Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Improvement, more features.
Dremel has really upgraded with this new plunge router attachment for the rotary tool. It fits all the usual corded tools and even the new Li-Ion cordless!
Great new features like: Plunge capability, clear base, bigger base, rotary tool mounting is very sturdy and rigid, depth stop, big edge guide that goes all the way to the bit.
The locking handle takes a...
Published on November 11, 2003 by Bad Habit

versus
92 of 92 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of metal wouldn't hurt?
Fine tool for "small delicate projects" mainly because the wing nuts used to tighten the guide bar (for straight and circular routing) are made of plastic with a metal screw. It is impossible to tighten them enough to keep the tool working straight. On a solid wood project the tool jumped around because of the way it loosely sits in the plastic base. Because of the...
Published on August 30, 2006 by Timothy


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 92 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of metal wouldn't hurt?, August 30, 2006
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
Fine tool for "small delicate projects" mainly because the wing nuts used to tighten the guide bar (for straight and circular routing) are made of plastic with a metal screw. It is impossible to tighten them enough to keep the tool working straight. On a solid wood project the tool jumped around because of the way it loosely sits in the plastic base. Because of the vibration the screws that are meant to retain the depth of cut unscrew them selves, changing your settings unless you really lock them in place. Yes; for small delicate projects, but be ready for a lot of troubleshooting and make sure you practice on some scrap so you totally know what you are getting yourself into :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Improvement, more features., November 11, 2003
By 
Bad Habit (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
Dremel has really upgraded with this new plunge router attachment for the rotary tool. It fits all the usual corded tools and even the new Li-Ion cordless!
Great new features like: Plunge capability, clear base, bigger base, rotary tool mounting is very sturdy and rigid, depth stop, big edge guide that goes all the way to the bit.
The locking handle takes a little getting used to. Because it locks with one handle and plasic was used for the base there is a little flex back after locking. Plastic for the base to be clear is a benefit, but the plastic for the top plate was probably to save cost so they could price it closer to what the old router was. Anyway, when I really want to be accurate with my depth, I make sure to measure the distance from the bottom of the base to the bit with a metal scale. That way I know the depth is what I want. If it was all metal I'd give it a 5, but then the cost would probably keep me from buying it. It's great for the small router jobs I do(signs, door striker plate installation etc.) and I would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Previous review is wrong, January 20, 2007
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
I almost didn't buy this thing because of Frederick Jurewicz's review saying you have to completely remove the Dremel each time you need to change a bit. But I did end up buying it and now I don't know what that guy was talking about. You can easily remove and replace bits on the tool without having to detach everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A desirable capability, March 18, 2006
By 
D. Welter (Fort Bragg, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
Making a plunge cut is chancy without a base of this nature. A Dremel tool is a petite router great for delecate operations. The base on this attachment is as large as one used in 1/4hp routers, negating an asset.

The attachment points of the router to the base are close together near the bottom end of the router. It is easy to wiggle the tool even when screws are firmly tightened.

This is a useful concept; it can do what it is supposed to do, but is less than ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for light projects, December 20, 2007
By 
Rod Melton (Carrollton, TX USA) - See all my reviews
I really loved this product and used it for almost a year with my Dremel... I got a little over confident of it's abilities and used it for a routing project that should have used a "real" router... the based developed a stress crack and caused the dremel to wobble while cutting... I counsidered this a user error... but I think if I would have stuck to my smaller projects with this tool I would still have it... I know own the updated version... I would recomend this to anyone who is using it for "hobby" purposes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dremel Plunge Router Base Poor Design, July 16, 2010
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
Do not waste your money on this poorly made plunge router base. I found that the cheap plastic construction allowed the Dremel to wobble thus making accurate cuts, especially straight lines very dificult. When lowering the Dremel using the plunge feature, one side or the other will stick and cause the whole assembly to bind. I threw this base in the trash and bought Stewmac's metal router base that has an air blower accessary which is a great system. You can make clear plastic special purpose bases and attach them easily to the Stewmac. I build guitars so accuracy is important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, July 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a great product for small applications. I am using it to route guitar cavities. Pickups, neck pocket, control cavity, etc. I can see what I am doing and can go slowly. Yes it takes more time than a huge router, but this works for me. It fits my dremel perfectly and you can see and have access to change the bit. I read another review that said you needed to remove the dremel to change the bit. That doesn't apply and is not correct unless the person had a mis match with the dremel. It specifies which dremels fit this rig. Be sure yours is on the list.
I love this thing. If you are doing small jobs try it. This is also the best price I found including ebay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great accessory, with limitations, June 6, 2008
By 
L. F. Smith (E. Wenatchee, WA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
The Dremel plunge router base is a great accessory, but you have to recognize its limitations and live within them.

Rotary tools work at high speeds, but they produce low torque. This means they just won't chew through lots of hard materials very well-- or at all. The trick is to let the bit shave away the wood. This means routing in a series of passes, not all at once. When you use it this way, this plunge router base is a real winner. You can do decorative work with a Dremel freehand, but this base is the only way to achieve consistent depth in straight lines. With a little practice-- and some good luck-- it's even possible to "write" cursively with it on wood.

A real issue is the price of the bits. Dremel brand bits are very high quality, but they're also pricey. Brand X bits are cheaper, but they tend to wear out more quickly. Of course, this is an issue with all Dremel tools and accessories, not just this plunge base, but it is something to think about.

So, as is the case with all tools, you have to understand and live within its limitations. I'm very happy I bought this accessory, and I'd gladly do so again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depth Setting Unreliable, October 25, 2009
By 
Charles D. (St. Augustine, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
The Dremel 335-01 plunge router base does work as advertised, up to a point. It does turn the Dremel tool into a small lightweight router. Side to side motion is easy to control, and freehand routing is possibile with this base. It could also serve as a tool holder for other applications, e.g., grinding.

I bought the plunge router base for inlay work. I intended to use it to clean out the recess for the inlay. It can be used for that purpose, but barely. The depth adjustment requires fussy trial and error, and once set is still imprecise & unreliable. The base is made of plastic and is too flexible. Therefore, the depth stop cannot control the depth of cut. As a consequence, the plunge feature is useless for precise work.

This a major problem for inlay that is, for example, 1/32" thick. The depth stop has to be adjustable to within 1/64" or so, to leave the inlay a bit proud, so it can be smoothed flush with the workpiece.

I cannot rely on this tool for inlay work. Inlay is the last step before finishing, and there is a lot of time and money into the workpiece by that step. A ruined recess could mean a ruined workpiece. Instead, I use a Veritas Router Plane (a hand tool). It is very precise and stable. People looking for a power tool for precise inlay work should consider the Stewart-MacDonald base. It costs twice as much, and is not a plunge base, but apparently it can be adjusted precisely.

If precise depth adjustment is important to you, keep looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant idea, poor executiuon, July 26, 2011
This review is from: Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a great idea - take an inexpensive, high speed motor and make a mini plunge router out of it. Unfortunately, like every other Dremel accessory I own, they had to build it cheap. You won't really be able to use it for plunge cuts, because the depth stop is totally useless. There is so much play in it (because of plastic nuts and sloppy tolerances) that it is absolutely impossible to repeat a depth. It is also designed so that it is nearly impossible to change or adjust a bit without removing the rotary tool from the router base. Still, once you give up on using the depth stop or depth gauge, you can freehand some nice work as long as you remember to REALLY tighten the bit in the chuck and FIRMLY preset the depth manually. The Dremel router bits cut very nicely but apparently generate loads of downforce that will suck the bit into progressively deeper cuts if the chuck is not tightened to near the breaking point. Oh, and if you use the handles to drive the router, you will push the bit deeper into the work, so you have to guide it by holding the base. Too bad Dremel has such a low opinion of their ideas or of our spending habits. I would happily pay up to $100 for a router base like this if it were built with care and of quality materials. The way this one is built, I feel ripped off at $30.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dremel 335-01 Plunge Router Attachment
$37.96 $23.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.