Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Duchess Honey Buns - 12/ 3 oz.
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars45
Price:$17.47+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 6, 2010
These honey buns are delicious, definitely better than Little Debbie's version. Warm or room temperature their tasty, and soft. Amazon's pricing is too high, when you can get the same amount from Sam's for less than $5.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
i did not have to microwave these because they were just delicious the way they came. they were very fresh and to my liking. for me these were very very good at room temperature or cold. the texture was very pleasing and i enjoyed eating them. they were packaged properly for the shipping. i would love to see a lot more fresh products like this on the website that we can order and get delivered right to our home. it helps some of us who can't get out and drive right now to the stores. thank you.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
THE BEST HONEY BUN you can buy!

About 30 years ago I worked a short time for the company that manufacture the Duchess Honey Bun, I delivered these tasty treats to local stores by the thousands so I had a thousand or so with-in reach everyday in the back of my van ( talk about self control...); I was in Honey Bun Heaven.
Shortly after leaving the company I developed a huge craving for these things. Being the honey bun expert that I am I have always tried to find a better tasting Honey bun as these can be hard to find. I can tell you nothing compares! After 30 years of looking I can say the Duchess ( Carolina Foods) Honey bun is the best Honey Bun in the business!
The value ( taste vs price) makes these an incredible bargain!
You just got to try a box...
Highly Recommended!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
These things are FANTASTIC! You can taste the real honey. Moist, too, and large. With huge shipping charge, it looks expensive but open Windows calculator. Price is okay if you divide it by 12. I came here today and just bought another case!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
Because these are individually wrapped, the "honey" frosting is sticky. That is the ONLY negative. These are absolutely delicious; great cake and the frosting is a perfect compliment. I can't think of anything better with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk. Dieters, beware...these are addictive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
I was really surprised how fresh these buns were, and absolutely great
with a cup of coffee. It made my blood glucose go up a bit so I started
eating 1/2 in morning. I'd say, "try it, you may just like it folks".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Terrible taste and terribly bad for you. But a wonderful back story.

The three ounce honey bun runs 340 calories, 15 grams of fat, and 210 milligrams of sodium; that’s roughly the same as you'd get from one and a half Snickers bars. And that’s for the honey bun's small version. But let's face it -- this is fried dough with a sugary frosting -- you’re not buying it because it’s good for you. I was able to eat 170 calories worth before donating the remainder broken up to a nearby bird feeder. Grease and sugar and no pleasure for me.

But you may not be buying it to eat it, either. If you’re purchasing it from the prison commissary, you may be buying it to sell, trade, or further criminal activity.

Honey buns are extraordinarily popular in prison, and particularly in the Florida penal system. According to a 2011 report in TIME, inmates in the state purchase about 270,000 Honey Buns a month, outpacing cans of Coke, tobacco products, and many other things commonly consumed on the outside. The popularity probably stemmed from the honey bun's versatility in various prison recipes. For example, prison Legal News reported that some inmates use the pastries as the base of a makeshift birthday cake, one which "involves squeezing a peanut butter packet over the icing, topping that with crushed cookies, then applying a finishing touch of crushed peanut M&Ms or a melted chocolate bar." Gawker notes that in North Carolina, honey buns were used to sweeten "wine" made from fermented orange juice. And, per the Tampa Bay Times, inmates in one Maryland prison have been known to use honey buns as a key ingredient in Christmas pies.

But there's a grim, dark side to the honey bun biz. The Tampa Bay Times article linked above recounts stories of fraud, bribery, battery, and worse. A Florida bail bondsman, per the Times, allegedly funneled honey buns to inmates who could refer new business. There are stories of inmates in at least two states -- in Texas and Pennsylvania -- trading honey buns for prescription drugs. In early 2010, two Florida inmates got into a fight over four honey buns -- the unpaid debt from a lost Super Bowl bet -- and one of the two men suffered facial injuries severe enough to warrant a hospital visit. And then there are the honey bun murders, as described by the Times:

In 2006, at the Kent County Jail in Michigan, inmate Benny Rochelle dragged his cell mate off the top bunk, killing the man, when he could not find his honey bun. And last year [2010], at the Lake Correctional Institution west of Orlando, two men were sentenced to life in prison for stabbing with crude shivs the man they thought had stolen shaving cream, cigarettes and a honey bun from their footlockers.
And even worse: In 2015, youth detention center officers allegedly bribed juvenile inmates with honey buns, asking them to beat up some other kids; one teen died in such an attack. The promise of honey buns, it seems, can given some inmates all the incentive they need to do terrible things.

There is, however, a good story in all this malaise. A Virginia inmate named George Alec Robinson was facing the death penalty, but due to the work of his attorneys was spared that fate. As the above-cited Prison Legal News recounted, he paid his lawyer with the only currency he had -- honey buns. His lawyers told Prison Legal News that they appreciated the gesture and that "the [honey buns] were good, too."

Credit: "Now I Know" blog.

Robert C. Ross
March 2016
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2013
I had to sneak and eat a few of these before I reveal their arrival. I gave the rest away for fear of gaining weight. Delicious is the word that best describe these. Especially heated with a morning cup of coffee.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
These yummy treats didnt even last 4 days at my house! They were So Fresh ! Soft & sweet. An excellent product. Individually wrapped.....so you cant use the excuse you have to eat them fast because they may spoil or get stale....they will be fresh for awhile. Delicious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
Quick shipping and it comes with 12 for 3 dollars..come on now that's a damn steal..They taste absolutely amazing and the expiration dates are very far so you can save them for a while and not eat them so fast..i HIGHLY recommend..I am definitely buying more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.