Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for what it does
I bought this attachment to cut holes in 5mm marine plywood for inspection port hatches on a boat I was building. The attachment worked extremely well, cutting a perfect, clean hole, with no wobble and no raggedness in the cut.
Published on June 11, 2007 by RichardL

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dremel Circle Cutter
The Dremel Circle cutter is a handy accessory to the basic Dremel tool, and it is adequate for the job for which I purchased it.
It is cheaply made and rough and a bit awkward to use. It is also cheap in price, so I cannot complain too much.
I value tools, and would have paid more for a better tool, and would been more satisfied.
In sum, it does the job,...
Published on March 11, 2011 by John F. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for what it does, June 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought this attachment to cut holes in 5mm marine plywood for inspection port hatches on a boat I was building. The attachment worked extremely well, cutting a perfect, clean hole, with no wobble and no raggedness in the cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dremel Circle Cutter, March 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
The Dremel Circle cutter is a handy accessory to the basic Dremel tool, and it is adequate for the job for which I purchased it.
It is cheaply made and rough and a bit awkward to use. It is also cheap in price, so I cannot complain too much.
I value tools, and would have paid more for a better tool, and would been more satisfied.
In sum, it does the job, and I am being fussy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, March 28, 2008
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
Works as advertised. I've only used on 3/4mdf and it takes a very, very long time. I have to make a shallow pass, then lower bit and make next pass and do this about 4 times. BUT it is very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dremel Circle Cutter - All Pluses but Two Caveats, October 4, 2011
By 
Karen (New York City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
This circle cutter is well made as all other Dremel products and does the job. However, remember that this is still a Dremel tool attachment and not a router. This means doing a rough cut of the circle first as you would with a router and increasing the depth gradually in multiple passes. Otherwise, the tool will chatter and may ruin your cut. What I also like about the tool is that it makes smaller circles or holes (since it can be tweaked to do both) which the Jasper circle cutters do not do. The method I used was to rough cut the circle inside the line, of course, using a jigsaw but leaving a 1" bar across the diameter to support the pin for the center of the circle. After cutting halfway into the MDF, I sawed out the support and finished the circle with my router and patterning bit. This worked very well. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars drywall holes are easy, February 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
Makes cutting drywall holes sooooo easy.

just the sizing is a little confusing and I would have to do a test on a piece of paper first to see if the size was right. (just dab a little marker or paint on the bit and do a circle without the device on, on a piece of paper then overlay the paper to see if the size matches up.

I recommend it, makes a nice addition to dremel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Used it a few times, September 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
So far I have only used this in soft materials (ie plastic) to cut circles. I used it to make some cat litter boxes out of plastic storage boxes, and used it to make some cut-outs on some rain barrels I'm making. It seems to work fine so far-- though like I said I haven't tried it on other things like drywall and wood which I plan to do in the future. Useful little gadget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars needs a pilot hole, but works perfectly otherwise, September 27, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought this item to cut some circles out of acrylic. To have it work correctly, you'll really need the center pin to be very secure, and in my case with acrylic, I drilled pilot holes. Fortunately, I needed those holes anyway for my project. But it cuts very nice circles, and for the price, I have no complaints. I wish that I had this tool for earlier projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it is just okay, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
it does cut Ok, but if you try to cut a deep cut (about 1/4 inch of more) the cut groove gets clogged with the cutting dust and either heats up or jump out of the cutting pattern
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Accurate measurements?, May 8, 2011
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
While it does cut circles nicely, it is not good for cutting smaller circles (25 - 50mm) as there is no way to accurately measure them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cuts perfect circles in sheetrock., March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide (Tools & Home Improvement)
Used this circle cutter to cut 11 holes for new LED Disk lights. While the circle cutter works perfectly the instructions say to keep the dust out of the dremel tool when cutting holes in ceilings. I ignored the warning at first and after the 2nd hole the dremel tool would barely spin. I blew it out with a air compressor and it seemed OK. I then took an old washcloth, cut a small hole in the center, draped it over the dremel tool and attached the circle cutter. This kept most of the dust out of the dremel tool. Note: This is not a fault of the circle cutter but just a issue with cutting upside down into sheetrock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dremel 678-01 Circle Cutter and Straight Edge Guide
$15.91 $12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.