Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and different
I must admit right off the bat that I'm a sucker for these type of movies with the predictable, happy ending. However, I must also say that I truly believe this was a good movie because it both hit the mark with what high school can be like yet it was different from many of the recent high school flicks that have been made. It is different because neither character is...
Published on December 29, 2000 by Tom Robinson

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as I expected
Isn't it funny how some films don't quite fit their stereotypes? I settled down to watch Drive Me Crazy because I was in the mood to watch a mindless teen movie, and given that this film stars Melissa Joan Hart of Sabrina The Teen Witch fame, I was expecting really more of the same. It doesn't help that the beginning of the film reinforces the stereotype (complete with...
Published on January 4, 2005 by K. M. Talha


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as I expected, January 4, 2005
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy (DVD)
Isn't it funny how some films don't quite fit their stereotypes? I settled down to watch Drive Me Crazy because I was in the mood to watch a mindless teen movie, and given that this film stars Melissa Joan Hart of Sabrina The Teen Witch fame, I was expecting really more of the same. It doesn't help that the beginning of the film reinforces the stereotype (complete with cheesy pop background music, neon-lit opening titles and slow pan across a typical teenage girl's bedroom followed by Melissa answering the phone in her best "a la Sabrina" perky voice).

What I encountered was a film that is still very much rooted in the teen "prom" genre, but is slightly deeper and sophisticated (as well as more ponderous and slow-moving) than I expected. It's quite a biting and penetrating observation of the high school social hierarchy as well as the conflicting emotions of young love. Think of it as a more serious version of Clueless with a dash of Dangerous Liaisons thrown in.

Nicole Maris (Melissa Joan Hart) is a pretty and popular girl at the Timothy Zonin High School (definitely in the "in" crowd) who is organising a big formal dance celebrating the centenary anniversary of her school. She has the hots for school basketball star Brad (Gabriel Carpenter) and hopes he will be her date for the dance.

Neighbour and fellow classmate Chase Hammon (Adrian Grenier) is on the other side of the school social stratum. Sporting a "rebel without a cause" attitude and a grungy appearance, he hangs out with nerdy Ray (Kris Park) and "Designated Dave" (Mark Webber) - the latter so-nicknamed because he doesn't drink therefore he always chauffeurs the other kids when they are blind drunk and want to go back home after a party. At the beginning of the film, the three of them (masterminded by Chase) stage a prank involving putting coloured dye into the school sprinkler system which nearly gets them suspended.

Incidentally, Nicole and Chase used to be childhood friends but then grew apart into their different ways. Both have single parents (William Converse-Roberts as Mr. Hammond and Faye Grant as Mrs. Maris) as Chase's mum died of cancer and Nicole's father (Stephen Collins) is estranged. Their parents appear to be very "friendly" with each other, and later on in the film we find out why.

So, when Brad - on the verge of asking Nicole to the centenary dance - falls in love with a cheerleader instead (when he accidentally fell on her during a basketball game), and Chase's girlfriend Dulcie (Ali Larter) dumps him because she thinks he's too shallow (because she is into animal rights and he doesn't seem to be interested), Nicole and Chase strike an unholy deal - they will pretend to be in a relationship with each other in an attempt to make their desired partners jealous.

Nicole gives Chase a Pygmalion-like makeover and suddenly it looks like their crazy plan may just succeed after all. Or will they fall in love with each other instead? And what about Nicole's best friend - acid-tongued Alicia (Susan May Pratt) - will she throw a spanner into the works?

The ending may be somewhat predictable, and yet the film as a whole seems to be more than the sum of its parts. The characters are reasonably fleshed out and have complex overtones to their personalities, and the dialogue is reasonably clever in places. However, overall I found the film to be somewhat slow-moving and uninvolving. The problem is, a romantic comedy with artistic pretensions can aspire to become a piece of serious drama, but an ambitious teen movie ends up looking awkward because - let's face it - what is the serious equivalent?

Incidentally, I think Melissa should really stop playing teen roles. She may still have the pert little body and a perky voice, but she is not as fresh-faced as she used to be and it would be nice to see her play her age for a change in a more substantial role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY A TEEN FILM THAT DEPICTS HIGH SCHOOOL AS IT IS., March 11, 2000
By 
Spongy (New Hartford, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy (DVD)
Drive me Crazy on the surface is portrayed as a shallow,run-of-the-mill, simplistic movie.I also thought it would be this. But instead it is an eyopening web of complex emotions. Some of the beginning parts are questionable though (Chase goes from grunge-boy, to popular boyfriend in about 2 seconds with little instant remorse, or thought), but as the movie unfolds, it becomes something more. This is largely in part of the simple, yet true to the heart performances of the two leads, Adrian Grenier, who delicately portrays a teenager somewhere between a hurt child, and a noncomformist anti-hero, and Melissa Joan Hart believeably portraying a perky popular girl who has a slow change of heart about who she is and where she stands. As supporting characters ''Designated Dave'' is strongly played, showing acore of insecurity and hurt. BUt overall what makes the film worth seeing is the general feel of it. The simple, yet realistically portrayed wounds of hurt, insecurity, and inferiority that make the ''uncool'' kids try to be what they aren't. High school is finally realistically portrayed as a Nazi-like environment. As brutal as it seems, it really is. People get hurt, and suffer and are dehumanized in what is no less than a Nazi following of kids degrading each other. Hopefully other filmmakers will take the hint and start creating movies that are more true to life, instead of the upper-cut, simplistic movies they currently process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and different, December 29, 2000
By 
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I must admit right off the bat that I'm a sucker for these type of movies with the predictable, happy ending. However, I must also say that I truly believe this was a good movie because it both hit the mark with what high school can be like yet it was different from many of the recent high school flicks that have been made. It is different because neither character is chasing the other one and they are former friends rather than 2 people who know nothing of each other. Also, even though Melissa Joan Hart's character is the popular, perky one, Adrian Greiner's character is not your typical "loser" character nor would I classify him as a loser. He is not an academic nerd either, but a rebellious person who gets in some trouble. That being said, I do have some beefs with the movie. First, the "falling for each other" between Hart and Greiner doesn't develop as it should. It also bothered me that neither one says how/what they feel even at the end. The audience knows they are attracted to each other but they never say anything. Also, this movie really should have been longer so that the story could have developed more, again especially the relationship between Hart and Greiner. Still, a good movie overall and one worth seeing if you like romantic-comedies or this type of genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really really fun!, May 16, 2000
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy (DVD)
I'm honestly not one to be a big fan of teenage movies, USUALLY. But...when I saw this movie I notcied that the world of teenage cinematic productions really DID have potential, can you imagine! Adrian Grenier is the cuuuutest, and Meslissa Joan Hart acually acts in this movie, hard to believe, but yes, she does! It has an interesting plot and is one I could watch over and over again. It is funny, smart, and witty. Never leaving you yawning this movie receives a 5 in my book! I would reccomend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dumb title, good movie, November 15, 2000
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy (DVD)
Hardly a waste of time, DRIVE ME CRAZY isn't quite the movie it was marketed to be. Though presented as a romantic comedy, this is a film essentially about cliques, and the almost tribal warfare that ensues between them. More, it's about stepping outside the familiar and seeing what else there is to life. To be sure you won't be magically transported by this film to some greater understanding of high school life. But it does have the capacity to make you remember what it feels like to be in (a predominantly white, suburban American) high school.
Is it funny? Well, it's no AMERICAN PIE. There are moments of humor, but you won't be bustin' a gut, here. It is, however, absolutely fun. This is definitely a movie for those nights where you don't want to be challenged, but you equally don't want to be insulted by blatant stereotype.
Oh, yes, it IS a love story. But it's the social commentary and the characters' felt angst along the way that makes you keep watching. The acting in almost every case contributes greatly to this need to stay tuned. Others have commented that Melissa Joan Hart is laughable here, but I don't see that. She perfectly captures a girl on the cool side of preppy.
If there's anything unsatisfying here, it's that the tension which builds between the two leads never sees real resolution. The pre-ordained ending simply happens. Though that ending makes sense, we're missing about one scene of confrontation in which that resolution can be worked out. Also, unlike AMERICAN PIE which is very clearly told from the perspective of teenagers, this film throughout feels as though it's made by adults trying to recreate their youths. This makes the film somewhat purer and less offensive than AMERICAN PIE, but it does take a great deal of that frenetic, sexual `edge' off.
These qualifications aside, DRIVE ME CRAZY is still worth a look, and maybe even a ponder or two.
[DVD NOTES: There's really nothing much extra on the DVD. Unless you just really like adding indiscriminately to your DVD collection, you should probably save a few dollars and get it on VHS.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This movie is adorable!, September 30, 2000
By 
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is absolutely adorable. It's a pretty accurate description of a teenager's life. I thought it would be some fluff filled movie, but it isn't. I had been told that this was a horrible movie, but it wasn't! It displays the insecurities we all have and our feelings of revenge. The cast did an absolutely suburb job of portraying the storyline. If you like watching "teen" flicks, this is for you! If you like to watch good movies, then this is for you! This is for any movie fan out there. Just check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now SHE's all that..., April 17, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have to say that I prefer this movie over many of the other teen movies--simply because of the character that Melissa Joan Hart played. I really liked the strong role model... Unlike another recent movie--She's All That, this character wasn't whiny, sad nor pathetic. She stood up for herself, she went after what she wanted, no excuses no apologizes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, August 10, 2002
By 
Kristy Marie (tampa, fl United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Britney sings the title track to this movie that Melissa Joan Hart satrs in.. relaly good teen flick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy a Clue, March 14, 2000
By A Customer
If you by any chance grew up in the eighties like me watching brat pack movies like Pretty In Pink and the Breakfast Club, you will love this movie. It is the best teen movie I have ever seen. Reviewers are trying too hard to make it into something its not. Of course its unrealistic. Hello. Since when are we anti-fantasy. 90210? Anyway, I went with three of my friends (all seniors in college) and we all agreed it was the best stuff of its kind that we've seen in ages. So rent it soon. The four of us have already made a date for the 14th to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, April 4, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drive Me Crazy (DVD)
This movie is really well done. Each scene flows nicely into the next, the dialogs are perfect, and the caracters are adorable. Just watch it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Drive Me Crazy
Drive Me Crazy by John Schultz (DVD - 2012)
$9.98 $6.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.