Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pairing of movies!, February 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
1. BAD DREAMS...great 80's slasher / killer flick. Richard Lynch makes a good villian. We really enjoyed this film, I can recall seeing it on VHS back in the day. Very refreshing and nice plot twist, too. The supporting characters help this movie along and add a sense of slight comedic value and maybe a slight campiness that you just don't see done effectively in movies today.
2. VISITING HOURS....Michael Ironside is a fantastic villian! This really is a good companion to Bad Dreams as they are both "hospital" related. Lee Grant is a nice strong female lead as well. You really find yourself rooting for the victims...the plot is nicely paced and no 'dead' (pardon the pun) spots.
Definitely worth picking up this set.
For fans of 80's flicks before or at the start of the more over the top gore and violence. I (personally) enjoyed Visiting Hours more out of the two but they are both fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie set, October 20, 2011
By 
nolaboy2003 (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
I actually owned the original 2006 release, but sold this to get the set with Bad Dreams included also. Picture and sound are great on both. Don't pay a fortune for the 2006 release of visiting hours, when you can get this set for way cheaper. Glad to get this copy and have extra money in my pocket for doing so, plus a free movie in the deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Double feature of death, October 13, 2012
By 
Darrell A. Lane (Indianapolis, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
Bad Dreams had some clever ideas and a realistic psychological ending that impressed me; I had not seen this gem until now. Hippie girl realizes that the Charles Manson-like cult leader (played by always sinsiter, always creepy Richard Lynch) in hoping to capitalize on his psychotic fantasies of a freaky commune in the after-life by setting everyone on fire; by accident, hippie girl survives the community suicide and wakes from a coma years later, only to be haunted by psychotic episodes of silky-sick Lynch, an incompetent police detective and an overzealous psychiatrist obsessed with the use of psycho-hallucenagenic drugs. What's real? What's not? What's Memorex? A fun, smart film. Charles Manson vs Sigmeund Freud in hippie girl's head.

Visiting Hours I saw this one when I was in high school. Michael Ironside (Scanners, V-The Final Battle and Starship Troopers) does creepy skullduggery like very few and he doesn't disappoint here, either. Linda Purl is the sexiest nurse ever captured on celluloid and made me apprecriate women in uniforms with ponytails like no other (wowzers!). William Shatner (on loan from T. J. Hooker and Star Trek II) does a subdued role in that crazy baby blue suit that would have made Murray Hamilton beam. Not necessarily a typical 80's slasher as much as a bloodier homage to Alfred Hitchcock and Dario Argento. Ironside becomes equally obsessed with two strong-willed womenfolk that challenge his sexual insecurities, but its the death mask of photos taken of his victims in his bedroom closet that creeps me out, and inspired the infamous one-sheet of the baleful skull over blackened hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick Hospital Double Feature!, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
I've always wanted to see Visiting Hours based on the awesome commercials I saw as a kid with the lights in the hospital windows turning off until the ones left on resemble a skull! However, I figured when I finally saw it, it would be just another quickie slasher flick from the 80s. I was so wrong! It kept me on the edge of my seat, and veteran performers Lee Grant and William Shatner do a pretty good job. Michael Ironside, as always, is a sleazy sicko and he really shows off his stuff in Visiting Hours. There are surpising jolts and a few unexpected twists to a film that, sadly, got forgotten with other 80s slasher dreck.
Bad Dreams, often unfairly referred to as a ripoff of the Nightmare On Elm Street series, showcases another great cast. Bruce Abbott (usually overshadowed by Jeffery Comb's Herbert West in the Re-Animator movies) really shines as a psychiatrist with a heart. E.G. Daily, one of my favorite people of all time, plays one of the tormented patients and, sadly, has very little screen time. Richard Lynch is notably creepy as the evil cult leader, both looking normal and in that horrific burn makeup. The extras on Visiting Hours are pretty slight (a few TV spots,photos) but Bad Dreams has featurettes, interviews, and more, including the original ending. All in all, this is a great double feature and an awesome part of my horror collection. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME !!!, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
Saw visiting hours & just loved it ! Great thriller& love Linda pearl & Michael Ironsides he gives me the creeps !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
I saw this movie years ago, in 1988 and have been looking for it everywhere. Not to be found in stores or movie rental places. I was very happy to find it and at a great price with a bonus feature. I was told I would receive my purchase within 5 business days and they were right on time. Very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy for "Bad Dreams", July 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
This set is a great way to get the movie "Bad Dreams" for a low price. This is a great thriller/horror "ghost" story from the 80's that, while still bloody in places, actually relied on writing and plot, instead of sex and gore, to tell its story.
It is about a young woman, Cynthia (played by the lovely Jennifer Rubin), who survives the mass suicide of the hippie cult she was a part of, and awakens from a coma 13 years later, only to be haunted by the ghost of its psychopathic leader, Franklin Harris (a very creepy Richard Lynch).

"Visiting Hours", on the other hand, was fairly boring. Michael Ironside plays a serial killer out to kill a feminist activist played by Lee Grant. The problem is, Lee Grant's character is just not very likable, so it's hard to feel concerned about her. Her nurse, played by Linda Purl, is a far more sympathetic character and, considering her survival is not garuanteed, her part in the story offers a lot more suspence than that of Lee Grant (of whom it is clear she will eventually gain the upper hand and triumph in the end). This one is simply not worth the time and effort put into watching it and, for me, ended up being little more than a bonus disk to be discarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bad dreams and visiting hours, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
great movie bad dreams nice thriller and visiting hours is good both movie put together is great they should make more movies from the 80's and 90's one would be the mutilator and horror hospital
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great double feature!, August 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature) (DVD)
Two great scary movies to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bad Dreams / Visiting Hours (Killer Double Feature)
$16.97 $12.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.