Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Informative as well as Entertaining!
We own the Rome and Turkey dvds of this series and LOVE them! Stotts is hilarious and packs alot of history into the three 30-minute episodes included on each dvd. Great supplement to your knowledge of world history as Stotts takes you to places you may never get to see in person. Our children range in age from 7 to 14 years and each one picks up interesting bits of...
Published on September 26, 2006 by T. Hubbell

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!
This DVD spends way too much time on footage of Stotts and windshield views of city streets, rather than the subject matter. The delivery is stale and definitely over the heads of 5th-8th graders. All in all, the subject matter is not presented well and the camera angles are terrible.
Published on September 14, 2006 by V. Alston


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Informative as well as Entertaining!, September 26, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
We own the Rome and Turkey dvds of this series and LOVE them! Stotts is hilarious and packs alot of history into the three 30-minute episodes included on each dvd. Great supplement to your knowledge of world history as Stotts takes you to places you may never get to see in person. Our children range in age from 7 to 14 years and each one picks up interesting bits of history at his own level of understanding--and enjoys the dvds immensely! We can't wait to get the rest of the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and educational, January 12, 2007
By 
Steven B. Rubinson (Racine, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
I like this series as much as if not more than my kids. This second disk of a series features Dave driving around in a Mini Cooper while presenting New Testament history in a way that worked for me and the kids. We have the first 2 disks, and will definitely buy the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality history program, March 5, 2008
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
Dave Stott's Drive Thru History products are all good. He's mixes in a great sense of humor which our kids love but also brings out some of the more interesting points of the history on how ideas and morals shaped the people and events of the area. I was left remembering much more about the history and order of events as a result. I wish he'd do more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, February 28, 2009
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
Great show, very informative and fun to watch. My only complaint is the episodes are not long enough! Dave does a great job of presenting history in a fun yet very educational way. This show is good for people of all ages, from children to adults and even seniors. I can't wait to get the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner in the Drive Thru History Series, February 28, 2011
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
Dave Stotts, along with Focus on the Family, Tyndale Publishers, and Coldwater Media, have produced yet another winner in the Drive Thru History Series. Greece is the Word is the second in the series and includes fascinating facts about Athens and Rome, among other places, divided into three segments of approximately a half hour each. Our family enjoyed seeing historical sites and learning, through well-done graphics, the history of several places that Paul traveled during his ministry. Dave does an excellent job of tying together pieces of the past with unearthed artifacts and preserved architecture and how it all combines with the historical accuracy of the Bible. One of our favorite things about the Drive Thru History series is the humor that Dave infuses into each segment, which makes learning fun! I would highly recommend this DVD for family movie night, homeschoolers, youth rallies, and anyone over 7 or 8 years old who loves history. I have added this DVD to my mom-approved movie list on my blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful addition to series, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
Love this dvd. We have all of the dvds in this series and enjoy them all. Dave Stotts is part of our family, it seems. He will make you laugh. Our kids love history because of this series. We are waiting for them to make more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drive Through History - Greece Is The Word, May 26, 2011
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
As the name implies, "Greece Is The Word" (obviously a joke directed towards the movie "Grease"), focuses on the history of ancient Greece. Contrary to an earlier reviewer, the DVD is easily understandable and I am giving the DVD 5 stars and doing my part to raise the overall rating to 5 stars.

The DVD lasts around 1 hour and 40 minutes and contains 3 main episodes:

1. Oracle at Delphi, Olympics, Alexander the Great.
2. Athens, Acropolis and Parthenon, Philosophers (Socrates, Plato, Aristotle), Mars Hill, Paul's Missionary Journeys.
3. Corinth, Corinth Canal, New Testament.

As with other Drive Through series, Dave Stotts does an excellent job of describing the site being visited and its importance. He mixes in good, clean humor, and reverence when appropriate. I particularly enjoyed his humorous take on the Oracle at Delphi.

Good for audiences of all ages.

Watch, enjoy, and learn more about Ancient Greece.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stotts makes traveling fun, February 9, 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
Stotts makes traveling fun. Anything he does is worth watching, especially if you are going to visit that place....in this case, Greece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 16, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!, September 14, 2006
This review is from: Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word (DVD)
This DVD spends way too much time on footage of Stotts and windshield views of city streets, rather than the subject matter. The delivery is stale and definitely over the heads of 5th-8th graders. All in all, the subject matter is not presented well and the camera angles are terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts #2: Greece And The Word
$22.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.