Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume Two coming along with Golden Suns
So after plenty of lobbying and the internet community speaking out, DuckTales' Pilot, Treasure of the Golden Suns is making its way onto DVD, one Volume too late, but certainly nonetheless, great news. Not in its original movie format, but the 5 parts that went out into syndication after the first run of season one. Disc One includes, Treasure of The Golden Suns (Split...
Published on August 28, 2006 by Mr. Ms. Pengelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a bit better
I love Ducktales and I would have loved to have given these DVD box sets a 5 star rating but the fact that they aren't in order by episode release really bothers me. I would have loved to have sets that are more accurate and less rushed. STILL waiting on Vol 4....
Published 11 months ago by SailorSamara


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume Two coming along with Golden Suns, August 28, 2006
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
So after plenty of lobbying and the internet community speaking out, DuckTales' Pilot, Treasure of the Golden Suns is making its way onto DVD, one Volume too late, but certainly nonetheless, great news. Not in its original movie format, but the 5 parts that went out into syndication after the first run of season one. Disc One includes, Treasure of The Golden Suns (Split into 5 parts), Back to the Klondike, Horse Scents and Scrooge's Pet. Disc Two includes The Firefly Fruit Contest episodes (1-4), Merit-Time Adventure, The Golden Fleecing, Ducks of the West and The Time Teasers. Disc three finished the set with Back Out in the Outback, Raiders of the Lost Harp, The Right Duck, Scroogerello, Double-O-Duck, Luck o' the Dcuks, Duckworths Revolt and the 2 story episode Magica's Magic Mirror and Take Me Out of the Ballgame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Looking for something that the entire family can enjoy?, November 30, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
As a child of the fifties, I grew up reading comic books. Though I was more a fan of the superhero variety, I occasionally read the "lighter" titles, which included such fare as "Archie" and Carl Banks' "Uncle Scrooge." It is the latter that served as the basis for the series from which this compilation is culled.

Premiering as a weekday show in 1987, "Disney's DuckTales" brought a new dimension to television animation. Though primarily geared for a young audience, the show had enough in jokes and historical/pop culture references to appeal to the children's parents. Well done parodies of "Star Trek," the "Indiana Jones" series, John Wayne, the Kentucky Derby, James Bond, fairy tales and world mythology, and even primetime's biggest soap opera, "Dallas," can be found among this 24-episode collection.

The highlight, of course, is "Treasure of the Golden Suns," the five-part pilot that introduces Uncle Scrooge and tells how he became guardian to nephew Donald's younger charges, Huey, Dewey, and Louie. The episode also shows the transition of Scrooge from miserly to a bit more compassionate to others as a result of his new-found "parenthood."

In addition to these characters, there is the introduction of Mrs. Beakly, the nanny, and her grandchild, Webby; the butler, Duckworth; inventor, Gyro Gearloose; erstwhile pilot Lauchpad McQuack; the boys' friend, Doofus; and McDuck's chief financial nemesis, Flintheart Glomgold. Filling out the cast are the recurring appearances of The Beagle Boys and sorceress Magica De Spell.

Voicing these characters is a talented array of voice actors. Leading the pack is Alan Young ("Uncle Scrooge"), primarily known for his memorable turn as Wilbur Post, owner of the "Mr. Ed" of television fame. Young brings vivid life to the sometimes cantankerous yet lovable duck millionaire. Terence McGovern has fun as "Launchpad," while Russi Taylor has a field day providing all the voices of the younger ducklings.

Hal Smith, forever "Otis" on the old "Andy Griffith Show," assays the duel roles of Gyro and Glomgold, as well as other incidental characters. Jim Cummings and Peter Cullen are other actors that bring voice to a myriad of characters.

And the legendary June Foray, the voice behind "Rocky the Flying Squirrel," utilizes her distinctive pipes as "Magica De Spell."

Besides the great writing, Ron Jones, composer of arguably the best score in "Star Trek: The Next Generation's" history ("The Best of Both Worlds, Parts I and II") is responsible for the exciting music that would be used throughout the series run. Much better than the usual fare that accompanies television 'toons, Jones deserved an Emmy for his compositions.

In all, "DuckTales" belongs in the cartoon hall of fame as a prime example of a program that is definitely "family friendly" and non-condescending to small fry, stimulating as well as entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Indiana Jones, you'll love DuckTales!, November 15, 2006
By 
James G "J.M.G." (Long Beach, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
DuckTales is not necessarily a children's show. It's actually a very entertaining show for all ages. Thank goodness the first collection was popular enough to produce a second. DuckTales was one of the best cartoons ever made. So far I own both collections, collection one of Chip n' Dale, and the Talespin DVD set. I'm also looking forward to a collection of Real Ghostbusters seasons but that's a whole other studio. Thank you Disney for bringing this show back. I'm hoping that the third collection will be out sometime next year (with Bubba and Gizmo Duck) and I hope the movie will be released on DVD soon. The only thing I wish the folks at Disney could find is some behind the scenes footage or have an interview video with the developers of the show. This show brings back so many childhood memories. The copyright date of 1987 seems like ages ago. Disney should really bring shows like this back into the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Adventures with Uncle Scrooge and the Lads, November 14, 2006
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
Volume 2 has arrived and with it the much wanted Treasure of the Golden Sun Series. The first five episodes are dedicated to the first disc along with 3 other episodes. Swap the first discs from Volume 1 and Volume 2 and you'll have the Treasure of the Golden Suns on Volume 1. The other episodes are all classics from the Ducktales series, Working for Scales is one of my personal favorite episodes from the series and I was glad to see it, along with its series from Catching as Cash Can. I am also glad to say that the episodes are uncut and include scenes that are not shown on Cable.

While you cannot skip past the opening theme song, there are chapters when you play all, and you can skip from chapter to chapter. There are no extras again, but for the price the Volume is a really good value. I have noticed no problems in video or sound quality. If you're like me and could care less about extras and just want the episodes for a good price this is the set for you.

So sit back and enjoy this viewing of the second Volume of the Ducktales series, many classic episodes for your viewing pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting DuckTales adventures, December 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
After I bought DuckTales volume 1, I decided to find more on the internet, so I found volume 2 & 3 from my favorite site, Amazon.com. I bought the remaining volume 2 and 3. Both volumes are a good quality DVDs. Volume 2 DVD series have 24 episodes and introduces us to Mrs. Beakly, Webbigail, Gyro Gearloose, and Doofus. I like Flinthead Glomgold character as he the nemesis of Scrooge McDuck. The best episodes are (The treasure of the Golden Suns), (The golden fleecing), (Raiders of the lost harp), and (Scroogerello).

Disc 1 includes: Treasure of the golden suns (part 1, 2, 3, 4, 5), Back to the Klondike, Horse scents, and Scrooge's pet.

Disc 2 includes: Catch as cash can (part 1, 2, 3, 4), Merit-time adventure, The golden fleecing, Ducks of the West, and Time teasers.

Disc 3 includes: Back out in the outback, Raiders of the lost harp, The right duck, Scroogerello, Double-O-Duck, Luck O' the ducks, Duckworth's revolt, and Magica's magic mirror / take me out of the ballgame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carl Barks Up the Right Tree, March 27, 2007
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
The second volume of DuckTales is as much a delight as the first, because it in a sense starts over, opening with the pilot episode, here presented in five parts, Treasure of the Golden Suns. At the outset, Donald Duck has joined the Navy, so his nephews go to live with their money- loving Uncle Scrooge. At first they don't get along: he's got lots of rough edges, and the trio blench at being restrained. The very first episode brilliantly brings in the Junior Woodchucks, the scouting group Huey, Dewey, and Louie joined up with in the later Dell/ Gold Key Carl Barks comics.

From the beginning, this was an imaginative, lavishly done cartoon series, the flagship of the Disney Afternoon, which would also include TaleSpin, Chip and Dale's Rescue Rangers and Gummi Bears. Like DuckTales, these shows brought back stars from the Disney archives, building on the Disney strength of strong character design.

DuckTales is also a textbook case of how to make a DVD set. This box set includes three one- sided discs, each in their own slipcase, with a total of 19 episodes as well as the five part pilot. You can easily skip the initial Coming Attractions by pushing Menu on the remote. If you're doing Cartoons without Cable, your kids can look forward to a new episode each day. If you're an animation lover, fan of Carl Barks' comics or a Disneyphile, this is the set for you. Disney has long been synonymous with quality in animation; now they also lead the way in creating excellent DVD box sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 Good Movies and Some Good Episodes, April 14, 2011
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
If you are a true DT fan, you will of course want all the sets. If you are only after some nostalgia, the 3rd volume probably gives you the best amount of 'Duck Power' for your dollar.

But that said, this 2nd set is really good. This set begins with the 5 episode start of the series. ("Treasure of the Golden Suns"). This is where Donald leaves for the navy, and Scrooge meets the 3 nephews.

Disc 2 has the 4 episode movie "Catch As Cash Can" where Scrooge and Flint Heart have a contests to see who is the richest duck and will make even more money soon. 'Merit Time Adventure' is an interesting 'Scooby Doo' type Duck Tales where Scrooge's ships are being lost at sea.

Disc 3 has a couple of good episodes. 'The Right Duck' is a DT version of Flash Gordon where Launchpad McQuack has a moment in the spotlight. 'Luck O Duck' is a nice Saint Patrick's Day special. 'Duckworth gets a little time in the spotlight in 'Duckworth's Revolt' when he is kidnapped and has to encourage some prisoners to rise up against their captors. Duckworth gets another moment in the spotlight when he coaches a baseball team in 'Take Me Out of the Ballgame.'

All in all it's a nice package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely Awesome!, November 20, 2006
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
The Golden Suns are here, finally! This is an amazing set, and better than I remembered it as a kid! Compelling stories, good animation, great voice acting. Tons of fun for any age. Wish they made cartoons today as good as they did back in the "day". The Temple of the Golden Suns completely got me hooked on Duck Tales as a kid, and got me into reading the Carl Barks/Don Rosa comic books. I remembered it from, gosh, when I saw it in 87', so it must have made a big impression! Go get it today - you won't be disappointed! Because life IS like a hurricane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 2 Episode List, November 29, 2013
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
In case anyone else is looking:

28 Dont Give Up the Ship
29 Wronguay in Ronguay
30 Three Ducks of the Condor
31 Cold Duck
32 Too Much of a Gold Thing
33 Back to the Klondike
34 Horse Scents
35 Scrooges Pet
36 A Drain on the Economy
37 A Whale of a Bad Time
38 Aqua Ducks
39 Working for Scales
40 Merit-Time Adventure
41 The Golden Fleecing
42 Ducks of the West
43 Time Teasers
44 Back Out in the Outback
45 Raiders of the Lost Harp
46 The Right Duck
47 Scroogerello
48 Double O Duck
49 Luck O The Ducks
50 Duckworth's Revolt
51 Magica's Magic Mirror
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a bit better, August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DuckTales - Volume 2 (DVD)
I love Ducktales and I would have loved to have given these DVD box sets a 5 star rating but the fact that they aren't in order by episode release really bothers me. I would have loved to have sets that are more accurate and less rushed. STILL waiting on Vol 4....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DuckTales - Volume 2
DuckTales - Volume 2 by Alan Young (DVD - 2006)
$20.00 $10.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.