Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a political scandal of the highest order
After the first few chapters of Drone, I was hooked! A former CIA operative (Troy Pearce) now owns his own team and his very snazzy gadgets- unmanned aerial vehicles that have precision down to the inch. In many ways, they are more like flying robots than the UAVs we think of. Pearce hires his group out for various... missions. The joy of the drones is that it keeps...
Published 11 months ago by T. L. Armitage

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Author Knows His Facts But Story Still Rather Flat
The story revolves around a small high tech research company headed by a Captain Midnight type character who is called upon to pull the President's chestnuts out of the fire and defeat an unwitting coalition of Russian, Iranians and Mexicans. he pulls it off with the help of about 12 people all named in a useful list in the preface. Who knew that's all we needed? The...
Published 13 months ago by Bonner '62


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulls you in from page one!, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drone (A Troy Pearce Novel) (Hardcover)
Mike Maden paints a compelling picture of a world in which conventional war as we know it has faded from view. Though at first an unwilling hero, Troy Pearce (part commando and part techno-genius) becomes the long arm of the law, dispensing justice to those we all wish would vacate our planet. Of course, along the way we see far too many complexities of justice and politics to think this will be an easy or total fix. It certainly won't be a pleasant one. Amidst the occasional blacks and whites of Maden's world are many more greys, and we can't help but question our tendency to cheer for the violent solutions.

The characters are well-developed, with enough back story given when needed, but not so much that we lose sight of the action. The plot twists and turns quite a bit, so hang on. I found myself re-reading a bit of the more detailed accounts of the political elements, but considering this was written by a man with a poli-sci PhD, I'd conclude that he only scratched the surface. Good choice, that. We know enough to accept the political maze, but don't quite feel like we're drinking from a fire hydrant somewhere on Pennsylvania Avenue. And never fear, because just when you thought you were getting either a technical or political crash course, Maden mixes in some good 'ol blood and guts. And fire. And explosions. Oh yeah...something for everybody.

Can't wait to see where the wind will take Troy and his flock of drones next. In any case, we won't see it coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy, November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is nothing in it. Very easy writing with improbable situations. Not really description of any characters
Certainly not recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A drones-eye view of "Drones", November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drone (A Troy Pearce Novel) (Hardcover)
As if viewing the brave new world of drones through a drone, "Drone" gave me a clear picture of the amazing variety and capacity of drones, and their potential for good, both for information gathering and for surgical strikes. The book didn't go much into scenarios of drones in the hands of bad guys. It explored how the world of U.S. politics might deal with our own laws as we launch strikes against our terrorist and drug cartel enemies operating on Central and South American soil. It is an "edge of your seat" thriller, a page-turner as much as a Joel Rosenberg or Frank Peretti novel, with the exception that it had a few pages of pornography that nearly made me lay the book aside, as well as gratuitous obscenities sprinkled throughout. One takeaway is that as we reflect on the protection from tyranny given us by our Second Amendment, we must realize how ineffective mere semi automatic weapons are against drones that can pinpoint where you are and hover outside your window for a clear shot, operated by bureaucrats lounging in safe bunkers miles, or nations away. It is interesting, and probably appropriate, that as terrorism has reduced our military targets from large organized identifiable armies to networks of individuals, drones and their related technology have given our nation the ability to identify, locate, and surgically strike those individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Technothriller, December 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written with good technical back-up. Action is reasonable, not too overdone. Maybe we have someone who can fill the void left by the passing of Vince Flynn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written and the subject matter is a great way to explore the future of drones and how they will impact our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads like tomorrow's headlines., October 31, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Crisfield, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drone (A Troy Pearce Novel) (Hardcover)
A rare page-turner that raises the serious moral consequences of a remote-controlled, push-button, "clean" war. A thriller in the vein of Clancy and Coonts.

Maden's knowledge of technology is impressive. Who knew there were so many types of drones with such a variety of capabilities?

What makes this book is the author's grasp of the politics and interplay of nation states, industrialists and drug cartels. I especially appreciate the fact that Maden doesn't choose a partisan "side" when to do so would be so easy.

DRONE's Troy Pearce holds out the promise of many future adventures. If I could, I'd place my order now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ready for the Big Screen, December 3, 2013
This review is from: Drone (A Troy Pearce Novel) (Hardcover)
Mike Maden's DRONE reads like a movie--tightly edited scenes shift across the globe as world leaders, drug kings, and spies jostle for power and vengeance. Our hero Troy Pearce, CIA agent turned private security contract killer, wields the ferocious force of a 21st century arsenal against the enemy. Primary weapon of choice? The drone, a silent, roving warrior manifesting our most thrilling--and perhaps disturbing--science fiction fantasies of artificial intelligence: thinking, manipulating, spying, annihilating. The drones join a full cast awaiting materialization on the big screen (and in future novel installments): Among them, capable President Margaret Myers, a memorable team of Israeli husband-wife operatives, the minacious Islamic terrorist Ali, two dangerously lusty sons of a Mexican drug lord, and a whale-loving surfer who serves as Pearce's UUV (unmaned underwater vehicle) operator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, November 2, 2013
Interesting premise, main characters reasonably well developed although if (as seems to be suggested) this becomes a series, more individual characterizations would be necessary.

The plotline worked, the political issues were used effectively without being too detailed and the technology was presented in a believable format, again without so much detail it interfered with the storyline.

Overall, a good first book and I would definitely try a second in the series if that happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drones Rule The Day!, January 11, 2014
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book's story begins in El Paso,Texas. A hummer pulls up at an evet. Two gunmen step out of the hummer and kills several attendees with machine guns.
One of the casualties is the son of the President of the United States,Ryan Martinez. Through a thorough investigation it is found that the murders were pulled off by the two sons of Cesar Castillo,one of the biggest lords in Mexico. After discussion with President Margaret Myers the Mexican government makes
the decision two bring in the twin sons of Cesar Castillo. While the Mexican Marines are traveling to the home of Castillo they follow a cattle truck into
a tunnel. The cattle truck is packed with napalm. The truck explodes killing the Marines. President Myers decides to call upon an outside source to get justice. Troy Pearce who owns Pearce Systems is called into action. One of Castillo's sons Aguilles Castillo is terminated by a mosquito drone. The death looks like an anuerism. Ali Abdi is the chief of security of the Castillo family. He is secretly a Quds officer from Iran. He is is concert with President Titov from Russia. The Castillo clan(with the planning help of Ali Abdi) keep trying to fight the Americans. Pearce is called upon to terminate 14 targets.
After Pearce does this there is no Castillo organization left. Victor Bravo then becomes the top drug dealer in Mexico. The Bravos trigger a huge explosion in the Houston Ship Channel. To say the least there is a nationwide manhunt for Ali Abdi. the narcos with the help of Iranians continue terrorist attacks
against the United States. The United States finally handles the forces of evil. It makes a perfect ending. I hope this author does more stories. This book was thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie style action, entertaining for all...., December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drone (A Troy Pearce Novel) (Hardcover)
Action packed and great exposure to the possibilities drones present to those who are not so tech savvy (me!). Many technical elements, but not so much that I was bogged down in the details. Really enjoyed Myers and Pearce, looking forward to where the next book takes them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Drone (A Troy Pearce Novel)
Drone (A Troy Pearce Novel) by Mike Maden (Hardcover - October 22, 2013)
$26.95 $19.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.