Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super great!
I bought this movie because I love american musclecars, and this time I did not want a serious movie like The Deer Hunter. I wanted to laught and have a beer with my friends watching this movie and that is what I got. I really like this movie. I dont know how this movie is compared to the series but Im gonna get season one on dvd. Redneck is cool!
Published on March 29, 2008 by S. Barstad

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the F?
I grew up with and was a fan of the original television series so I gave this movie a try, and was incredibly disappointed. If it ain't broke don't fix it! "The Dukes of Hazzard Movie" is not good enough to be called bad. Every thing about this movie is horendous, the character portrayal, the storyline, the affects. My advice to anyone thinking about getting this movie is...
Published on June 24, 2011 by Stavy34


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the F?, June 24, 2011
This review is from: The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I grew up with and was a fan of the original television series so I gave this movie a try, and was incredibly disappointed. If it ain't broke don't fix it! "The Dukes of Hazzard Movie" is not good enough to be called bad. Every thing about this movie is horendous, the character portrayal, the storyline, the affects. My advice to anyone thinking about getting this movie is not to waste your time or money. Trust me is isn't worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Tv show, December 7, 2005
I grew up watching the TV show and had waited for a movie version to come out. What I got wasn't the Dukes I remember. That being said I won't stand on my soapbox and bash this movie like so many others on this site have. I'll simply say this if you like comedy that appeals to the lowest common denominator then this will be a DVD you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, If Ultimately Unsatisfying Adaption . . . With Some Great Car Jumps, November 3, 2011
By 
H. P. (hic et ubique) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I'll start out by saying I'm not a purist. But if you're going to take something as ain't-broken as the Dukes of Hazzard, you daggum well better know what you're doing when you try to fix it. This movie has a lot of changes. Some work well and some don't, but the end product isn't nearly as good as the source material. It is a lot of fun if you don't think too hard about it.

Any Dukes of Hazzard film is going to live or die by its car chases and especially the jumps. Through most of the film they do not disappoint. The jump onto the highway in Atlanta is one of the greatest jumps I've ever seen on the screen. They just about ruin it all, though, with the last jump, a CGI atrocity. When will filmmakers learn that just because it can be done in CGI doesn't mean it won't look like trash? From the DVD extras, they actually did the real jump (with dummies), then ruined it with CGI. And they planned to do the same with the rest of the jumps, but those looked so great even their own foolishness wouldn't let them ruin them. A lot of the other car stunts are truly special.

The filmmakers made some strange choices in adaptation. The Dukes and their allies replace Boss Hogg and Roscoe P. Coltrane as the comic foils, but neither Hogg nor Roscoe (M.C. Gainey isn't half as scary as he was in Justified) can manage to be terribly menacing. The movie (especially the unrated version) is also quite risqué. I have no philosophical disagreement with that, but let's be honest--the Dukes don't need to go lowest common denominator to entertain. I guess the thinking was that the old Dukes fans have all grown up, but the old Dukes formula would always be beloved by kids (and those of us that still like to pretend we're kids from time to time).

Jessica Simpson tries hard, and fails, to look as good as Catherine Bach, but I'm not complaining. Willie Nelson as Uncle Jesse just fires off one-liners. The soundtrack is mostly southern rock mainstays, and it's a downright joy for country boy's when the General Lee fires up and Black Betty cranks up.

Broken Lizard (of Super Troopers fame) eventually took over production. They left many a hat tip to their marquee production. Governor Jessman (Lynda Carter), the fast food cashier, and the Vermont state troopers from Super Troopers all make appearances. There is also an allusion to the side-splitting opening scene.

DVD extras include: Daisy Dukes: the short short shorts, the General Lee lives, how to launch a muscle car 175 feet in 4 seconds, the hazards of Dukes, the These Boots are Made for Walking music video, additional scenes, unrated additional scenes, bloopers, unrated bloopers, and the theatrical trailer. Given the choice between this version (the Unrated one) and the theatrical version, I would prefer the latter. The differences are across-the-board more risqué, but less funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mild disappointment....., May 26, 2012
This review is from: The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
First of all, the car is the star of this
movie. The car (a 1969 Dodge Charger) gets
3 stars -- the actual actors get ZERO.

The car chases, jumps and drifting are
absolutely incredible in this film. The
actual story was thin, the actors were
mostly underwhelming and it really didn't
capture the feel of the original show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super great!, March 29, 2008
I bought this movie because I love american musclecars, and this time I did not want a serious movie like The Deer Hunter. I wanted to laught and have a beer with my friends watching this movie and that is what I got. I really like this movie. I dont know how this movie is compared to the series but Im gonna get season one on dvd. Redneck is cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Bad (and this from a fan of the show), December 26, 2005
By 
colinwoodward (Little Rock, AR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I was a fan of the original TV show, but don't remember much of it, since I was in grade school at the time and haven't caught any reruns on cable. For sentimental reasons, I gave the "Dukes of Hazzard" movie a chance. It was worse than I thought it would be. It's not a good bad movie, just a bad movie. On the original show, I seem to recall that bad guys were the dumb ones and the good guys mostly did not act like morons. Here, the situation is reversed. All the while, the South is portrayed as the irretrievably backward place that it is not (which was pretty silly in the 1980s when the show was on, and it is even sillier now). The "Dukes of Hazzard" plays more like an episode of Knoxville's "Jackass" than the old TV show. The Duke boys are unsympathetic and self-destructive, and the stunts are not good enough to make up for a terribly unfunny script. Jessica Simpson carried herself rather well, I thought, and looked great doing it. But the film is truly bad. Fans of the much funnier "Super Troopers" will spot some of that movie's actors here (this film and "Super Troopers" have the same director). And anyone who went to LSU will recognize the campus (which subs for the University of Georgia.) But for the most part, this movie is dumb minus the fun. Spend your money and time on something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GENERAL LEE AND A CAST OF HUMANS, January 21, 2006
This review is from: The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
If you used to say, you only watch this TV show because it's on before "Dallas",and you always watch Dallas, c'mon, fess up! You love "The Dukes of Hazzard". You love Daisy Duke, The General Lee, moonshine, Uncle Jesse, and you think the Waylon Jennings theme song is just about the best damn song ever written. You can name the character cousins who replaced Bo and Luke Duke during their brief contract dispute with CBS, (the question stumped me during a recent Trivial Pursuit bout). You said a silent prayer when you heard two of the series stunt drivers were killed during a filming of one of the episodes, ending with, 'that great dirt back road in the sky'. You owned a Dukes of Hazzard T-shirt, the board game, official '69 Charger model kit, and you periodically check the secondary market of your Dukes of Hazzard lunch box.

This movie loves the Dukes too. The cameras treat The General, that legendary orange '69 Charger, like a star in a fashion shoot, with long, loving, slow-motion shots and spectacular flying sequences, not only over country creeks, but highflying like a witch on a broom over highways in downtown Atlanta. Yee-Haw! There's more love here than a possum in springtime. A minor beloved character smiles directly into the camera after his bit, and who would have imagined that Daisy Duke's short shorts could become shorter? I can reluctantly admit that all essential characters, and then some, are accounted for, and the script is taken directly from episodes of the series, particularly the one about the successful hometown Hazzard boy who comes home to win the big race.

The movie Dukes are a little dumber than TV's clean-cut Bo and Luke. Seann William Scott, as Bo, conveys a perfect simple-minded, big-hearted, gearhead country bumpkin, and Johnny Knoxville, aside from some lame and gratuitous stunt work, manages to fulfill the character, even with a wavering put-upon southern accent. The funniest role belongs to Kevin Hefferman as conspiracy minded, schizophrenic good ole boy, Sheev, who wears an armadillo shell on his head to block secret messages from the CIA. Jessica Simpson, as the leggy Daisy Duke, admits in the DVD extras that she only has to stand around and look good, and she does that well enough. The only grave disappointment is law enforcement bungling baddies, Roscoe and Boss Hogg, characters demanding broad slapstick are given careless and indifferent no-cigar treatment.

So kick your shoes off, set down ahwile, the DVD extras reveal a dismantled and controlled General Lee, but dreams of a '69 Charger never die. When the sequel comes around, you'll be there faster than a polecat chased up a tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple, silly fun, January 16, 2006
By 
Tom Benton (North Springfield, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Not surprisingly, "The Dukes of Hazzard" bears little resemblance to the classic TV series on which it's based. Sean William Scott and Johnny Knoxville play cousins Bo and Luke Duke, who lose their brains from the TV show and become crazy young-'uns with raging hormones. The plot of this film involves Bo and Luke out to stop Boss Hogg (Burt Reynolds) from stripmining Hazzard. Also, Bo wants to win the Hazzard Racing Tournament for the 4th year, but faces tough competition from Billy Prickett (James Roday).

Let me start off by saying that fans of the TV show will no doubt be disappointed. The characters in this film bear little resemblance to those of the series. In the last few years, many TV shows have been remade as movies (namely "Charlie's Angels" and "Starsky & Hutch"), and while these remakes may have been entertaining, there's little resemblance to the series that they are based on. The key to enjoying these films is to seperate them from the TV series. I did that for "Dukes of Hazzard", and I had a great time.

The film has a great cast. Scott is very funny as Bo Duke. Michael Weston makes a very likable Enos. Burt Reynolds is enjoyable as Boss Hogg. Jessica Simpson is actually pretty good as Daisy Duke. Then we have the great Willie Nelson as Uncle Jessie, who is very funny in many of his scenes. Lynda Carter has a small part as a friend of the Duke family.

The script isn't top-notch, but who'd expect it to be? For that matter, who'd WANT it to be? This film can be summed up in three words: simple, silly fun. The script is fun. The cast is funny. There's a great soundtrack, including the classic "Good Ol' Boys" theme. And there's the General Lee.

If you're looking for a bright film, this would probably not be a wise choice. But if you're looking for a simple, fun film, this might be a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dumb fun -- YEEEEEE-HAW!, December 17, 2005
By 
Beau Yarbrough (Between Disneyland and Las Vegas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
The good news and the bad news: The Dukes of Hazzard movie is extremely similar to the television series it's based upon. No one ever gets hurt through all the stunts and cartoon violence, running moonshine comes off as a harmless bit of fun and most of the movie is watching amazing car stunts and ogling Daisy Duke.

It could have been a lot different: Johnny Knoxville could potentially have brought a gritty vibe, and Seann William Scott could have brought a real gross-out appeal, but except for momentary nods in that direction, the show stays mostly true to its roots.

Changing the tone more than the two leads is Willie Nelson as Uncle Jesse. In a nod to real life, Jesse sneaks in a little marijuana smoking (hinted at, more than shown in the rated version, explicitly shown in the unrated version) and brings a love of silly jokes to the proceedings -- the ad-libbed scenes of Willie Nelson telling Johnny Knoxville one silly joke after another, as he lobs flaming jars of moonshine behind the car is one of the highlights of the movie.

Jessica Simpson does very little in this film, but it's exactly what you'd expect and, to be fair, she does it very well. Daisy remains sexy-but-not-slutty, just as she was in Catherine Bach's original version of the character. The 2005 rendition just is a hard-bodied version showing even more skin.

In a nice update, the General Lee doesn't start off with the Confederate Battle Flag on the roof of the car, and once it appears, Bo and Luke are ambivalent about it being there (and it appears to be gone in the final sequence where the car is hidden in a field), and they get an earful about it while on the highway into Atlanta, both positive and negative.

Burt Reynolds, whose Smokey and the Bandit movies are almost certainly responsible for the creation of the original TV show, is mostly wasted here, showing little of the oily charm he's been able to show even in lesser movies, like Striptease. Still, the Bandit turning Boss Hogg is worth a look, and a definite shout-out to the fans who've been watching this mini-genre of movies and television shows since the 1970s.

A recommended viewing for fans of the original show or Smokey and the Bandit. A recommended purchase only for those who want to have footage of Jessica Simpson writhing around in a bikini (check the music video on the DVD for more) close at hand at all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think about it, please !, July 26, 2007
By 
Chem (Charlotte NC, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Movies are like buying cars - the advice about what car is "the best" really just depends on who your talking to...But I'd like to share my thoughts about this movie.
Old fans of the Dukes TV series, you have to do one thing to enjoy this movie: Divorce Yourself From The TV Show !!! If you can't do that, you'll never be satisfied with ANY remake of the Dukes. Why? Well, read on...

1) Very simply, the old cast is GONE. And if they were resurrected - as in a 25 yrs later Dukes - we'd have graying Bo & Luke, no Uncle Jesse or Boss Hogg, an overweight Daisy, etc etc. So the plot lines would have to be radically different.
2) So, to keep the plot line what it was, there had to be a new cast. And absolutely no new cast of actors can capture the "exact" magic and chemistry of that original cast, no matter how the producers and directors finagle it.

In other words, people who went to see the movie expecting the exact same show, exact same characters, and the old circa 1980 setting, were doomed to disappointment (and after all - what would be the point of a movie remake that's exactly what the show was??)...
This is an entirely new Dukes of Hazzard, set in 21st century, and you must take it as such. "Jessica Simpson is lousy - not even a southern accent!" you say? Well, Catherine Bach (something of a TV icon; and well deserved) also had NO southern accent - in fact, hers is almost exactly like Jessica's! And both made wonderful Daisy's for their time.
Uncle Jesse, played by Willie Nelson, sure ain't Denver Pyle's Jesse. But think about it - who else could've done better? I think Nelson did a great job!
Point is, to watch this movie you must force yourself to stop comparing...and just enjoy the action !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition)
The Dukes of Hazzard (Unrated Widescreen Edition) by Jay Chandrasekhar (DVD - 2007)
$12.97 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.