Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1975: A Pivital Year For KISS
THE BAND: Gene Simmons (Gene Klein), Paul Stanley (Stanley Eisen), Ace Frehley (Paul Frehley), Peter Criss (Peter Crisscoula).

THE DISC: Released 3/19/75. Recorded at Electric Lady Studios (NYC). 10 songs clocking in at approximately 32 minutes (amazingly short in this day and age... 8 of the 10 songs were under the 3 minute mark). A classic black and white...
Published on May 2, 2000 by R. Gorham

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Sentimental Smile for the fans, but not a great album
My KISS fan life goes back as far as anyone's, but after reading all the 5-star reviews I just needed to offer a few words to the rest of the reading public who are not already devoted to the group.

This is a mediocre collection that has crisp production, short, tight songs, and a handful of great tunes interspersed with hack, tossed-off filler. KISS have even...
Published on November 25, 2012 by John Emm


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1975: A Pivital Year For KISS, May 2, 2000
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
THE BAND: Gene Simmons (Gene Klein), Paul Stanley (Stanley Eisen), Ace Frehley (Paul Frehley), Peter Criss (Peter Crisscoula).

THE DISC: Released 3/19/75. Recorded at Electric Lady Studios (NYC). 10 songs clocking in at approximately 32 minutes (amazingly short in this day and age... 8 of the 10 songs were under the 3 minute mark). A classic black and white photo of the band in their face paint and leisure suits standing on a NYC corner is simply classic (not to mention Peter's buck saddle shoes and Gene's clogs). Originally released on Casablanca Records in 1975; this remastered edition was released in 1997 on Mercury's label. Much improved sound in my book (deeper bass guitars and crisper highs). Liner notes are slim - a 2 page fold out with song titles, writing credits and times. Underneath the disc on the inside cover, there's an informative 5 paragraph history of what the band was going through at the time.

COMMENTS: "Dressed To Kill" was the band's 3rd album in 13 months. Where I have a hard time listening to Kiss' 1973 debut and "Hotter Than Hell" (due to a very slow/labored feel to the songs and extremely poor sound production), I have absolutely no problem sitting down and listening to "Dressed To Kill" for repeated spins. Neil Bogart was at the helm for "Dressed To Kill" (Kiss' first 2 albums were produced by Ken Kerner and Richard Wise)... maybe that's the main difference. The band's first big hit is here - "Rock & Roll All Nite" - and it's a worthy anthem for our youth (even 30 years later). The song symbolized the inimitable relationship between Kiss and their hardcore fans. But, the deeper tracks on "Dressed" are totally captivating. The fast paced "Room Service", "Getaway", and "Love Her All I Can" simply don't let up. The slower songs like the now classic "She", "Two Timer" and "Ladies In Waiting" are all Gene Simmons penned songs about the opposite sex (surprised?). Still, their beats are unforgettable. And perhaps the most daring song, "Rock Bottom" with it's delicate acoustic intro, mixes the soft and hard side of Kiss. 4 songs from this album made it to the infamous "Alive!" album released in the same year. 1975 was a pivital year for Kiss - their unique brand of music entertainment was in high demand, but Kiss was shut out of major concert tours because they routinely performed better than the top-billed acts. Greater things were to come in the same year with "Alive!" being released - catapulting them into rock stardom. I love "Dressed To Kill" and it is easily my favorite "early" Kiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Underappreciated Masterpiece From A Truly Timeless Band, March 10, 2000
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
All the people who say Kiss was not talented, that they were for 9-14 year old boys, who dismissed them as a joke, I wonder if they've noticed that Kiss is still selling millions of albums after over 25 years of the best. This album is really a great piece of music. Paul Stanley shines throughout, but especially on Room Service, Rock Bottom, C'mon and Love Me and Anything FOr My Baby. Gene is his usual outstanding self on Two Timer, Ladies In Waiting, and She, possibly the heaviest song the band ever recorded. Peter Criss' drumming is good as always and his lead vocal on "Getaway" is really cool. Ace's guitar playing is what makes the album, though. He is the greatest guitarist ever born and he gets so little respect. But the crown jewel is "Rock And Roll All Night", an ageless anthem that will play on throughout the next millenium. And now that Kiss has decided to call it quits, their music and impact on the world will stand undiminished and live on through the ages at truly the greatest and most influental band ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The third time is "almost" the charm..., April 16, 2012
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
Kiss found themselves in a curious predicament heading into 1975. The band's sold out live shows were without equal and often upstaged the main headliners they opened for. Yet, the group's second album, Hotter Than Hell, while leaving an unforgettable impression, quickly stalled on the charts. So what was Kiss' next step? Simple, try and hit a home run with swing number three!

Quickly running out of cash to fully support our four superheroes, Casablanca Records president Neil Bogart took over the producer's chair and Kiss went back into the studio hoping to finally convey just what they were all about musically. The result? Closer to hitting the jackpot but not quite.

Sonically, "Dressed To Kill" is closest to Kiss' genuine sound - a sexy plug n play electricity with a bubblegum kind of kick. It is probably my favorite of Kiss' first three albums.

What is fascinating is to compare the sound of the second album to this one. They are a mere half year apart yet totally different in their production style. Kiss were hungry to make it and they were determined to use every pitch they had in order to hit the bullseye.

My favorite track on the album is Paul's rollicking and tongue in cheek opener, Room Service. Followed closely by Love Her All I Can and She. Oh yes, a song called Rock And Roll All Nite is on here as well!

THE PACKAGING
The case on the 1997 Remaster faithfully coordinates the black and white of the original album. Both the disc and Robert Conte essay feature white text on a black backdrop while the back of the case reproduces the photo's negative along with the song titles and running times.

FAVORITE SONGS
My five favorite songs on "Dressed To Kill" are:

Room Service
Love Her All I Can
She
Rock And Roll All Nite
Anything For My Baby

In the end, "Dressed To Kill" still did not fulfill Kiss' ultimate fantasy but a rainbow was just on the horizon...

Thank you for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Sentimental Smile for the fans, but not a great album, November 25, 2012
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
My KISS fan life goes back as far as anyone's, but after reading all the 5-star reviews I just needed to offer a few words to the rest of the reading public who are not already devoted to the group.

This is a mediocre collection that has crisp production, short, tight songs, and a handful of great tunes interspersed with hack, tossed-off filler. KISS have even said as much themselves. They were under the gun and wrote at least half of this album in the studio, just prior to each day's recording session. (See the interesting book "Behind the Mask" by David Leaf and Ken Sharp, which I've re-read a dozen times).

I am always impressed by how much opinions differ as to which songs are the great ones. Many reviewers have hailed "Ladies in Waiting" as one of the album's best, but I side with those who say it is DREADFUL. Gene sounds as though he's impersonating Popeye the Sailor and the lyrics are gross and embrarassing. "The meat looks good tonight?" Yeesh.

But, you know, this band has a great and successful history, and after all I certainly didn't get into any recording studios over the past 35 years.

I agree there are some real gems in here, but I also agree with anyone who says most of them sound a LOT better on "Alive!" If you're not already devoted to KISS the album you should buy first is "Alive!"

The one bit of music you won't get anywhere else is the extended introduction to "Rock Bottom" that I think is just sensational.

That's why I'm buying the remastered disc after everything else I've just said. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Call me a three time loser..., August 9, 2010
By 
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
KISS seemed to be in dire straits when they were pulled off the road in early 1975 by their record company owner, Neil Bogart to produce their third album. Wishing to build on the momentum of the incredible buzz of their live performances, Bogart believe having as much new music put out as possible could help keep that momentum on the upswing. He also wanted a single to further push KISS on commercial rock radio. Gene and Paul had collaborated on such a song that would become the band's signature anthem, "Rock n' Roll All Nite". The rest as they say is history although the parent LP, `Dressed to Kill' did not do much sales wise to improve on its predecessors. It would take one more monumental gamble on a live record that would cement KISS's status for all-time. As for the record in question, I would rate `Dressed to Kill' third out of the first three. Due in no doubt to the rush of the proceedings, songs were in short supply so some of the tunes do have a filler quality but there is a lot to like here. "Room Service", "Two Timer" and "Ladies In Waiting" are all very enjoyable minor klassics that lead off the LP. Three of the best known songs which have been included on many compilations are "C'mon and Love Me" (a personal favorite), "Rock Bottom" (an unusual song in that it's really an Ace Frehley almost classical instrumental combined with a Paul Stanley) and "She" (one of KISS's heaviest songs and a Wicked Lester leftover). Of course "Rock and Roll All Nite" would be the record (and KISS's) anchor and remains to this day KISS's major contribution to pop culture. Even if you are sick of that song (as I am) you may enjoy the cleaner almost poppier production over past efforts (like the sludge fest `Hotter Than Hell' which happens to be my favorite btw). `Dressed to Kill' kept KISS afloat before KISSteria would explode and make the band and its members (and faces!) household names. And the cover is a hoot too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof That KISS Did Thrive Before "Alive", November 11, 2009
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
While most people justifiably point at "Alive" as the album that shot KISS to the top of the rock scene, they had three solid studio albums that set the tone before it. Their self-titled debut and "Hotter Than Hell" have gained in popularity over the years. Somehow the third album from KISS, "Dressed To Kill," doesn't seem to gain as much respect.

I personally believe that "Dressed To Kill" is quite possibly the strongest of KISS' three early albums. It is known primarily for having the first studio recorded release of "Rock And Roll All Nite," which ranks as one of, if not the, greatest rock anthem in history. However, the entire album offers up some great rock n' roll tunes.

In addition to "Rock And Roll All Nite," a few lesser known KISS classics included on this album are "Rock Bottom," "She," and "C'mon And Love Me." While all of these songs are great, I think that every other song on this album can hold its own in the KISS catalogue.

For instance, the album opener, "Room Service," is a nothing short of a fun rocker. "Ladies In Waiting" and "Two Timer" are a couple of other standout tracks. All of the songs have an unpolished, real feel to them that hints at what is to come in "Alive."

Even though "Rock And Roll All Nite" is the popular favorite on this album, I personally believe that the rolling rocker "Getaway" featuring Peter Criss on vocals is the true gem on "Dressed To Kill."

While I wouldn't go as far as to say that "Dressed To Kill" is on the same level as "Destroyer" or "Rock And Roll Over" when compared to KISS' studio albums, I will say that it is definitely in the upper echelon of KISS' work. Of the pre-"Alive" albums, it is definitely the best overall.

Recommended to KISS fans who've been around awhile and have yet to pick up "Dressed To Kill." Newer fans will most likely buy it for "Rock And Roll All Nite," but I think that they'll soon see just how great the rest of this album really is. If you enjoy fun rock and hard rock, I highly recommend KISS' "Dressed To Kill."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mega Rock and Roll Masterpiece!, November 4, 2009
By 
Rock~N~Rolla (Detroit Rock City, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
Way back in 1975, if memory serves me correctly, KISS Dressed To Kill was the very first record album that I had ever bought. I was just getting into music at the time and maybe owned a few 45s, but after hearing Rock and Roll All Nite, I just had to have this album. Needless to say, it was worth every penny that I scraped up doing odd jobs like grass cutting and a paper route to get. In fact, I ended up playing this album so many times, the grooves in the vinyl were so worn out as to be pretty much useless after a couple of years or so. So, admittedly, this album has a very special place in my heart.

Years later, sometime in the late 1990's, as I was revisiting some of the old music that I had enjoyed as a teenager, I bought this album on CD, and fell in love with it all over again. It once again started my KISS craze. Listening to it today, it sounds just as great as it ever did.

This album, to me, is THE definitive KISS album. It features 10 great songs with all the original band members working together harmoniously at a time when, in my opinion, they were at their very best. Every song on here is an awesome work of art. It's also an air guitarist's dream come true. Especially on tracks like She, with it's amazing guitar licks, and it's heavy bass grooves, to Rock Bottom, with it's beautiful two minute acoustical opening, which leads into some blistering guitars accompanied by Paul Stanley's great vocals! Or, C'Mon and Love Me, featuring one of Spaceman Frehley's best solos, and again, on Love Her All I Can, which also has excellent drumming by Peter Criss, cowbells and all.

Then there's Room Service, which features more blistering Ace Frehley guitars, and Two Timer, with the great Gene Simmons doing some very cool vocals. The song Getaway features Peter Criss singing his heart out along with more amazing guitar riffs backing him up throughout. And, Anything For My Baby features some outstanding drum playing by Peter, while Paul Stanley sings once again proving that he is without a doubt the Starchild Rock God. Gene Simmons does the main vocals on Ladies in Waiting, another great rocker.

lastly, there is the album's closer which has got to be the best end song on any album that I have ever heard, the mighty and well-known KISS signature anthem song, Rock and Roll All Nite. Man, Oh Man, albums just do not get any better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock & Roll All Nite!, October 12, 2004
By 
Chuck Potocki (Crown Point, Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
A classic that deserved to be hugely popular, but unfortunately, was all but overlooked at the time. Remarkably, this was Kiss' 3rd album in just barely over a year, and like its' predecessors, was a "quickie" album, sandwiched in between tour dates.

The pressure was indeed mounting for Kiss to produce a winner, and that they did with "Dressed To Kill"; but for some reason, the public were not lining up in droves to buy the album. Instead, they were lining up in droves to see the band live, based on the word of mouth that was quickly spreading about their spectacular concerts.

By and large, Kiss' calling card "Rock & Roll All Nite" has stood the test of time and became a bonafide rock classic; but the adrenaline-charged firepower of the concert setting didn't translate itself well to the studio, so to some, this version may appear a bit weak and tame in comparison. Their previous album "Hotter Than Hell" was the only one to this point that came closest to capturing Kiss' live sound in the studio, but even that somehow fell a little short.

"Dressed To Kill" was produced by Neil Bogart, who at the time was president of Kiss' record label, Casablanca. At Bogart's urging, Kiss temporarily suspended their hectic touring schedule and flew back to New York to record this album. Bogart was hopeful that he could finally produce a million-seller for Kiss since their first 2 albums came and went without much notice.

Even with a new producer at the helm, the "firepower" was still missing on this release, although the songs themselves were first-rate. Kiss had a slight shortage of new material on hand since they ran out of time to write before their scheduled recording date; so they reworked 2 songs from the Wicked Lester era, the classic "She" and "Love Her All I Can" to complete the LP.

Nearly 30 years later, "Dressed To Kill" still sounds fresh and has earned its' place as a true classic rock album. The band's youthful energy and spirit runs rampant throughout, and the songs are played in a sort of "hit & run" fashion. This is a must-have Kiss album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simple, yet pure rock record., July 19, 2001
By 
C. Boros (Cleveland, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
After the release of KISS' first two albums (KISS and Hotter than Hell), which sold poorly, the band's manager, Bill Aucoin and other KISS insiders like Casablanca Records CEO Neil Bogart, advised KISS to come up with a hook-an "anthem" if you will. What they came up with was a song co-written by Simmons and Stanley (something that very rarely has happened in Kisstory) called "Rock and Roll all Nite." Even if you've been living in a cave your entire life, you know this song-the ultimate rock and roll anthem. This album, Dressed to Kill, features the song that would eventually make KISS a household name-though it's the live version of "Rock and Roll all Nite" that appeared on KISS' next release, Alive!, that became the band's first hit single. However, this is the album that introduced the song to the world.
Dressed to Kill, in general is one of KISS' best efforts to date. The songs may be simple and while the album is the shortest in Kisstory, it's no doubt a great rock record. The opener, "Room Service" is a fun, Paul Stanley rocker that talks about the fantasy of being "serviced" in a hotel. I'm sure Paul and the other guys in KISS have experienced this fantasy one too many times. Personally, I could use this fantasy. Let's face it-KISS has not been known for their deep, thought provoking lyrics. Let's take a look at an example shall we?
"Room service. Baby I could use a meal. Room service. You do what you feel." Deep huh?
Dressed to Kill is simply fun. Other tunes that stand out are "C'Mon and Love Me," "Rock Bottom (which has a great acoustic Ace Frehley intro), and two songs that came from Gene and Paul's previous band Wicked Lester-"She" and "Love Her all I Can."
Is it pure musical genius? No. But KISS has never been about musical integrity. They just want to rock-nothing wrong with that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KISS keeps on rockin'!, January 25, 2005
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Audio CD)
KISS's 3rd album kept with the hard and heavy sound of KISS and helped propel them to stardom when they released ALIVE!. Dressed to Kill is one of the few KISS albums that remains consistent with songs and keeps a strong, heavy sound throughout the 30 minute album. The highlights of the album include: "Rock and Roll all Nite", "Room Service", and "C'mon and Love Me". Any KISS fan should own this outstanding compilation of rock and roll from one of the best Rock groups of all time.

Song by Song:

Room Service: A wonderful opening to the album. Gives you a great overview to what you can expect in terms of the KISS rock that you'll be hearing off the album. 9/10

Two Timer: Solid track, but not one of the stronger one's off the album. Still good solid rock n' roll. 8/10

Ladies in Waiting: A very catchy rock song with a nice to flow it. A good chorus and a good song. 8.5/10

Getaway: Pretty good track but you get the sense that there wasn't much effort put into making this track. 8/10

Rock Bottom: A wonderful guitar intro into a seemingly good rock track. The first 2 minutes are the real highlight of the song though. 8.5/10

C'mon and Love me: Classic KISS. Wonderful lyrics and a great rock melody. 9.5/10

Anything for My Baby: Seemingly one of the catchiest songs off the album, it will have you singing along in no time. 9/10

She: Great rock track featuring strong drumming a great intro. Good chorus as well. 9/10

Love Her All I can: This song features the best guitar solo off the album and it is fabulous. Catchy with a great melody within in the solo. 9/10

Rock and Roll All Nite: Possibly the highlight of the album. It's wonderfully catchy and just carries a magnificent beat to it. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dressed to Kill
Dressed to Kill by Kiss (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.