Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on April 22, 2011
I almost did not try this product after reading the reviews. That would have been a mistake. I am so glad I listened to the positive feedback.

These gel pacs kept 9 of 9 houseplants alive for my two week vacation. 7 of 9 were as good as ever even showing new growth. Two were a bit wilted but perked right up after a watering. The two that wilted a bit were in 2" pots with a lot of plant stems. It was very hard to get the gel into the pots touching the soil around the plants, so I don't have any complaint with the product what so ever!!!

I don't write many reviews but felt I should since I almost didn't buy this item.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
Knowing I had several trips planned, and afraid that I would forget to water when I was home in between trips, I worked out a system to water my houseplants and outdoor potted plants. I bought watering spikes and these DriWater gel pacs, and hoped for the best, but was dreadfully afraid that I would come home to dead plants. I had a hard time believing that these DriWater gel pacs would be able to sustain the needs of my houseplants, particularly those that also have high sun needs and thus sit in south-facing windows.

Boy was I wrong.

The DriWater gel pacs not only kept my houseplants alive, but they released water at such a rate that my plants looked healthier than ever!

I found that the best way to use these pacs was to begin a few days before leaving town-- THOROUGHLY water the plants PRIOR TO putting the DriWater gel pac on the soil, and water again before actually leaving town. This method seems to allow the DriWater to "adapt" to the soil and to best do its job.

I did find that the pacs don't last a full 30 days, but that they will do a good job for about two or three weeks before they're spent. For big pots, you also MUST use more than one pac.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2010
This is the second time I buy these gels and they work like a charm. I highly recommend them for anyone concerned with their plants during a vacation. It is trouble free and I have tested them for up to 25 days with Kumkat trees and palms trees. Next batch will be for hibiscus, mantevilla and bougainvillea. A bit pricy but worth it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2013
I used the gel pacs for 12 large house plants while on a 35 day vacation. ALL plants survived and are in great condition, not one leaf dropped. I was amazed! Definitely recommend this item for plant lovers who travel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on July 20, 2010
This product works great if you are going to be away and have nobody to water your plants. I was away for 30 days and these still had capacity after I returned. The type of plant you have and size does make a difference of course. If you have a larger pot and the plant usually requires adequate water then you would want to put two of these on the soil. I would definitely use these again if I was going to be away for an extended time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on February 17, 2012
I was going off for a month and wanted some of my house plants to stay where I had them and just have someone check up on them occasionally to see if these Driwater thingies worked. I had a month to test one of the gelpacks, and it seemed to work fine. Before leaving for the trip, I watered my plants as suggested, then set up my pots with the gelpacks. They worked great for the 31 days I was gone. One tube seemed sufficient for most of my not-so-bushy-stemmed plants, all of which were in 8-12 inch pots. It seems to be the number of stems and not the pot size that determines how many gels to use. I managed to jam one into my bushy-stemmed 9-inch spider, and the plant actually had a new sprout toward the end of the month.

If there is any flaw, it's that the tubes are a bit awkward to fit into some crowded pots. When the tube is empty, it leaves a bit of a slime on the soil but that's easy enough to blend in with soil. I still have some left for my next trip and will plan to use them and report.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
I have several house plants and I wanted to find a watering method that would take the guess work out of over- and under- watering. DriWater seemed like an easy and effective solution, so I tried it. So far, it seems an excellent way to water your plants. I have a large and very finnicky peace lilly in a 12in pot that likes water at least every other day. I put 3 of the gel pacs in the pot and I have not had to water the plant in a week!!! The plant is flourishing with the DriWater system. I have since put the pacs in my other plants and they too are thriving. I love this product and would definitely recommend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on December 7, 2011
Was looking for a product that would keep my indoor bonsai trees hydrated while I was on vacation. This product worked very well for the bonsai, citrus, as well as my other houseplants. I divided the gel pacs into smaller amounts depending on flower pot size and covered the gel with a piece of plastic wrap to prevent it from evaporating too quickly. Came home to healthy plants. Would recommend placing the product on the plants a few days before you vacation because it takes a few days for the gel to start breaking down.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2013
Used this for a 9 day trip. Followed the instructions of soaking the plants first and all plants survived, even a "water hog" tropical - however, the meyer lemon was stressed and shed most of its leaves - but this is a plant that prefers to dry out and then be soaked, rather than a constant small feed, so it seems to depend on the plants watering preference. I also took the precaution to move the plants to partial shade to assist in reducing dryout. I'm not sure the sausage shaped pack is the best geometry for ensuring that the material contacts the soil though, and I am not sure about the 30 day claim given the reduction in volume after 9 days, but again I expect it depends on the conditions of the location and the plant.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 20, 2014
I had to leave town for three weeks and I was unable to find anyone to water my plants for me. I own several, so it wasn't practical to take them with me or bring them to a friend's home. I couldn't find self-watering bulbs at any local nurseries, and I stumbled across this product when searching for automatic plant watering solutions on Amazon. The manufacturer promises up to 30 days of water provided with each pak, which is about the size of a Jimmy Dean sausage. I ordered a case, put them to use according to the directions about an hour before I left, set a light with a timer next to my plants, and departed.

21 days later, I returned to find all my plants were in perfect health, their soil still moist and the DriWater paks partially depleted. Every single one worked exactly as promised. I couldn't be happier with the results. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.