Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE! Hard to Find, and Totally Necessary.
If you have a Dremel, you MUST check and replace the motor brushes or else you can end up totally burning out your motor quite suddenly after years of service. (Guess how I know this).

It goes like this: you're cutting along and maybe the housing of your Dremel gets kind of hot. Mine was getting so hot I was getting burns on my hand. (Maybe shoulda paid...
Published on May 29, 2007 by Rachel Mello

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT CORRECT FOR 395 TYPE 3
Although the product description says these brushes fit model 395 type 3, and the picture of the brushes shows corner notches which are correct for the 395 type 3 they do not fit. The brushes I received did not have notches. The package says they fit 395 type 4, 5 and 6. The photo and description of this item needs to be changed.
Published 5 months ago by Tool Room


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE! Hard to Find, and Totally Necessary., May 29, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
If you have a Dremel, you MUST check and replace the motor brushes or else you can end up totally burning out your motor quite suddenly after years of service. (Guess how I know this).

It goes like this: you're cutting along and maybe the housing of your Dremel gets kind of hot. Mine was getting so hot I was getting burns on my hand. (Maybe shoulda paid attention to that). Then, suddenly, the motor just stopped working. Dead tool. That's when I looked down and realized that there are those two plastic screw-cap covers on either side of the switch, with a slot that matches the screw-driver that ships with it. Duh.

I borrowed a manual from a friend who still had hers, and learned that you have to check the motors-brushes and if they're an 1/8" or shorter or if they're worn and pitted, you have to replace them. One of mine was brittle like old bakelite and had to be chipped out with a very fine file (which I broke doing this). The other popped out with the spring like it's supposed to. Once I replaced the brushes the tool worked fine again, but I gather I lucked out and I could have killed the whole thing.

The Home Depots in my area do NOT carry these, though the Lowes sometimes do. But if you rely on your Dremel, I'd say get some with your next Amazon order and hold them at the ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dremel 3000, September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
After time spent trying to figure out which brushes 3000 use, still did not found out. Went ahead and purchased these cold. These are the correct brushes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Dremel works again, September 12, 2009
By 
Five 28 (Chicago, Ill USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
After owning my Dremel for almost 10 years it started cutting off intermittently for no apparent reason. I would have to shake it and turn it on and off to get it to start up again. Replacing the brushes corrected this issue and it runs like it was new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proper break-in, July 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
Worked fine. Remember, the owner's manual suggests after changing brushes, run @ full speed under no load for FIVE minutes to break-in brushes properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check rotor before replacing brushes, July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
These brushes are a perfect fit and easy to install. They come in an easy to open packagae as long as you have scissors on hand. Amazon had them at my doorstep before I placed the order! I replaced mine for stalling. At first I hit the dremel and it would come back to life. Then found out pressing on either round circular cap that contains the brush assy would do it. So I decided to buy the brushes and replace. Same thing happened with the new brushes. I took the case apart and found the rotor that the brushes ride on to transmit the current was dark. I cleaned this up with some very fine sandpaper til it looked like copper. Put it all back together and it runs like new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fixed Dremel tool like new, March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
Great brushes. They come in a Dremel package. Do not understand why the local box stores do not sell them with the other Dremel individual products. The brushes were so easy to replace and the tool worked as good as the day it was new. Perhaps the box store just want you to buy a new Dremel tool instead of fixing the one you bought years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
I am glad I was able to purchase these here. It seems that Dremel has decided to no longer sell these in stores and you must order them online. I was happy I could find them at a good price and have them shipped quickly so that I could get back to my project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL To DREMEL Life-Cycle and Motor Wear -Replace Your Brushes Regularly!, October 29, 2014
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
Essential For Operation of ANY and ALL Dremel Tools ! .Any Dremel ( or rotary tool owner with a tool that has replaceable brushes) tool NEEDS TO HAVE THE BRUSHES CHANGED FOR EVERY 50 HOURS OF USE-period.If one doesn't change them out your motor will burn up. Replacing the brushes prevents damage to the motor and will increase the life of your Rotary Tool.
Its a simple procedure: remove the cover and the brushes are exposed.Some just pop in and others have to be @twisted@ a bit and then release.The entire operation takes less than 2 minutes and the benefits will add a year to your tool.Even Jewelers that use them as a flexshaft for all types of work at the bench using it for 20 hours in a 40 hour work week or woodworkers, restoration experts and other high-use jobbing will add to the life of the tool. Just find the most inexpensive offer on Amazon + free shipping for realistic savings.The brushes in a set of two costs about $5.00 at any home or hardware store plus taxes, and the cost of transportation-so Amazon offers some savings if you find a deal with free shipping or as an 'add-on' item to your larger order. It is truly an essential fact-of-ownership with a Dremel branded tool and other non-branded tools with replaceable brushes that they need to be changed at least annually-if not 2x a year for high usage applications ( Dremel recommends every 50 hours).You won't necessarily see any improvement in functionality but they are essential to the motor's wear and life expectancy..Just Go For IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do these brushes fit the Dremel 4000, October 18, 2012
By 
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
I would like to know if anyone has used these particular carbon brushes with the Dremel 4000. Dremel list the part number 2610005646. Can not seem to locate this part anywhere, even on the Dremel website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars correct part, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dremel 90930-04 Carbon Motor Brush Set, 2-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
this was the correct part that I was looking for, i did not have to return it or have any complaints about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.