Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great motivation...sports fan or not
You will like this book much more if you are a Jordan worshipper, but there is also much to learn if you are not a Jordan fan or even a sports fan. This book is about how Jordan approaches life, basketball, and business. There are wonderful anecdotes from his mom, his agent, friends, and Nike executives. Regardless of what you think of Jordan, you will get something...
Published on December 27, 2005 by Spencer Brooks

versus
44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars one long ad for Nike and Brand Jordan
There is no one in sports that I love more than MJ, being a Bulls fan since the 1960s. I still love Michael, but this book was a supreme disappointment. By and large, it is an all too detailed history of the design and sales success of his shoes and newer clothing line, peppered with Michael's passages about being determined and "driven", which all ring true, but have...
Published on February 6, 2006 by Robert M. Setty


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars one long ad for Nike and Brand Jordan, February 6, 2006
This review is from: Driven from Within (Hardcover)
There is no one in sports that I love more than MJ, being a Bulls fan since the 1960s. I still love Michael, but this book was a supreme disappointment. By and large, it is an all too detailed history of the design and sales success of his shoes and newer clothing line, peppered with Michael's passages about being determined and "driven", which all ring true, but have been stated many times before and in better form. If you really want to learn about MJ, I would suggest Playing for Keeps by David Halberstam or The Golden Boys by Cameron Stauth, which profiles the members of the 1992 Olympic Dream Team. The profiles on MJ and the other team members are probably the best I have read on elite professional athletes. If you want some great photos and a book written by MJ, Rare Air is much better than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great motivation...sports fan or not, December 27, 2005
By 
This review is from: Driven from Within (Hardcover)
You will like this book much more if you are a Jordan worshipper, but there is also much to learn if you are not a Jordan fan or even a sports fan. This book is about how Jordan approaches life, basketball, and business. There are wonderful anecdotes from his mom, his agent, friends, and Nike executives. Regardless of what you think of Jordan, you will get something out of this book if you respect his work ethic. You will also realize that being true to who you are is very important in life, no matter how many people disagree with your decisions or criticize you. Maybe I read a little deeper into this book than most, but I thought it was great. Definitely worth the two hours it took to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a really good book, December 1, 2005
This review is from: Driven from Within (Hardcover)
I am not a sports fan in any sense, but I went to Borders with a friend and ended up reading the entire book in the store (she eventually left me). One of the reviewers mentioned how this book is about "brand Jordan", well of course. In the book he talks about how Brand Jordan is a reflection of who he is and how it is something that he stays true to. It is something that he grew from nothing, when people thought Basketball players endorsing shoes wouldn't be profitable. It actually mentioned how tennis players marketing shoes were the gold mine when he started. I am only twenty-five so that tidbit of information made me laugh, hard. There was a lot of reference to the shoes, but the shoes are what started brand Jordan. He talks about not being driven by opinion polls or marketing fads. There are interesting references to the technology behind making the shoes and the collaboration with Michael Jordan and his push to have a shoe that was stylish and functional. He wouldn't agree to anything that wasn't. Despite what advertisers have said I viewed shoes to be purely fuctional the idea of them being cutting edge technology totally missed me. I don't believe a lot of current sports stars or celebrities devote that kind attention to items they put their names on. In a culture that loves to give accolades to achievement and forget the work that went into making that achievement possible, this book serves as a reminder. Excellence is about pushing yourself, when it hurts, when people tell you that you are chasing the impossible dream, when maybe, just maybe, you think they are right. You need to push forward anyway. If you like stories about rising above the odds and laughing in the face of nay Sayers, this is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visually exquisite and an interesting read, October 29, 2005
By 
Diann Gordon (Carbondale, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Driven from Within (Hardcover)
***I have had the pleasure of being around Michael Jordan at various golf tournaments over the last several years, and while I do not pretend to "know" him, my perception of him coincides with the people who were featured in the book and who have known him for 20 years or more. Therefore, I found the information in the book quite authentic.
***One of the reviewers of this book said it reads more like an advertisement for Brand Jordan. I found the process related to the development of the brand and the coinciding events in Jordan's life to be revealing and a good read. Furthermore, I hope more people are aware of Brand Jordan, because printed on each shoe box and on each cardboard tag on Brand Jordan items is the message, "a portion of the proceeds from the purchase of Jordan products support educational initiatives." The Jordan Fundamental Education Grant program awards $2500 grants to teachers in impoverished schools. Buy Brand Jordan and you are supporting education.
***Despite how much one might think he/she knows about Michael Jordan, there were several new stories and accurate insights about stories we all have heard about. This is a beautifully done book; for those who read "For the Love of the Game," this book is laid out in a similar way but on a smaller scale. Original artwork, great photographs, and two well-placed pictorial fold outs, make this a unique book to look at. However, the insights of the people close to Michael Jordan regarding events in his life, and his perceptions of the same events, make the format of the book an interesting and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Michael Jordan Book!!!, April 17, 2006
By 
JB "JBH" (Durham, N.C.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Driven from Within (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of basketball as well as Michael Jordan and this book is just awesome! It gives a very good description of Michael Jordan's life, and how his life is put into his shoes.

The book tells of Michael Jordan's life with his family, throughout school, and of course throughout his whole basketball career. Many people think of Michael Jordan as a selfish basketball player, but when you get done with this book, you will think differently.

The book also has great pictures of Michael Jordan in his daily life, on the basketball court, and pictures of his shoes.

This is one of my personal favorite books!

I hope my review was helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much detail about the design of his shoe., September 18, 2006
This review is from: Driven from Within (Hardcover)
BUT, if you take anything out of this book, it's the fact that Jordan works harder than his peers, whether it was basketball or business. His inner drive and desire to succeed and give it his all is what I took away from the book. I would skim the parts on shoe design and focus mainly on his words and advice, especially on work ethic.

Note: I finished the book in 1 1/2 hrs in the bookstore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Advertisment/Book, October 25, 2005
This review is from: Driven from Within (Hardcover)
An easy starter book on MJ if you want to see what makes him tick. It's fitting more for a younger generation discovering MJ for the first time. But there's too little Jordan and too much Brand Jordan to make this a serious read. The good: creative layouts, multiple storytellers, learning about MJ's ethics and drives - it's good to read about the values of someone who achieved success through hard work and honor. BUT, the bad: rehashed pictures from previous books, limited insight into basketball due to MJ's self-conscious, business mindset and constant marketing of Brand Jordan disguised under his career - about half the book. It even uses the same font from the Brand Jordan print ads. This weighs the book down and makes it a huge disappointment. The title of the book should be, "Driving Brand Jordan" really. MJ's talent was singular but his shallowness as a powerful human being and corporate blandness is getting stale - and I'm his biggest fan. MJ needs to attach himself to something in this phase of his life because if he wants to mature with his fans, he can't just come out only to promote his brand. Now that his career is over and is untouchable, he needs to move into a direction that has depth. If MJ's message is how to achieve success, that is fine. But, he also radiates individual profiteering at all costs which is shallow. This book shows where he is after achieving that success. His priorities are running Brand Jordan, playing golf, racing motorcycles and protecting his legacy and companies. But he's missing out on the real potential he can achieve as a global icon. No one should say he should do this or that but MJ is so idolized, he should want to fulfill a human legacy to match his basketball legacy. In turn, it would grow his empire even more. MJ is in an unusual position practically unmatched by anyone - he's young, globally-recognized and has the world listening to him whenever he surfaces. Yet the only thing he has to say is work hard and buy my products. This is unsatisfying. Hopefully, in ten years or so, he'll get bored and want to use his power in ways unrelated to pure profit. If you want to read about MJ's mind or go really into his world, buy the best books about him: "Jordan, The Man, His Words, His Life", "Rebound - The Odyssey of Michael Jordan" and "Blood on the Horns".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demons will rattle your cage, May 16, 2010
This review is from: Driven from Within (Paperback)
Michael Jordan, the living sports icon and now that Tiger has been disgraced, the primary upholder of the Nike brand, is also profound living testament that even with modest talent, relentless determination is the only asset that can turn modest talent into world-class perfection. He is a man who has always lived (and pushed himself from) inside his own head. He understood at an early age and at a deep intuitive level that the war of success is an inner war, an intra-personal war, a war within ones self: Fear, doubt, insecurities, and limited abilities are the demons that rattled his cage and that will always rattle the cages in our own heads.

Michael listened to his demons (as we all must) but did the required work anyway, both mentally and physically, without cutting corners, and without whining or failing to realize that the world is not always fair. Then he bided his time and waited for the work to take care of the results. His skill, work ethic, personal style, competiveness and philosophy, like that of the great track star Michael Johnson, propelled him to higher and higher success on the basketball court and then in his life more generally. Johnson had a slightly different formula for slaying the dragon: He was more cerebral than Jordan. In addition to hard work, Johnson suggested that success requires a detailed plan to go along with consistent hard work. Johnson believes that a plan, ones own inner scorecard, is as important an element as hard work is in keeping the demons at bay.

Written three years after his final retirement, this is Michael Jordan's story, told very much in a philosophical and introspective tone and aimed primarily at those young inner city denizens, the court magicians of the ghetto, who might think that there are easy routes to self-affirmed glory that will propel them into the NBA on talent alone. Mike's message to them is not unlike the same message given by Johnson: It is to stop talking and dreaming and keep your head down and begin doing the hard work; for everything worth having involves hard work. There are no easy routes to a successful or to a fulfilling life, no matter what is the area of endeavor. There are no shortcuts. Sociology is as difficult as Physics; track and boxing are as difficult as basketball. The journey is the message and also curiously is the whole of the game. The gold (and the goal) are the gravy. One must love the journey to have (or love) the success. The gold (and the goal) are in the joy of seeing oneself grow and develop, and be seen improving oneself. Said differently, the pot of gold is not just to be found at the end of the rainbow. The upshot of the book is that in all but the most rare of instances, success is simply a byproduct of blood, sweat, tears and often a lot of disappointment. People are what they do, not what they talk about, or their unfulfilled daydreams. Everyone's cage will be rattled on the route so success.

There is a lot of meat here, and plus, it is beautifully written. Five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get all the positve you can...we all need it., December 7, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Driven from Within (Hardcover)
No matter how you look at it. As the other reviewers also say, "Brand Jordan". But you know that if they were in the same position as MJ, they would do exactly the same. Maybe not to the precise point...but close enough. Yes, this book has his branding, his shoes, how it all came to path. I kind of liked the "production" of how his shoe designer(s) were thinking. But then again I come from the same design type industry. My two cents is...you can see what makes this person one of the great ones in our time. Why he's driven. If you read between the lines, you might get some motivation. You might get some positive things. But the choice is yours. Closed minded? or Open minded? Bottom line, we all need something positive inside.

Be water, my friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for fans, May 26, 2011
This review is from: Driven from Within (Paperback)
This book is inspiring. It tells the story of Michael Jordan's life. He explains everything he had to work for, and tells about his successes and failures.

This book included strong motivational words of wisdom. Michael Jordan tells the readers what he did to be successful, and how his family was a big part of his life, to reflect on how his work ethics were based upon his parents expectations. Michael Jordan knew he was going to become a somebody, and hard work pays off. He now owns his own clothing brand, is in advertisements, and is part-owner of an NBA team. What he did on the "now" sense of time paid off for the future; he created a new era of basketball, he created a new style, and changed minds and thoughts for young kids to work hard.

This book is also special, because every page is a different pattern on what Michael Jordan likes. He is an American idol because he does not let any person tell him to do anything he does not want too- - his goals and desires created a monster.

Some reviews also agree with me on the way he put his words into a book, creating a different style of speech, keeping the reader digging more, and more into the book. If you're a reader who enjoys rags to riches stories with great pictures and text, then "Driven from Within" is the book for you, it's a book you can't stop reading. I would give this 4 stars because I love basketball and Michael Jordan.

Senior English Student 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Driven from Within
Driven from Within by Michael Jordan (Hardcover - October 24, 2005)
Used & New from: $8.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.