Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 11, 2009
The author outlines how many modern drugs prescribed for long term, continuous use operate in the body. Most of these work by blocking or inhibiting some otherwise normal biological functionality, rather than addressing the underlying cause of the symptoms. His main, oft repeated point is that if a car's oil or warning light comes on, interrupting or inhibiting the light doesn't fix the underlying problem even though it shuts off that pesky, insistent warning lamp. If you are on any long term drugs that are supposed to alleviate or prevent certain common ailments, you should at least know how that drug works and what it will do to you in the long run. This book with certainly tell you most of that for most such commonly prescribed families of drugs. He also outlines diet and lifestyle changes as well as nutritional means to achieve better or the same results as most of these drugs are advertised to do, but with none of the bad side effects.
0Comment|97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2010
This is an incredible book and needs to be in every household. It is shocking how doctors compromise their profession and their patients' health by continuing to prescribe these poisons. Dr. Isaac Jennings had much success prescribing placebos and fasting in his practice. Dr. Joel Yaffa recently reported that he had practiced medicine for 12 years before he started learning information other than what drug representatives were feeding him. As a nurse, this book has made me see my profession from a different perspective. Get a copy of this book, get several copies.
0Comment|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
This book clearly explains the primary difference between the medical and alternative approaches to certain physical ailments. It identifies the dangers of the medical approach and the benefits of the alternative way of managing certain conditions. It is most striking that this information is presented by an M.D.. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has been struggling to attain better health and not having much success while taking prescription medication.

I purchased a used copy of this book from rsovmo and want to say I highly recommend their services. The condition of this book was as described and it was delivered in a timely manner. The packaging was impeccable and the sender included a personal note thanking me for my business.
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
I liked every chapter of this book. I have patients suffering from many of the side effects that Dr. Brownstein lists. There are certainly better ways to treat them. Treat the whole person not just the symptom.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2010
This is a great book and a must read for anyone taking medication or anyone who has family or friend on medication. It's an eye opener.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
This book has been a great help. I'm trying to get off the "Prescription cascade", where you take one prescription and when you get side effects, take another one, etc.
No good. He has some very practical solutions to this dilemma.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2010
This book presents clear opinions on the evils of using drug prescriptions too much. The reasoning is not always complete and the writing a bit repetitious, but the case is compelling.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
simple to read, easy to understand, great help. would recommend it to anyone interested in finding alternatives to medications that do not work
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2013
This is one of the best books that I have ever read. Very informative and has helped me a lot with information concerning my diabetes and other ailments.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
This book was full of interesting therapies that I had not heard of before ... I would rather use natural cures than drugs, when possible. It arrived in a timely manner and was in perfect condition. It will be a great addition to my library.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.