Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ecstatic Drone
This CD presents a different sort of ambience. The first, 44-min. track consists of a continuous pulsating drone, gradually rising & falling in intensity, with accompanying gentle sitar melodies. The rest of the CD offers a steady (as opposed to pulsating) drone with a high, moog-like accompanyment. There are no vocals. The whole CD presents a mystic vibe--and dares your...
Published on May 23, 2005 by Kenneth M. Goodman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Duller side of ambient-psych
Like the Spacemen well enough but this one never leaves cruise control. 1st live track is a monotonous mantra (actually 4 or 5 different notes, to be fair), explored rather thoroughly in its contours, and punctuated by brief PA statements every 15 minutes. Doesn't even succeed as background noise--though almost perfect as a piece of intentionally forgettable music. The...
Published 14 months ago by Dee Treadway


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ecstatic Drone, May 23, 2005
By 
Kenneth M. Goodman (Cleveland, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweapon (Audio CD)
This CD presents a different sort of ambience. The first, 44-min. track consists of a continuous pulsating drone, gradually rising & falling in intensity, with accompanying gentle sitar melodies. The rest of the CD offers a steady (as opposed to pulsating) drone with a high, moog-like accompanyment. There are no vocals. The whole CD presents a mystic vibe--and dares your mind to merge with it...with meditative ecstasy the desired result...if you can dig it. Upon repeated listenings, this music works its way into your brain like a gentle bliss-drill---and that's when true enjoyment kicks in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not for the faint of heart, May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dreamweapon (MP3 Music)
Had to post something since nobody else has. This surely isn't for everyone, but if you like these guys, and like deep, DEEP, intense drones, you've gotta check this out. I mean, it's 4 bucks for 78 minutes! Come on! There really aren't any songs to speak of, and it's not even a full band (no bass or drums): just Sonic Boom and Spaceman (and apparently some other random dude) going deep at some art gallery, which adds to the odd mood. I still have no idea how Sonic Boom is making that drone sound, but I often thought about how I could listen to it all day...and that's pretty much what you get here. And Spaceman just picks around on some blues and open string stuff, which makes it sound like Spacemen 3. All I have is the Perfect Prescription, so I haven't heard everything, but it's such an amazing album that made such a big impression on me, and you hear something different every time. So this is a fine addition to my collection...but the 44-minute monster is so crazy that you really have to save it for semi-special occasions. It'll likely drive most people insane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl, DREAMWEAPON, November 28, 2013
This review is from: Dreamweapon (Audio CD)
The Lp I have was a surprise. I couldn't get the needle to stay on the record, until I realized the grooves! Backwards! I had to start the playing at the end, or should I say the start, near the label. Then the sound that reverberated from those upside-down grooves were, a "DREAM", hardly a weapon but lovely shots of sound shot around my room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Duller side of ambient-psych, April 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dreamweapon (MP3 Music)
Like the Spacemen well enough but this one never leaves cruise control. 1st live track is a monotonous mantra (actually 4 or 5 different notes, to be fair), explored rather thoroughly in its contours, and punctuated by brief PA statements every 15 minutes. Doesn't even succeed as background noise--though almost perfect as a piece of intentionally forgettable music. The other compositions/variations are prettier and mercifully shorter, and still not stand-outs in their catalog. Strictly for completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, July 11, 2009
This review is from: Dreamweapon (Audio CD)
This is a desert island record. It is not like their other records. There's no singing or drums. Long trance inducing tunes. It's stunning how beautiful it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent, May 13, 2010
This review is from: Dreamweapon (Audio CD)
These guys are masters of their craft. The non-vocal ambient title-piece drones on exquisitely for the first 45 minutes, then Spacemen 3 launch into some shorter but equally compelling/relaxing compositions. It is deeply satisfying record if you are a lover of ambient and a joy to discover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Super pretentious, May 3, 2013
This review is from: Dreamweapon (MP3 Music)
Just one chord with a tremolo/repeater effect played for like 40 minutes. You can hear some of the melodic guitar runs from 'Playing With Fire' drift in and out over the top of the chord throughout the performance. I think Sonic Boom speaks some inaudible poetry at points as well.

The recording/fidelity is extremely poor, and you can hear a lot of the room because the mic sounds far away.

For this type of artistic statement I would steer someone towards early Brian Eno/Fripp collaborations or some of Eno's ambient albums for a far more interesting experience with experimentation with sound. Roy Lichenstein is another good alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dreamweapon
Dreamweapon by Spacemen 3 (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.