2004 release "Borrowed Heaven" and 2005 release "Home". And while both records were good, they did not have the success level of previous efforts "Forgiven, Not Forgotten", "Talk on Corners", or "In Blue". The songs that did manage to make it onto this album are heavily remixed, and not all of the changes are stellar. The 2006 remix of 'Goodbye' is a new take on the tune, but Tee's Radio Mix of 'Dreams' is a strange choice, as it pales in comparison to the original version that gained such success in the UK in 1998. In addition, the song 'When the Stars Go Blue', which enjoyed moderate success in the US in early 2002, has been re-recorded and remixed, resulting in a loss of its intimate gig feel.

Not only are many songs remixed, but several of the tracks aren't Corrs hits at all. 'All I Have to Do is Dream' was recorded by Andrea Corr as a duet with Laurent Voulzy for his 2006 album "La Septieme Vague". And while 'I Know My Love' is a great Corrs/Chieftains duet, it has never before been featured on a Corrs album. Other odd choices include 'Ruby Tuesday' (first performed for "VH1 Presents the Corrs Live in Dublin" in 2002) and 'Brid Og Ni Mhaille', which was not released as either a single or B-side from the "Home" album.

Is it a bad album? Absolutely not. The songs are fantastic, featuring great songwriting and brilliant harmonies. The choices of songs featured on an album called the "ultimate collection" are what has me scratching my head. Looking for a better gauge of what the Corrs have accomplished? Try a combo of "Best of the Corrs" (2001) and "Borrowed Heaven" (2004) instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the original album versions?, April 21, 2007
By 
Galley (Greenville, South Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreams: The Ultimate Corrs Collection (Audio CD)
This is a fine compilation of The Corrs' career so far, but it contains too many remixes and live versions, rather than the original album versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Show stopper ... all in one, January 19, 2007
By 
The Corrs "Dreams" is the ultimate collection of their hot songs. Ipod, no thanks, i'll survive with this CD. I have seen them in concert several times and have all of their concert DVD's, but nothing compares to this one. From start to finish, I was totally entertained. If you love or even like the Corrs, buy this CD. You will NOT be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For casual or new fans, April 14, 2007
I was a huge Corrs fan back in the mid '90s but over the years my taste in music has evolved into more aggressive forms of music. I do though like to take off the edge from the music I regularly listen to every now and then with lighter forms of music. I recently found myself having the urge to listen to The Corrs music. With my cds gone, I decided to pick up the latest best of compilation of their hit songs. Unfortunately the US never caught on to the band's brand of traditional Irish and modern pop/rock music. It is a shame though. I always did enjoy their music up until a couple of albums ago when I found their music completely ditching their Irish roots. "Dreams: The Ultimate Collection" is a fine collection of the band's popular songs. I absolutely the opening track "Goodbye". It is quite catchy in the vein of "Breathless" which is also on this compilation. There are a few songs by the band that I have never been too fond of like "Forgiven Not Forgotten" and "Only When I Sleep". Personally I always felt those songs were devoid of a good melody. All of my favorite songs are on the cd so I can't complain about any song being excluded. Overall "Dreams" is the perfect compilation for casual and new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of....Part 2, March 8, 2007
By 
If you are new to the Corrs....welcome to, one of, if not THE hardest working band in the business!! The cd contains awesome respresentation of just how diverse and talented this group is. From the odd cover of "Old Town," to haunting "Forgiven, Not Forgotten." This cd is a good mix of ALL their albums. "No Frontiers," features Sharon and Caroline singing and Jim playing piano. First heard on their Unplugged album, it's still a favorite. Enjoy a "slight glimpse" into the "incredible" world of The Corrs.

As a hardcore Corrs fan, I was disappointed. Out of the twenty tracks, I had all but two on other albums. If you're a fan, hold out for the import from Spain and get the DVD that comes with the cd.

On a side note, I reccomend new listeners to start with the first Corrs album "Forgiven, Not Forgotten."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good sampler album for newcomers, nothing new for longtime fans, January 14, 2007
If you already have all the Corrs albums you don't really need this one since there is no new songs. If you are a fan you will buy this cd regardless if you are a casual new/fan then this cd would be a good introduction to the Corrs. I cannot say I agreed with all their music selection. I personally liked the song "No Good for Me" but I guess it was not one for their more popular songs. Doh! It would have been nice if there was 1 or 2 new sings like their "Best Of" album did. The album cover for this cd was nicely designed and looks stylish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, January 19, 2007
By 
A long awaited collection of some truely memorable hits all in one place. Plus the addition of some rare tracks and even a couple i had never heard before. This album encompasses some of the best work from the early albums up to the most recent. Definetly recommend buying this album and if you have never heard the corrs before, this album will show you why they are such a wildy popular internationally acclaimed band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dreams: The Ultimate Corrs Collection
Dreams: The Ultimate Corrs Collection by The Corrs (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.