Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book with unique content
I have purchased over a dozen books about Drupal, and this one ranks among the top. It truly focuses on "The Essentials" of Drupal 7, as the title promises, and organizes its subjects in an impressively logical order. For a bonus, the author/publisher's website provides more than 40 tutorial videos, an impressive array of articles for developers, and an up-to-date...
Published on December 25, 2011 by Aaron M. Cohen

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, but not Great
A very good book for beginners with lots of practical examples and exercises. The logical flow of the book is spot on; the author does a very good job of transitioning from one topic to the next with each chapter building on the previous. I only wish that there were more excercises with thoroughly documented solutions. It would also help if each chapter had a high level...
Published on November 11, 2012 by Dr SCSI


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book with unique content, December 25, 2011
By 
Aaron M. Cohen (Los Angeles, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drupal 7: the Essentials (Paperback)
I have purchased over a dozen books about Drupal, and this one ranks among the top. It truly focuses on "The Essentials" of Drupal 7, as the title promises, and organizes its subjects in an impressively logical order. For a bonus, the author/publisher's website provides more than 40 tutorial videos, an impressive array of articles for developers, and an up-to-date blog.

The book is especially appropriate for beginner-to-intermediate Drupal developers. Several other Drupal books about Drupal 7, or with Drupal 7 sections, seem to have been published too early to provide accurate and complete information about Drupal 7. In contrast, this book is quite up-to-date about version 7's changes and new functionalities.

The book is a must-have for people creating news and documentation sites and portals; the author includes extensive practice exercises developing two mock sites--a "Documentation" site, and a "News" site. Specific guidance about these two types of sites are lacking in most other Drupal books.

The book's only weakness (English version) is its lack of having been adequately proofread. There are many grammatical errors. However, because because of how informative and compelling the book is, and because the author and publisher are Swedish and the translation seems to have been done digitally - I was able to forgive all the typos and make sense of most grammatical errors. Being patient with these translation glitches will pay off for you.

While this book is not as extensive and complete as the must-have "The Definitive Guide to Drupal 7," nor as advanced as "Drupal 7 Fields/CCK" -- I heartily recommend adding this book to your library and visiting its Website. You will have a top-notch basic reference book with hours of related video lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, but not Great, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very good book for beginners with lots of practical examples and exercises. The logical flow of the book is spot on; the author does a very good job of transitioning from one topic to the next with each chapter building on the previous. I only wish that there were more excercises with thoroughly documented solutions. It would also help if each chapter had a high level overview that described the purpose of a particular setting, although the practical exercises are worth 10,000 words in explanations. Unfortunately, the author's native language isn't English, and there are numerous gramatical errors which can make the book difficult to read at times. The editor of the book definitely did not earn his keep. The most irritating aspect of this book is the fact that it has you reference the author's website for additional information and solutions to some of the exercises; BUT THE LINKS ARE NO LONGER VALID. If you go to the website, there is lots of additional information, but you can't see how it relates back to the chapters of the book and the exercises. The website really looks like a work in progress, and if you use the contact links, you will get no response. I would have given the book only two stars due to the failed website, but the book itself is written well enough to get you through most of the material and desrving of at least three stars on its own merit. If the website would have provided the necessary glue to solidify my knowledge in Drupal, I would have given the book five stars. Currently, I would recommend this book as a starter to Drupal, in conjuction with another book that shows you advanced topics and simultaneously fills in the remaining blanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect, September 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drupal 7: the Essentials (Paperback)
I recommend this book to anyone newer to and working with Drupal 7. nodeone.se is a Drupal agency that hosts all of the video training that Johann has produced about Drupal. Johann does an excellent job explaining all of the concepts introduced here. I also recommend going directly to their website as companion to this written training.

there were some minor editorial errors but overall a great value!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drupal has a steep learning curve, this book is a boost, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is of the kindle version.

I am experienced PHP programmer. I'm comfortable with MySQL and pgSQL. JQuery is my friend. But somehow frameworks and framework based systems make me uncomfortable. Drupal is all that. Familiar and scary all at once.

"The Essentials" was just what I needed. It covers things in an order and organization that makes sense. I usually use a book like this as a reference. Read a bit here, look up something there, leaf through looking for ideas (flipping through on kindle, that is). So I was surprised to find myself reading it straight-through cover-to-cover and enjoying the experience. It was just the leg-up that I needed.

To be sure the book has some rough edges in translation and editing, but they do not detract from the helpfulness of this book in learning the lay of the Drupal landscape.

For me this book was indeed "essential"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, videos are good, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is very good. It explains you how to use drupal step by step. I searched lots of Drupal book and eventually chose this one. Author's english is not that good, because english is not his first language, but still it is fully comprehensible. Thanks to Mr. Falk, and hope he will make more interesting videos about Drupal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thx Mr Falk, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drupal 7: the Essentials (Paperback)
This guy is a legend! I watch his online tutorials and have learnt to set up websites just from him! Thx😄😄😄😄
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Try elsewhere, May 31, 2013
By 
LOL with this one - very shallow and doesn't begin to give a working demonstration and introduce Drupal concepts at a level that can be taken away and productively used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Drupal 7: the Essentials
Drupal 7: the Essentials by Johan Falk (Paperback - June 30, 2011)
$35.00 $30.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.