Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern-day classic
I believe that "Duck and Goose," released earlier this year, will one day enter the pantheon of classic children's picture books. It strikes just the right balance between humor and a gentle lesson about sharing and working together. Duck and Goose begin by squabbling over the soccer ball that they mistake for a large egg and end up dreamily making plans to raise their...
Published on May 12, 2006 by Emily K. Paster

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adorable illustrations, a little bit of a tongue twister to read
The overall message of this book is about teamwork, and I liked the incorporation of a few bigger words. When reading aloud to my son, I find it difficult to read at a steady pace without getting tongue tied over the repetitive use of 'goose honked.. duck quacked'. These two characters also portray a little attitude in their dialogue, but in the end they learn how to...
Published 19 months ago by Christin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern-day classic, May 12, 2006
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
I believe that "Duck and Goose," released earlier this year, will one day enter the pantheon of classic children's picture books. It strikes just the right balance between humor and a gentle lesson about sharing and working together. Duck and Goose begin by squabbling over the soccer ball that they mistake for a large egg and end up dreamily making plans to raise their "baby" together. When a little bluebird blithely points out the obvious, Duck and Goose take their changed circumstances in stride. Duck and Goose's conversations will bring a chuckle even to the most jaded parent and the illustrations are lovely. Highly recommended by this children's lit snob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winsome, February 14, 2006
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
This is a whimsical story about two young birds who argue over the ownership and care of an "egg" they find. "I saw it first" -- I touched it first." The reader is immediately in on the joke because the "egg" is larger than either one of them and is perfectly round and colored white with large polka dots. Of course it is a ball but neither one of them realizes this.

The illustrations are bright and the characters' faces are so expressive. Their bickering will be familiar to children's ears as will their reconciliation in face of the truth. This book is gentle fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a nice book with a good lesson., March 20, 2006
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
I read an advertisement for this book in the New Yorker. To be brief, it said that "Olivia" loves this book and wants Duck and Goose for her birthday. I figured that if Olivia likes it, my daughter would, too. I don't know if my daughter gets all of the humor yet (she's 2 1/2) but she seems to enjoy it anyway. It's a really nice story about sharing -- great lesson for a pre-schooler. And, I am partial to the cheerful illustrations. I recommend this book. You will be happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids will love this book, January 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
Parents and kids alike will love this book. It has so many hidden lessons like cooperation, friendship, sharing, tolerance and the power of persuasion. It also is great to read to a group because it has an element of suspense and surprise. Great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet bedtime reading, February 3, 2006
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
What a wonderful, simple, splendid book! The art work is fabulous! And the characters express the same phrases, expressions, and feelings that toddlers do. Very sweet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than funny with great pictures, January 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
This book was highly recommended in a magazine I subscribe to, and after reading the reviews here I decided to purchase it for my 2-year-old son. It's not in his top ten favorites, but he really likes it - we read it a few times a week

One nice part of the storyline that I hadn't anticipated was that it clearly demonstrates the "stages" toddlers go through with their friends. As all parents of toddlers know, sharing is a very difficult thing for little ones (including duck and goose) to do. This book accurately and comically demonstrates this issue from the very beginning, but gradually the duck and goose begin to share their "egg," realizing that they can both care for it and enjoy having it.

I highly recommend this book. I gave it four stars instead of five because, although I can't put my finger on it, I feel it lacks the "spark" that makes a book really special. Sorry I can't be more specific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet, beautiful book, March 1, 2006
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
"Duck and Goose" is the rare kid's book that teaches a much-needed lesson with humor and intelligence (when was the last time you laughed out loud when reading a book meant for toddlers??) . Its simple story never gets preachy or moralistic; instead, Hills lets the characters work out their sharing problems amongst themselves in a natural, kid-like way. The illustrations are vibrant, colorful, and very engaging. "Duck and Goose" should have a place on every child's bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adorable Pictures, November 4, 2008
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
Duck and Goose are so cute! They think they have found an egg. Duck and Goose do not get along. Their squabble begins with who saw it or touched it first. Duck wants to nurture it and raise it to be duck like, goose wants to raise it and nurture it to be goose like. They squabble for a long time over this mysterious speckled ROUND egg.

Eventually bird comes along and tells them that their egg is a ball and they go and play together.

The story is cute, it wasn't totally what I expected. My son loves it because duck and goose are silly and cute. The illustrations really do make you just want to pick up duck and goose and squeeze em. We like our birds, so that's how we ended up with Duck and Goose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book by looking at the cover..., July 15, 2007
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
"Duck and Goose" look like they'll be simplistic and overly-basic -- both the artwork and the text are deceptively plain... But these two little guys actually have a richer and more believable emotional life than many picturebook characters. They might not have a long shelf-life (kids will probably move on past them fairly quickly...) but while they are your book friends, your lives will be enriched. Definitely worth checking out. (ReadThatAgain!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming and Goofy - what's not to like?, April 2, 2012
By 
Pop Bop "Pause and Reflect" (Denver, Colorado, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duck & Goose (Hardcover)
Sometimes you have great art but a weak story. Sometimes you have sharp writing but the artwork leaves you cold. Well, the two characters in this book are drawn with real wit and charm and the story is engaging and novel, without being message heavy and without the odd sour notes that occasionally creep into books of this sort. It's cheerful; it's silly' it's wholesome, and the kids like it. Fine by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Duck & Goose
Duck & Goose by Tad Hills (Hardcover - January 24, 2006)
$16.99 $12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.