Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A baseball book about its community... and, of course, about Yogi Berra
A lot of baseball books (and gosh, it seems like I've read a lot of them lately) put a lot of attention on the game itself: balls and strikes, who won, and the mindset that helps a champion (individual or team) deliver a lasting result. The better books are about the people behind the game: the hardships they endure to reach the major leagues (such as Bottom of the 33rd:...
Published on March 16, 2012 by Esther Schindler

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two Yankee greats bond in "father-son" relationship
Since 2000, former Yankees pitcher Ron Guidry has been Yogi Berra's personal chauffeur and virtual caretaker during spring training. The two have a father and son relationship. In fact, Guidry is only a few months younger than Berra's oldest son. The two, who first met in 1976, bonded as Yankees, share similar personal values and were driven during these careers by...
Published on March 1, 2012 by Barry Sparks


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A baseball book about its community... and, of course, about Yogi Berra, March 16, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
A lot of baseball books (and gosh, it seems like I've read a lot of them lately) put a lot of attention on the game itself: balls and strikes, who won, and the mindset that helps a champion (individual or team) deliver a lasting result. The better books are about the people behind the game: the hardships they endure to reach the major leagues (such as Bottom of the 33rd: Hope, Redemption, and Baseball's Longest Game), or the conversations that happen on the field (such as Just Play Ball by Joe Garagiola). Araton's "Driving Mr. Yogi: Yogi Berra, Ron Guidry, and Baseball's Greatest Gift" falls into this category.

Driving Mr Yogi isn't exactly a biography, but in many ways it reads like one. The framework for the Harvey Araton's reporting is a long-standing tradition wherein longtime Yankee pitcher Ron Guidry picks up Yogi Berra at the airport before spring training, and essentially is his companion during those weeks in Florida. In the process of sharing the story about how _that_ friendship came to be, Araton gives us vignettes into the lives of many well-known baseball personalities and does some sincerely entertaining tale-swapping. (One of them: Berra talking about a game against the White Sox in which the first four batters reached base on four pitches -- single, hit by pitch, double, and home run. "On his way to the mound, manager Casey Stengel met Berra halfway and asked how [the pitcher's] stuff looked. 'How the hell would I know?' Berra said. 'I haven't caught one yet.'") I'm not sure we can feel we are sitting in the locker room listening to Yogi, but at least we can pretend we are.

Yogi Berra is a sterling choice as emblem of baseball because he has, after all, been through so much of it. (As a rookie, he crossed paths with Babe Ruth. He played against Jackie Robinson.) You probably expect the book to be peppered with Yogi-isms, both old ("In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they're not") and new... and indeed there are a _few_ of these. (My favorite: Yogi's at a Yankees Old-Timer's day, saddened by the loss of old teammates. Turning to Whitey Ford, "while the list of that year's deceased scrolled down the scoreboard, Berra had confided, 'Boy, I hope I never see my name up there.'")

Mainly, though, it's about Yogi's life, as measured by the lives he has touched. The book talks about the time that Yogi spent with Jorge Posada, "to take on the job of making Posada *want* to catch, of making him believe he could contribute behind the plate as much as he could while standing alongside it with a bat in his hands," such as calling fewer fastballs. We find out about the 14-year period during which Yogi refused to go to Yankee stadium (which I missed, as it was before the time I cared about baseball). We get quite a bit of insight into Guidrey, too, and snippets of others' background. Just about everybody comes across as a Nice Guy.

But primarily this is how Yogi _is_, and what he means to the Yankees and to baseball. It's sweet and entertaining... though a little goes a long way. I read this book in spurts (actually I have a chapter or two left) because, however WayCool Berra is, at times the admiration is just a little too deep. It feels as though I'm reading a very long eulogy, and I refuse to acknowledge that Yogi Berra can leave us.

If the book seems a little heavy-handed towards the Yankees... Well, who can blame it? But as a fervent Diamondbacks fan, I can tell you it's just as enjoyable a book if you wear Sedona Red rather than pinstripes. I liked the book, and I think you will, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, March 15, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I don't care if you are a baseball fan, a Yankee fan or neither....if you like books about human beings, that's all you need to love this book. Great storytelling - funny, warm, touching, insightful. Two great Yankee icons sharing time together and you're right there. Two human beings from different generations sharing time together - and you're right there. Classy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It ain't over ..., March 18, 2012
By 
WryGuy2 (Out On Life's Journey) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
"Driving Mr. Yogi", by Harvey Araton, tells of the friendship that developed between former Yankees greats Yogi Berra and Ron Guidry. Guidry first met Berra while Guidry was a player for the Yankees and Berra was a coach. While Berra helped Guidry as a player at that time, it wasn't until much later, after they had both retired, that the friendship began. Both former players were coming to Florida as Spring Training instructors when Guidry volunteered to pick Berra up at the airport. Little did he realize that taking care of Berra during the spring would become an annual labor of love.

The relationship between Guidry and Berra is written primarily through Guidry's eyes. Although there are also anecdotes in both men's lives that don't involve the other, such as when George Steinbrenner apologized to Berra for the way he fired him, ending 15 years of estrangement between the two, the meat of the book revolves around Guidry and the aging Berra. Yogi comes off as a gentle curmudgeon, fixed in his ways and somewhat demanding of his friends, although a good man with a gentle heart. In my opinion, Guidry is actually the "star" of the book, looking out for Berra and asking nothing in return but Yogi's friendship.

The book is well written, and a quick, easy read. While baseball is the common denominator between the two and the backdrop of the story, the rapport between the two men is the real heart of the book. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming bromance, March 3, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The term bromance is defined as a relationship of love and affection between two men that is non-sexual in nature. There have been several depictions in entertainment, but this book is about a deep bromance that can bring tears to your eyes, the one between baseball greats Yogi Berra and Ron Guidry. According to sabermetrician Bill James, Yogi is the greatest catcher of all time, yet he is so many other things. Yogi is likely the most beloved man in sports, partly due to the great quotes attributed to him but also because he is so unassuming. Despite his greatness as a player, coach and manager, Yogi doesn't consider himself to be special, making him somewhat unusual among athletes.
Ron "Gator" Guidry is the same way, despite an incredible run that is comparable to that of Sandy Koufax, and being a part of what was called the "Bronx zoo", Yankee teams, Guidry never let his head rise too far over his shoulders. Although Yogi is old enough to be his father, Gator and Yogi became the closest of friends with Guidry looking after Yogi during several spring training seasons through the slow but inexorable decline in Yogi's physical condition.
The relationship between the two men and the descriptions of how the two men interact is one that will bring tears to your eyes. Guys will understand the affection that is expressed when you call your buddy an SOB or something equally demeaning in other contexts. One of the best instances is when Guidry yells out in public at Yogi, calling him a "dirty old man." Yogi's reaction was to grin and take it as a compliment.
Great and humble men can be successful at sports; Berra and Guidry are two existence proofs that this is possible. While this is a book about baseball, it is really about male bonding, the kind that leads to a Best Buddy for Life, where you can love each other and aid each other, yet it has no sexual connotation at all. Many men that read this book will be jealous because they do not have a relationship like the one depicted here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two Yankee greats bond in "father-son" relationship, March 1, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Since 2000, former Yankees pitcher Ron Guidry has been Yogi Berra's personal chauffeur and virtual caretaker during spring training. The two have a father and son relationship. In fact, Guidry is only a few months younger than Berra's oldest son. The two, who first met in 1976, bonded as Yankees, share similar personal values and were driven during these careers by proving other people wrong. Berra, 85, of course, is one of the last surviving members of the great Yankee teams from the 40s, 50s and 60s.

Guidry is attentive to Berra and enthusiastically took on responsibility for the Yankee legend. He seriously tries to make Berra comfortable and happy. He treats Berra with reverence and respect. Guidry calls Berra "the most loved man in America."

Berra's son, Larry, says "Yogi loves everyone as long as you are trustworthy and loyal." Long-time Yankee trainer Gene Monahan adds, "Yogi is the kindest and most human individual I've ever met."

Guidry is protective of Berra and truly looks out for him. It's sad when Berra, 85, announces he'll no longer wear his uniform during spring training or sit in the dugout. But he loves to be around the game and around Guidry.

Besides the relationship between Guidry and Berra, author Harvey Araton also covers their backgrounds. Araton trods a lot of familiar terrority, including Berra's 14-year spat with Yankees owner George Steinbrenner.

Driving Mr. Yogi, however, is no Tuesdays with Morrie. Araton says a 1,500-word article he wrote the New York Times about the relationship between Guidry and Berra was the impetus for the book. I believe the topic made a better newspaper article than a 210-page book. Readers who can't get enough of the New York Yankees and their legends, however, will probably enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough substance for a book, May 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As one who loves Yogi and the Yankees, this book disappoints a bit. Although much of the first half is warm, charming, funny and heartfelt, there is just not enough material here for a book. It would have made a great magazine article!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Marvelous, Charming and Humorous Book!!, March 16, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Driving Mr. Yogi is one of the most delightful, fun books I have had the pleasure of reading, EVER. This is an extremely well-written and knowledgeable account of the beloved Yankees' Hall of Fame iconic catcher and his friendship with also legendary Yankees' pitcher, Ron Guidry. The two became friends when Guidry became a Yankee and over the years have maintained a close friendship and kinship. Filled with anecdotes and thought-provoking accounts of the 'rituals of Spring-training' as Guidry annually picks up Yogi from the airport at the onset of training camp for pitchers and catchers, this book is utterly charming. Even if you are not a die-hard, long-time Yankee fan (like this reviewer is), if you appreciate baseball and its lore and legends, you will certainly enjoy this story. Filled with behind-the-scenes glimpses of some of the most revered names in Yankee history, both past and present, this book brings a marvelous start to the baseball season and is a book to treasure for all seasons. The author, Harvey Araton, has done a simply masterful job of keenly assessing and presenting the long-time close friendship of Berra and Guidry, and his extraordinary baseball knowledge and love of the sport lends itself beautifully to the telling of this quite special tale. It is an intimate, revealing portrait not only of Berra and Guidry, but of the fabric of the game itself, filled with glimpses of the sport rarely seen by those outside.

Driving Mr. Yogi is a keenly perceptive slice of baseball Americana, honoring one of the most beloved figures in sports history, and his close friendship with a Cajun southpaw pitcher that had a pretty darned great career, himself. In baseball parlance, author Harvey Araton has clearly belted one out of the park with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A special book about a baseball friendship, March 6, 2012
By 
Donald Capone "Donald Capone" (Hastings on Hudson, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The title Driving Mr. Yogi comes from the the fact that Ron Guidry, former Yankees ace of the 70s and 80s, fell into the routine of picking up Hall of Fame catcher Yogi Berra from the airport at the start of Spring Training in 1999 when Berra returned to the Yankees family after ending a bitter feud with owner George Steinbrenner. That routine has lasted to this day. Not only does Guidry drive Mr. Berra around, but he takes care of the elderly Yankees legend, dining with him, making sure he gets to the ballpark on time, etc. This closeness over the years has developed into a sort of father/son relationship of love and trust. And neither one of them would want it any other way.

Driving Mr. Yogi is reminiscent of Teammates by David Halberstam which chronicled the road trip Johnny Pesky and Dom DiMaggio took to see their old friend Ted Williams for possibly the last time at his home in Florida. Like that book, Driving Mr. Yogi is about friendship. Not only the friendship that has developed between the different-generation Yankees, Guidry and Berra, but the friendships that they forged with their teammates over the years, the special bonds that world champion athletes share. With Driving Mr. Yogi, we get a taste of that, and get to share some of their old stories and inside jokes.

Author Harvey Araton originally wrote an article about this subject for the New York Times, and has now expanded it into a book. We get to know more about the private life of Ron Guidry, his Louisiana roots, and his flair for cooking frog legs. We get to know a little more about the legendary Yogi Berra too, but mostly we are reminded of how important he is to the world of baseball (and not just the Yankees). He is a living bridge to old-time baseball. This is a man who played alongside DiMaggio, Mantle, Ford, and Elston Howard. He played against Ted Williams, Roy Campanella, and Jackie Robinson. He had his photo taken with Babe Ruth! We are reminded that he is, indeed, a treasure.

You don't have to be a Yankees fan to enjoy and appreciate Driving Mr. Yogi. If you love baseball, the nostalgia of it, and the respect players have for each other, then you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new appreciation for the meaning of Yankee blue pinstripes., February 26, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Yes there are Yogi-isms, yes there are stories of Yankee folklore; but this book is about a unique friendship of two men, bound by their shared New York baseball values. The author details the father-son, coach-player, brother-brother, southerner to northerner (Yankees alike), family friend to friend, and many other ways Ron Guidry and Yogi Berra are bound together. The insight author Harvey Araton recounts is akin to the stories you would expect to hear listening to two war veterans reminiscing.

Everybody loves Yogi, always have. And it pains me to say this as a devote Chicago White Sox fan, but now I can love Ron Guidry too. It is not that he ever did anything hateful, except be such a fierce competitor that I could not watch my home team inevitably lose to this great pitcher time after time, but in "Driving Mr. Yogi" we get insight into what a great man Mr. Guidry really is. His humanity and love for baseball, and more directly for Yogi Berra dwarfs his accomplishments on the field. The author details the close relationship Berra and Guidry developed over the years, always focusing on a love for the Yankees. Guidry's unselfish friendship and reverence for Berra is remarkable and admirable.

After reading this book, I wonder how many years Guidry prolonged Mr. Berra's life - the way he looked after him when Steinbrenner brought Yogi back into the Yankee fold, and the joy Guidry brought to Berra's life. In an era of high priced players, banned drug infractions, and cynical fans, this book is a reminder of what is right with baseball.

Driving Mr. Yogi is a quick, inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great quick summertime read *** 1/2, April 1, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Driving Mr. Yogi by Harvey Araton may not be the kind of book you can't put down, but it is definitely the kind you have to keep picking up. This makes it the perfect book for that summer vacation, by the pool, on the plane or at the beach.
It is the story of Yogi Berra's return to the Yankees after a fourteen year self imposed exile, due to the way he was fired as manager by owner George Steinbrenner. It covers his reconciliation with Steinbrenner, his triumphant return to the fans and Yankee stadium, and then to putting back on the pinstripes and joining in spring training. Each segment of this story is full of great moments of the game...past and present, little known trivia, and of course Yogi-isms. It is told through the relationship of Yogi and Ron Guidry (legendary Yankee pitcher)... being constant companions in Yogi's new role at the Yankees' spring training each year. Their relationship to the game, the Yankees, and each other, is the stuff of great sports stories.

This is a light, fun, but moving book, and a must read for any baseball fan...especially if your a Yankee fan like me! Since I'm a relative newcomer to baseball, all this stuff is very entertaining to me..enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Driving Mr. Yogi: Yogi Berra, Ron Guidry, and Baseball's Greatest Gift
$13.95 $5.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.