Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ventriloquist documentary!
This film was great and held my full attention for the entire duration of the film. I actually have seen the movie a few times and it nevers gets boring! I agree with the comment in that this is NOT a film about Terry Fator, it is better than that. It is a film about 5 ventriloquists who vary from amateur to professional and young to old! It follows these 5 people as...
Published on July 27, 2011 by RD

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mislead to belrive this is a Terry Fator DVD
Expected this to be a follow-up to "Live in Las Vegas". Turned out to be a bunch of "want-to-be's" that have NO business on a DVD with Terry Fator.
Published 21 months ago by Heli Guy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ventriloquist documentary!, July 27, 2011
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
This film was great and held my full attention for the entire duration of the film. I actually have seen the movie a few times and it nevers gets boring! I agree with the comment in that this is NOT a film about Terry Fator, it is better than that. It is a film about 5 ventriloquists who vary from amateur to professional and young to old! It follows these 5 people as they try and perfect their ventriloquist acts and perform for various audiences. It dives into their personal lives and struggles that come along with this choice of profession as well. There is a lot of compassion in this film and I highly recommend it to everyone! 5 stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, charming & funny movie, August 2, 2011
By 
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
I saw this film at it's Atlanta premiere and absolutely loved it. A really touching look at a group of people most might consider misfits, but what you realize by the end is they are no different from anyone else trying to find their place in the world. To be cliche - it made me laugh and it made me cry. By the end you feel like great friends and champions of the primary people and want to know more about their story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ARE MY LIPS MOVING? BATTLE OF THE VENTS IS QUIRKY AND TERRIFIC, October 20, 2011
By 
Robin Simmons (Palm Springs area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
Did you know that Fort Mitchell, Kentucky is the "Ventriloquism Capital of the World? No? This fine American city hosts an annual ventriloquism convention where the hopes and dreams of talented -- and decidedly quirky -- contenders vie for the title of best -- and perhaps a Vegas contract.

Like young magicians, the art of "throwing" one's voice requires an obsession in which ventriloquism becomes a way of life.

Mark Goffman's fascinating and wildly entertaining film documents the quest of five driven "vents" to literally, effortlessly and invisibly, put words in someone -- er, something -- else's mouth. Our group includes: Dylan, a shy, middle-schooler; Kim, a former Miss Ohio; Dan, a cruise ship performer; Wilma, a six-foot-five family oddball; and Terry, a former winner on TV's "America's Got Talent."

SPOILER ALERT. What's most amazing is the payoff: Terry Tator is awarded a 100 million dollar Las Vegas contract to become the most successful ventriloquist in history! Yes, you read that right, $100,000,000.00!

Here's the American dream writ large and a reminder that anything is possible if you can speak up -- and keep your mouth shut at the same time.

Quirky and terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Suprisingly Hidden Show Biz Subculture Experly Depicted, October 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dumbstruck (Amazon Instant Video)
Millions of children throughout the world were dazzled on Saturday mornings by ventriloquist and their dummies many of whom -- Jerry Mahoney, Charlie McCarthy and Danny O'Day -- became household names. But fhat was i n a more innocent time and today, in the 21st century, young people and adults who attempt to perform with puppets create major family dilemmas. The reactions of former beauty pagent winner Kim's dimwit mother (who can forget her holding up her hands and twisting her miserable fingers) mocking her daughter's joy and passion? And the cycle riding faux macho father of young Dylan lamenting about his son and his joy and passion with what can only be described as hatred and contempt. The Terry Fator revelation of a mean spirited and jealous father who derided and demeaned his extraordinarily talented son even in success. How many Fators out there were prevented from following their dream by mentally damaged parents?

I always loved ventriloquists as a child and as an agent, but the overwhelming feeling when seeing this well crafted doc is sadness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great doc, July 31, 2011
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
Dumbstruck is a fabulous documentary. You will love the stories of the five ventriloquists featured. Many of my friends have also seen this film and really enjoyed it. I heard that it won awards at festivals across the country including the Audience Choice Award from the Friars Club in New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars true, heartwarming and a home run for all, August 2, 2011
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
It is very rare to see a documentary which captures all of special moments in such a respectful way but does still allow us to see the "unique" world of vents. The characters selections could not have been better if there was a casting call for the parts. To experience their ups and downs at all levels of the career and life path was a memorable journey. This film really allows us to see Terry Fator when he was struggling, married to his first wife, and was not a big Vegas headliner as he is now. To hear him speak about his father lets you realize it does not matter how sucessful u are at your job, we all still have dissappoitments. All of the characters in someway experience their own difficulties and we are lucky enough to be there to see them all unfold. A DONT MISS FILM FOR ANY ONE WHO ENJOYS PEOPLE, LIFE EXPERIENCES, GOOD HUMOR, PASSION, AND MOST OF ALL WANT TO PEEK INTO THE VENT WORLD AND THEIR SPECIAL VENT FAMILY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
The DVD is very entertaining, but I thought it would have more about Terry Fator. I have the one about the show in Las Vegas, so
I thought.it would be as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Documentary for Puppeteers, August 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
The documentary begins well, but takes a slight dip in engagement and interest about 15 minutes into the film. But once the cases' personal struggles are profiled, the film picks back up in a riveting manner. These are a variety of profiles, from the poignant wanna-be's, to someone who made it big. It's a great documentary for those with an interest in puppetry and/or ventriloquism. I also appreciated how Terry Fator, who skyrocketed to success, didn't let fame go to his head, kept it real, remembered his humble beginnings, and acknowledged the dues he had to pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW OF DUMBSTRUCK, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
I THOUGHT IT WAS AN INTERESTING VIDEO. I NEVER REALIZED JUST HOW MANY VENTS WERE OUT THERE! AMAZING! AND TO SEE ALL THE VENTS AND THEN TO KNOW WHERE TERRY FATOR CAME FROM AND IS NOW. MY FAMILY AND I HAVE ENJOYED TERRY SINCE HE FIRST CAME ON AGT. I PASS OUT LOTS OF HIS VIDEO AS GIFTS BECAUSE IF YOU ARE HAVING A "BAD" DAY, IT CAN GIVE YOU LOT'S OF LAUGHS.
I WAS ALSO GLAD TO SEE HOW OTHER VENTS HELP EACH OTHER OUT AS A "FAMILY".
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS VIDEO IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN MORE THAN JUST ONE VENT'S BACKGROUND,BEGINNINGS ETC..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Film, July 26, 2011
This review is from: Dumbstruck (DVD)
Dumbstruck is a truly intriguing film depicting the struggles of many and successes of few that come with the life of a ventriloquist. The $100M man, Terry Fator, has clearly paved the way for the vents of the world but interestingly enough he doesn't seem to be the most talented in some eyes. This film follows the lives of some very different ventriloquists where paths connect and stories evolve. We enjoyed watching the film and we have recommended it to many of our friends who have enjoyed it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dumbstruck
Dumbstruck by Mark Goffman (DVD - 2011)
$9.98 $6.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.