Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has it all--a well-structured plot, a beautifully detailed setting, and at its heart, a unique and beautiful love story!
I adore this book. So much so that I read it twice before sitting down to write this review. Simply put, it has it all--a well-structured plot, a beautifully detailed setting, a winning supporting cast, and at its heart, a unique and beautiful love story.

Drew Doyle has no desire to be a parent, and no trust in his paternal instincts. Having grown up in a...
Published on February 1, 2011 by Carole "The Romance Review...

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drew in Blue
Drew in Blue was the story of a single man who has his infant son dropped on his doorstep after the baby's mother decides she does not want him. Drew goes through the trauma of being a new single dad while trying to come to terms with losing his mother at a very young age and never knowing his own father.

I enjoyed Drew in Blue. The characters were real, I...
Published on December 26, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has it all--a well-structured plot, a beautifully detailed setting, and at its heart, a unique and beautiful love story!, February 1, 2011
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
I adore this book. So much so that I read it twice before sitting down to write this review. Simply put, it has it all--a well-structured plot, a beautifully detailed setting, a winning supporting cast, and at its heart, a unique and beautiful love story.

Drew Doyle has no desire to be a parent, and no trust in his paternal instincts. Having grown up in a series of foster homes following his mother's sudden death, he has never had a good model for how to raise and nurture a child. Which isn't a problem--until he finds himself with a son. Following an unplanned pregnancy, his ex-girlfriend leaves four-week-old Nick on Drew's doorstep and drives away. Seeing another little boy who has been abandoned by his mother, Drew vows to care for the baby, even though he has no clue where to begin. In desperation, he turns to his best friend, Kristina Moser, a fellow artist, his first love, and best friend for advice and support, relying on her to bring a sense of normalcy back into his life.

But Nick's arrival changes everything. Drew no longer has the luxury of thinking only of himself. His time and his future are now tied up in Nick--and any potential relationship Drew might pursue has to be with someone who is willing to take on the role of mother as well as partner. He sets out to find the perfect woman to fill the role, but eventually comes to realize that the person he has been looking for might be the one who's been there all along...

The relationship between Kris and Drew is brilliantly written. They are close enough to be honest with each other, even with some very painful subjects. They understand each other--sometimes even better than they understand themselves, and love each other even though they are completely aware of their shortcomings and weaknesses. In Drew's narrative, there was something that felt off, or lonely somehow, when he was alone with Nick or dealing with other characters. When Kris is around and part of his life, however, there is a sense of completion about both characters that is magical to read. When they finally do come together, it makes for one of the best scenes I've read in a very long time.

But Drew and Kris are not the only love story in this book. This is also the story of Drew and his son Nick. And, again, the story of these two lonely characters feels wonderfully honest. Here, there is the awkwardness of a new relationship, the overwhelming fear of failure and the humor of the unexpected. Also, for Drew, there is the need to learn how to deal with the loss of his mother and his own role in Nick's life. At a critical moment in the story, Drew finds a letter that his mother wrote to him when he was a baby that sheds light on the person she was and all that life could have been for them together. While the scene itself is absolutely heart wrenching, it leads Drew to want to get to know his son--to cherish him as well as care for him. And from there, it only gets better. Watching the bond between dad and son grow is a complete joy, and as fulfilling as the scenes between Drew and Kris.

I loved the fact that this book was told from Drew's point of view. It was fascinating to get in the head of the man in the story and see the world through his eyes. It's a perspective that I haven't seen in many romance books, and one I certainly haven't seen done so well in a very long time. Drew manages to be strong, capable and still vulnerable, and reading his story as he tells it was refreshing and really moving. His revelations about child rearing are both hysterically funny and hauntingly emotional, and the way he describes his love for Kris made my heart skip a beat.

As I said before, I love this book. It made me laugh and made me cry, which is something that almost never happens. I fell in love with Drew, Kris and Nick from the start and couldn't put the story down until I had made the entire journey with them. The story felt so real and so honest, and was told with such genuine feeling and love that, to be honest, I can't wait to read it again!

Reviewed by Bridget
for The Romance Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review will be posted at Everybody Needs a Little Romance, January 28, 2011
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
Drew in Blue by JM Kelley
* I received this ARC/book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Drew in Blue is about so much more than the brief glimpse we get in the synposis. Drew grew up in the small ltown of River's View and even though he moved away for awhile, he decided to come back home to set up roots. He's an artist with severe writer's block and hopes something will stir his creative juices because his money is about to run out.

When his ex drops off his son and says "here you go" he is dumbfounded and doesn't know what to do. He grew up in foster care and is determined to be a father to his son, no matter how many times he screws up. With the help of Kris, his best friend, he bumbles his way through it.

Kris falls in love with the Nick a little more each day. She is there whenever Nick and Drew need her, no matter what. She and Drew have been best friends since they were little kids and she would do anything for him, except date him again.

Drew is a very complex character, even though it doesn't seem that way when you first meet him. He doesn't have any family and has a handful of friends. He displays his artwork at the studio in town that Kris owns and he lives a simple life. He is forced to grow up and take stock of where he is in life when Nick becomes his responsibility. He fumbles through it like any new dad would but finally gets the hang of it.

His has bad luck with relationships but manages to remain friends with his ex girlfriends. When he meets Valerie, he is sure things will be different this time, but they're not. While on vacation with Nick, he does a lot of thinking about his past relationships and why they didn't work out. He draws one conculsion, none of the girls measure up to Kris. Now he just has to convence here that she is the one for him.

There are so many wonderful moments in this story. It's filled with humor, love, and heartache that tug on your heart strings. One of my favorite scenes was when he was reading the letter and Kris was there to hold him through it all, it just broke my heart.

The turn around in Drew was the other thing that impressed me about his character. He grew so much throughout the book and became a man focused on providing for his child rather than feeling sorry for himself. Kris was so much fun to read, I love her ability to dish it out with the best of them. She's a strong female lead that knows what she wants out of life and the perfect complement for Drew.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and was really surprised by the whole thing. I highly recommend it, it's a great contemporary love story from a new author. I give Drew in Blue 4˝ Flaming Hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great first novel!, April 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
I loved this story. I'd call it a page-turner, but in reality for me it was a page-clicker. A great romance without the wishy-washy harlequin style. It's basically a best friend become amazing partners thanks to a totally unexpected event. I recommend this book to anybody. Such a fun read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drew in Blue, December 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
Drew in Blue was the story of a single man who has his infant son dropped on his doorstep after the baby's mother decides she does not want him. Drew goes through the trauma of being a new single dad while trying to come to terms with losing his mother at a very young age and never knowing his own father.

I enjoyed Drew in Blue. The characters were real, I agree with the other reviewers on that opinion. Drew was seemingly a normal guy who by the end of the book completely endears himself to the reader. The interaction between the characters was also very enjoyable and again "real", and I thought the overall plot and the delivery of it was good.

Where my negative points come into play, first of all the author advertised this book in the romance forum on the thread "have you written a romance book". I really wouldn't categorize Drew in Blue as a romance. It is about a 30 something man trying to learn how to be a dad. Drew does establish other relationships with women in the book, including a romance blooming with his best (female) friend, but in my opinion Drew in Blue does not center around a romantic relationship. There also was no climax that the story built up to. The end came a bit abruptly and it ended on a "let's see how it goes" kind of note.

Overall I really did enjoy the book, I just was expecting something a bit different based on the reviews and the author's advertisement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet father/son story, but romance is lacking, January 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
Drew knows he fathered a son, but he walked away from him right after he was born. Now, his ex-hookup (they weren't even dating) drops off the baby on his front steps and says she's leaving and doesn't want to raise his baby anymore. Drew is an overgrown child himself. At 36, he's an artist who doesn't work half the time, doesn't have a girlfriend, family, or many friends. The only friend he has is Kris, a girl he's known since they were children. She's his best friend, but it's really complicated. They dated and had sex with each other in high school, then he dumped her, and now they're best friends. It's a really weird relationship, trust me. It doesn't get any easier to understand when Drew tells Kris all about his new girlfriend and the sex they're having, and how Kris encourages him to keep seeing her and maybe try to make a commitment when it's very obvious Kris never completely got over him. How much torture would it be to have a guy you liked (even a little) hint at having sex with someone else?

I didn't care for Kris, for not coming right out and telling him when he's being a jerk and how she feels. I nearly hated Drew for being a selfish, superficial, immature character with no redeeming qualities whatsoever. He's certainly not very charming, and he comes with a lot of baggage. We don't even know what he looks like, because descriptions are very lacking. I couldn't find myself caring about him, and the romance was dull to me. It seems like he should have known he loved her without taking 20 years. And there's no suspense, either...nothing to keep you riveted to the pages. This book's saving grace is the father-son relationship. Drew grows from a man who is merely providing for his child's physical needs to forming an emotional bond with his child. He falls in love with his son, and that's what really keeps you reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a dream...Well written,solid plot,defined characters, April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
"Drew in Blue" is not your typical romance book.This is a story about figuring out your role in life, and the friendship between two people.Love is the farthest thing from their minds,yet it happens anyway.

Pros: Great plot,well defined characters,and the friendship between Drew and Kris just melts your heart.Also I laughed out loud so many times randomly at the little thing that Drew and Kris would say(they were just funny people).

Cons:It had to end :(

Overall AMAZING book,one of the best I've read all year, and I read a lot people...hats off to the author!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, March 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
I was completely pulled into the world of Drew Doyle. I found myself laughing out loud several times. I thoroughly enjoyed the characters J.M. Kelley created in this book. I was intrigued by a male protagonist in a non-paranormal/sci-fi book. Amazing. I was sad to see it end. I can't wait to read another from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOME SURPRISES COME IN SMALL PACKAGES, April 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
Drew comes home one night to find a surprise on his doorstep, and what could have become a rote and trite storyline turned out to be one of the most delightful books I have read in a long time.

The surprise, of course, is a baby--and it's Drew's. At first he is freaked out, and again, the author could have chosen to write a story with a lot of hand-wringing, punctuated with chapter upon chapter of 'what-do-I-dos', or worse, ineptitude on the new father's part. Instead, JM Kelley tells a story of loss, redemption, and finding yourself, told in the first person through Drew's eyes. The main character, Drew, is a man in transition, thanks to this new bundle of joy. But Nick's presence also brings back Drew's haunting childhood, and it is clear very quickly he wants something better for Nick. A nice supporting cast keeps the book interesting, but it is really the story of Drew, his friendship with Kris, a fellow artist and lifelong friend, and of course, baby Nick that elevates this book above the rest. Some of the scenes between Drew and baby Nick are priceless, and it is the honesty the author gives Drew and his situation that keeps the story believable throughout.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read, March 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. It was a beleivable story line and your heart goes out to this Dad. This book takes you through ups and downs with the emotions of each character. I hope you enjoy this book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise!, March 15, 2012
By 
L. Christensen (Virginia, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drew in Blue (Kindle Edition)
This was a terrific book and I rarely give five stars. I wasn't expecting humor and romance with a new parent book all wrapped into one. Drew's narrative made it seem like you were sitting down to chat with him. His growth as a person, his discovery of what it takes to be a parent and the romantic aspect made this a book that was hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Drew in Blue
Drew in Blue by J.M. Kelley
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.