Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaing & Informative, September 28, 2009
This review is from: Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol (Paperback)
If you drink, ever wonder why? How did humans figure out how to create alcohol? Why don't people enjoy drinking grape juice as much as wine? How did it become a social thing? All these questions, and many more, are pondered and answered in this informative and interesting book. A good sociological examination as to why people drink, how they drink, why they drink what they do and why it's been viewed favorably by some cultures in history and unfavorably by others. As someone who is always fascinated by learning how humans tick and how we've changed through history - I found this book both relaxing (a good non controversial read) and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and entertaining, August 30, 2010
By 
M. Krueger "manfredtex" (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol (Paperback)
This book was very well written, and was a real pleasure to read. I like books like this that intertwine facts with historical anecdotes. I would recommend this to anyone interested in the cultural history of alcohol.

This book is quite long, but I never wanted to put it down. I think Iain Gately's writing style helps keep the book moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Really entertaining, really informative, June 22, 2012
By 
This review is from: Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol (Paperback)
This book will create a new appreciation of alcohol in the reader. It is a wonderful history and cultural reference. Looking at the importance of alcohol throughout history makes one realize how intertwined drinking was to peoples' lives, as well as how drinking influenced historical events. It has an integral place in many cultures and commemorates special occasions and brings people together. I will keep this book and read it again, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good book., November 30, 2009
By 
Jake W. Henry "Jawahe" (Sedona, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol (Paperback)
This is a well researched and engaging book. I carried it around with me while i was reading it, and had many conversations with people who noticed it.
I would have liked more about microbreweries, but thats another book in itself i suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drink, March 5, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol (Paperback)
I chose this book because I am not only in the healthcare business,but alcohol is such a large part of American life,but has become such a problem in the higher learning institutions,of this country.This book is human,and informative,and I would advise anyone to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol (Paperback)
Best history book ever written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol (Paperback)
It's a wonderful book.
There is nothing especial about it that is not already as advertised, it provides everything I expected based on what was told to me about it.

A wonderful book if you are interested in alcohol beyond enjoying it as a drink. Some of the bountiful knowledge in there can also be a good conversation maker in bars and such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love it, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol (Paperback)
It really does show how alcohol came about and why it is so a part of many cultures. this is a great easy, interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, August 21, 2008
From ancient Greece to MADD (Mothers Against Drunken Driving) Gately hits a beat. From Jacob's Creek to San Francisco steam, from Louis Pasteur's 1862 discovery that yeast eats sugar and excretes alcohol to the "green fairy" absinthe and its eventual prohibition, from the drift away from spitoons to tubes at home and the staggering popularity of Cognac in Hong Kong and Kristal in Harlem - a cornucopia of wit and tasty notes - to your health!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a review, but a question....., September 14, 2008
By 
Anne Salazar "inveterate reader" (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Years ago, when I was actually studying to become an alcoholism counselor, I read something from long-ago America, during some sort of political election..... One of the politicians was asked what he thought about alcohol and he proceeded to give an oratory as only a politician could: He said something along the lines of "If you are speaking of the gentle liquid that soothes a man's throat and makes of him a poet....etc. then I am all for alcohol! But, if you are speaking of the devil's brew that turns a man into a wife-beater and irresponsible employee....etc. then I am against the use of alcohol!" Has anyone ever read the entire "sermon", and is it included in this book? I have been trying to find it for years.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol
Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol by Iain Gately (Paperback - May 5, 2009)
$22.00 $16.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.