Customer Reviews


348 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (61)
2 star:
 (53)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screw the Haters, you must read all 3!
First off, I would put these as a 4 of 5 except they have been so brutally misrepresented I wanted to hike the star average.

That said, this trilogy is awesome! Is it Dune or God Emperor Dune? Of course not, but it's a really sweeping EPIC storyline that sets up so much of the original series, I dont see how anyone who likes the Dune books could HATE this...
Published on July 17, 2011 by Leftover Cowboy

versus
133 of 145 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dune it ain't but....
First things first let's level with each other. The fact that you're reading reviews probably means you're like me: You loved the original series, want to know about the Dune Universe pre-Great House Era, but are unsure if you really want to wade through this book.
OK, so let's level.
1. No, this in no way compares to Herbert the elder. Sorry.
The style...
Published on October 16, 2002 by Steven G. Harms


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 145 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dune it ain't but...., October 16, 2002
By 
Steven G. Harms (San Francisco, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First things first let's level with each other. The fact that you're reading reviews probably means you're like me: You loved the original series, want to know about the Dune Universe pre-Great House Era, but are unsure if you really want to wade through this book.
OK, so let's level.
1. No, this in no way compares to Herbert the elder. Sorry.
The style of writing is much more short and episodic, it lacks that sort of motif based symphony Frank used. This is much more for a generation of Tv watchers and writers. Mini episodes cut between points of action (The Free Worlds, Earth, on a Ship, Arrakis, rinse repeat).
As such you don't have that feeling you had in dune where rising actions continued and then reached a few critical climaxes and faded away.
2. You really want to know what the Butlerian Jihad is. It's a great complling force in Frank's books and you want to know what happened. This book definitely moves in the direction of filling in those gaps.
In all truth, however, i think that most of us would have been satified with a Princess Irulan book: "The history of Pre-Great House Dune." I mean, had it narrated the facts of this book, it would have been *equally* as entertaining. In fact, this book is really a high school science fair 'play-dress-up' of actual interesting events.
3. It does cater to stereotypes and safe political waters. Urge for freedom, that humans are creative an passionate while machines are cold, etc. is familiar ground. Some interesting points were brought up: where do a mechanized human's loyalies lie - man or machine, body mind dichotomies. While Frank H. would have explored these interesting issues, the more pulp style of this series goes the safe route.
A few thoughts I have about Dune and allegory on my web site draws a steady stream of hits day in and day out. There is no possible allegory here. Furthermore, Frank wrote a great deal about the power of numbers, how fanaticism and fundamentalism can be harnessed -- things that made one think months afterward -- I'm not going to think about this book again (likely).
Consider how many sci-fi books have been written about when the machines take over. The authors of the Butlerian Jihad could have written one as well. Frank Herbert had the amazing vision to ask -- OK what would happen /after that/. That's the difference between just a couple of guys who wrote a story and a master.
So in sum. Wait for paperback, don't think that this is going to greatly enrich your experience of the Dune universe, simply view it as a pulp story that will give you a bit of back history on the great houses. That said, the House books were a sight better and this series, should it maintain its present course, will merely be an interesting backstory to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Prequels Eclipsed by the Original Vision, January 13, 2004
By 
Drew "Drew" (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
I'll just start by saying that I'm glad other Dune readers are not treating the material from the prequels as 'canon'. Despite the fact that Brian Herbert shares the blood of Frank Herbert, it was Herbert Senior who had the true vision and the philosophical mindset to write the books in a meaningful, thought provoking way.
This review is not to disparage Brian Herbert's writing ability. I merely noticed that while reading Herbert Senior's Dune, humans were at the center of the story. It was a story about human society and human abilities.
Somehow, the image F. Herbert painted of the Butlerian Jihad was something more akin to a religious explosion. B. Herbert's vision seems to be the 'typical' sci-fi fare of evil machine villains, like Terminator II..with one difference. Arguably, the Terminator series would be a better precursor to the original Dune than the Butlerian Jihad is. Mainly because the creators of the Terminators were human, and the Terminator programs were created by technological increases in mechanical logic. Thus, Terminators are 'thinking' robots. Even the Borg from Star Trek would serve as a better precursor to Dune-the combination of human and technological for 'perfection' at the loss of human qualities would state the story better.
However, B. Herbert's take of evil robotic supervillains seems more like a typical science fiction ploy. Not to give the story away, but some scenes in which the robotic villains take part seem like those scenes in Saturday morning cartoons where all the supervillains stand together and laugh evilly for no reason at all while they plan a plan that makes no sense except to show how evil they are.
I would consider 'A Brave New World' or '1984' MUCH better examples of the way to set up Dune. Dune has never been about 'traditional' science fiction plot points. It seems almost a shame that the prequels seem to wallow in the sort of typical 'hero' vs. 'villain' storylines that Frank Herbert said he wanted to dispute with his series. I remember the brief essay F. Herbert wrote at the start of his branch of the series, regarding setting up heroes for worship.
There is a central weakness to the prequels that perpetuate 'conventional' plot lines and character types at the expense of the greater coherence of the story. The main differences I've noted I will list here:
EG: If Gaius Helen Mohiam was Jessica's mother, Jessica, Paul, Alia, Ghanima and Leto II would have had her in their Other Memory. This is not the case. I don't have my book with me, but I recall in God Emperor, F. Herbert made a big point in showing Letos' knowledge of the Bene Gesserit breeding lines when he said: "Tertius Eileen Anteac, you descendant of Gaius Helen Mohiam..." in the throne room scene. This shows that Mohiam is clearly NOT related to the Atreides, but belongs to a parrallel breeding line.
EG: Baron Harkonnen was disposed to fat, and lived a life of excess. Thus, the prequel explanation for how this came to be goes against the evidence in Dune and Children of Dune. Lady Margot, the BG Breeding Mistress, remarked that the Baron 'let himself go to fat', while Alia put on extra weight after being possessed by the Baron.
EG: Mohiam in the original series was one of the few Reverend Mothers with the Sight. Don't forget that a specific point made in book I of the series, was that she HAD to interview Paul Atreides because at this time in the books, not every Reverend Mother had access to some of her Other Memories. This distinction would call attention to the possibility that access to ancestral memories was no common among all RMs until God Emperor, when Leto II took control of the breeding program, leaving the bene Gesserit to refine their reflexes, sexual imprinting and memory abilities. So, if Mohiam was Jessica's mother, in the Paul/Gaius Helen scene in book 1, she would have noted that they were related; all Reverend Mothers with the Sight knew whom they were related to. They just could not always see the entirety of the Bene Gesserit design. You could argue that Helen Gaius was killed on Arrakis without being able to pass on her Other Memories...however, you would be arguing for this point rather than against it: you only had to Share other memories with people not related to you; if there was a genetic relationship, that person would already be a part of your ancestral memories. I'm sure that when Jessica confronted all of her female relatives, she would have seen Gaius Helen sitting there. Even Paul did not see Gaius among his ancestors, and he had a more complete access to Other Memory than Jessica did.
I think B. Herbert's prequels are a good, typical 'sci fi' read. But it is merely interesting to point out that many hard core 'sci fi' readers don't enjoy the original Dune series because of the human-centric storylines.
This book, and the prequels gets two stars. This book in particular could have been improved if the story was crafted in a way that the Jihad seemed more religious than a typical war. Perhaps if spaceship life support had developed into mechanized city and planet terraforming, eventually turning into artificial life constructs typical of nine to five jobs, arbitrary assignments, and big-brother sort of acitivity (Imagine the possibilities if B. Herbert had written the machines as a supercomputer created by humans to take away the problem of untrustworthy humans in government? - I envision a potential in my vision that would explain the Bene Gesserit's origins...machine made instructions as to population control and breeding lost the male Bene Gesserat powers of ancestral awareness, while the Guild developed because spaceships 'autopilot' functions would not travel unless the central computer accepted the risk).
I think the main problem with this story is that the robots are more super-villain than creation. B. Herbert should have showed why a religious term ('jihad') was used to describe the uprising rather than treating it as typical sci-fi fare a la The Phantom Menace/Attack of the Clones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Simplistic, October 4, 2002
By 
While many readers poo-pooed the Dune prequel trilogy, I really enjoyed it. The stories and characterisations were interesting and they opened up the background to me as well. With this experience in mind, I was happy to treat myself to The Butlerian Jihad. This event, dropped into the original Dune story in dribs and drabs, has always spoken to me because of it's epochal effect on the Dune universe. Dune's characters all suffered from the same interesting prejudice in that they hated machines due to the Butlerian Jihad. Their very piousness was rooted in blind prejudice and this made them extremely interesting because they were so obviously flawed. A sci-fi universe with no thinking machines was ground breaking stuff and I'd been looking forward to reading about it and the great figures of the time (Tio Holtzman etc) for many years.
I've nearly finished the book and have to say so far I'm disappointed because it's just too one dimensional. The book for starters begins at the beginning of the end. The old empire has already fallen and Human planets face off against the robot ones (the Synchronised Worlds). The humans are clearly goodies and the robots (and their lackeys) are obvious baddies with very few shades of grey inbetween the characters at all.
Likewise, the storyline offers very few genuine surprises. Many plot threads and facts are explained in depth by the authors as they happen. This happens enough times that the reader recognises a pattern and can easily notice the instances where a plot thread is introduced and the authors then fail to immediately explain it (eg the 2nd transmission towers on Giedi Prime). You just know why it will come up later on and this precognition effect destroys the suspense.
The hardest task for the authors has been to create robot characters (would robots be individuals?) who are alien - the human brained cymeks making a good exception. An easy quandry to understand becasue if the robots are too alien, they will be too hard for a reader to understand and connect with. This seems to be the reason why the authors create characters like Erasmus, an independantly minded robot who aims to study human-ness. However Erasmus is inconsistantly portrayed and the authors slip up at times. For example Erasmus tries to create art but cannot comprehend the creative process and **in frustration** tears the canvas apart.
The robots act inexplicably human despite all the assertions to their machine intellect. Instead of a machine mind (such as the Borg or in the Matrix) they act surprisingly dumb and fail to utilise their machine advantages that we so often read about (longevity, lack of emotion, productivity etc). Instead, they keep human slaves for menial tasks when machines would be far more efficient and much logistically cheaper, they allow human slaves to work in extremely critical areas, they limit themselves to worlds that support human life, they do not outstrip the humans in productivity, the machine overmind (Omnius) often communicates verbally rather than via any machine link, the machine minds to not actively seek to gain information other than a paltry few spy drones and the machines make tactical decisions that are worse than unimaginative because they aren't even based on cold logic. For example on Giedi Prime they open their assault with a "brilliant tactic" by using a sacrifical kamikaze cruiser to destroy a ground target. Asteroids (as used in Niven and Pournelle's "Footfall") would be far more effective (and efficient).
I really wanted to enjoy this book. So far I'm singularly unimpressed with the threat of the robots because they aren't much worse than the one dimensional mechanical badguys found in the Transformers cartoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's Jar Jar?, December 30, 2002
By 
Gustavo Lanzas "Reader" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I grew up on Dune. I actually loved all the books, up to Chapterhouse: Dune.
What I've always liked about the Dune series is it's sheer believability and consistency. The complexity of it's storyline and characters made the books a challenge to read and understand - but well worth the effort.
Enter Brian Herbert. I had read "Man of Two Worlds", which was a collaboration he did with his dad - and was amazed at the difference. It [was very bad]. The story was a joke. It had some interesting ideas, but I have a feeling they came from Herbert Sr.
Now - I just read the 3 Dune "House" novels. The series had some promise in the beginning, but it quickly decayed into typical and mediocre mass-market space opera for which Kevin J. Anderson is well known. Now - if you like the innumerable Star Trek and Star Wars series out there - you'll probably love this. But to me, franchise stories lack any kind of real passion and creativity. Being a fan of the originals - I stuck it out. Read the 3 books, and tried to like them. But the awful truth is that they're [garbage] - filled with transparent plots, one dimensional characters, and a complete disregard when convenient for Frank Herbert's original ideas.
So - with some trepidation, I approached the new book. It covered one of the most intriguing periods of the Dune timeline.
I could not begin to comprehend how this book got released. Why would a publisher have a complete hack ghost-write an incompetent wanna-be, when there is so much excellent writing talent out there?
What would Gregory Benford or Stephen Baxter (or anyone of the numerous writers of their caliber) have made of this project?
The characterization of the Titans is laughable. And the sentient machines should be called "Artificial Sort-of Roman Hedonist Bad Guys". There are some solid ideas which obviously came from Frank Herbert in there - but the rest is fluff.
"Oh the machines are soooo bad, and they're kicking the humans' collective [butt]... I wonder how the humans will triumph?!?!?!".
I'd say skip it unless you're a devoted Dune fan, or like the first three in the series. But then again, if you liked those books you probably thought "The Phantom Menace" and "Attack of the Clones" were good.
If you want to read some good books about humans struggling against machines, I'd recomend William Barton's "When Heaven Fell", Dan Simmon's "Hyperion" series, and Brian Stableford's "The Omega Expedition". Or for a slightly different take, Karl Schroeder's "Ventus" - and of course, the originator of the idea: Fred Saberhagen's "Berzerker" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 123 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A History That Shouldn't Have Been Recorded, November 21, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When the first installment of Dune appeared in Analog magazine way back in 1963, I was immediately captivated. I remained enthralled through all the succeeding seven installments, fascinated by the complex interplay of science, politics, religion, economics, ecology and their manipulation by all the various sharply realized characters. As the sequels came out over the years, I found some good, some not so good, but all, including the recent three 'prequels' written by the two authors of this book, at least deserving of existing in the same universe as the original work. Not so with this book.

The idea of this book is to bring to life that period in the history of man when machine intelligences ruled most of the human occupied worlds, a period referenced multiple times in the original book, and the supposed origin of both the Bene Geserit and Mentat schools as a reaction to such machine domination. Unfortunately, this book fails miserably at its chosen task for multiple reasons.

The first major problem with this book is the characterization. Everyone here is a paper-thin caricature of a human being, from Xavier Harkonnen to Vorian Atreides and everyone in-between. Most of these people are introduced with a short physical description, perhaps a couple sentences to describe their pasts, and are given 'tasks' that pretty much totally define what they are, from Xavier as a military commander to Tio Holtzman as the fading scientist. There is little or no growth of these characters, other than the totally predictable change of heart that Vorian goes through. Dialogue between these people is almost totally limited to the task at hand, with few if any things that would convince me that these were humans talking rather than machines.

Then there is the depiction of the machine intelligences Erasmus and the Omnius. Supposedly their great problem is that they can often be defeated by mere humans because they can neither understand nor predict human behavior. But they've had more than a thousand years in control to observe humans, and as one of the definitions of intelligence is the ability to learn from experience, I found this whole scenario impossible to believe. Some of the 'experiments' that Erasmus performs to help him understand human behavior I found both gross and pointless, coming across very much like the gratuitous violence of a bad movie attempting to hide its failings.

The story is told in very short chapters, shifting viewpoint character with each chapter. This technique can be effective, as A. E. van Vogt showed so many years ago with his massively re-complicated stories, but to make it work you need either very strong characters or a very complicated, non-obvious plot that can be built in layers, neither of which applies here.

The 'science' here is on par with the rest of this book. I thought lines like 'the ship threaded a narrow course through the asteroid belt' and spaceships performing U-turns went out with 1930's pulp science fiction. In fact, this whole book reads as if it was written specifically for a no-brainer Hollywood SF special effects spectacular, and to heck with anything approaching reality or literary depth.

This book doesn't deserve to have 'Dune' in the title.

--- Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screw the Haters, you must read all 3!, July 17, 2011
First off, I would put these as a 4 of 5 except they have been so brutally misrepresented I wanted to hike the star average.

That said, this trilogy is awesome! Is it Dune or God Emperor Dune? Of course not, but it's a really sweeping EPIC storyline that sets up so much of the original series, I dont see how anyone who likes the Dune books could HATE this series.

I've read poor reviews claiming the characters are paper thin. DUH! This series runs some 130 years of timeline so when you meet Xavier Harkonnen, he's pretty simple. By the third book, his lifetime is a great read and uber complicated. No characters stay boring and static in this series except the Overmind, who's supposed to stay unwavering by design. If anything, the characters Vorian Atredies, Erasmus, Agammemnon, Iblis Ginjo, Serena Butler, Selim Wormrider, Ishmael, Aurelius Venport, and so many other characters are what make this series phenomenal.

The robot Erasmus alone is worth the read and is the newest entry into my top 10 book characters of all time. A robot enigma who has stumbled upon self realization who emotionlessly butchers and tortures slaves in an attempt to understand humans. His ignorantly innocent attempts at art, manners, humor are generally terrifying and end in the death of someone(s), but then when his destruction seems imminent, I was actually worried for him! I wanted to read more! No book with characters that effective deserves 1 star!

You can never tell where this book is going either. This series is really good at being predictible/unpredictable in the appropriate spaces. Sometimes the book does imply and bait you into expecting an events outcome, but even if it's the expected ending, it's never as simple as promised. These cool twists, mixed with the actual surprises that are constantly sprinkled throughout the trilogy kept me glued to these books. Sorry for being vague, I just dont want to ruin anything.

Is the writing quality the greatest? No. It is very episodic and sometimes they can be lax on describing characters or giant killer robots. I did noticed the simplicity of the book when I first started and wondered if I'd made a mistake trusting others with the legacy of Dune. However, by the end of the first book and half way through the second, it became clear that this was the writers intention. And by the beginning of the third book, I had VERY clear mental images of characters, space ships, planets, etc. The descriptions of people come gradually over time rather than right up front when you first meet them, which obviously pissed off a lot of the 13 year olds who 1 starred this book. Ok, cheap shot, but I love this series, highly recommend, and many of the put downs this series recieved are cheap, snobbish, early misconceptions or just outright lies.

Also, these books have a lot more action and gore than Frank Herbert ever wrote. We're talking billons massacared, statues made out of dead slaves, children being murdered, torture, vivasection, executions, all with some pretty vivd detail. Im not talking Brett Easton Ellis-vivid, but graphic. It can be taken as a good or bad point, but that's in my mind the biggest difference.

You like Dune? This is a simpler, more violent series for sure, but the intertwining of the beginnings of the Space Guild, the Great Houses, the Bene Gesserit, the Thulaxa, Suks, Mentats, Fremen and so much more is really fun to read. Perfect? No. Enjoyable and well plotted? Absolutely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frank Herbert's hand evident in prequels, but not his soul, January 25, 2003
By A Customer
The influence of Frank Herbert's inspiration is obvious in the plot and characters of this novel. The intellectual challenge and philosophical ramifications of cymeks and intelligent machines are set up with the same Herbert believability that challenged our preconceptions with the Tleilaxu (descendants of the the Raelian's, perhaps?).
The delivery, however, lacks some of the spiritual detail which it seems Herbert's son, Brian, cannnot provide the way his father did. The original novels were artfully connected to history, literature, and both western and eastern thought in a way that was alive. The philosophy contained in the prequeles lacks such life, and is more often than not just material from the original novels shoe-horned awkwardly into place. Brian Herbert has been able to present the conflict set up by his father, to reproduce the sound of the original, but not the feeling. I find myself wishing he had spent a little more time with the writings of the great minds of the ages before taking up his pen.
All in all, for fans of the original novels, it is still well worth the read, but don't expect an intellectual challenge on a par with what one would expect from Frank Herbert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it should have been, alas, August 23, 2003
By 
Clark R. Hecker "Snowfire" (Flat Rock, nc United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read Frank Herbert's original Dune series, I was interested to see what the authors of Dune: The Butlerian Jihad would have to contribute to this sprawling saga. The plot is engaging enough, providing detailed accounts of things only hinted at in FH's books (such as why Earth is spoken of in the past tense in those works), and there is much scope for wrestling with any number of issues in such a story.
Unfortunately, this is where the good news ends. The prose style is banal and irritating, riddled with gloss* and laced with far too many adjectives; worse yet, Messrs. Herbert and Anderson seem to be overly fond of abstract adjectives, such as "ethereal" and "great", as if they believe that merely tossing such terms out can evoke what the words denote. The result is that it reads more like a Batman comic than like the kind of work the authors presumably intended it to be.
Also, with the ironic exception of the evil robot Erasmus, almost none of the characters really came alive for me, despite all the adjectives the authors toss at them; I got frustrated at how little we are really allowed to understand the main characters' motivations and emotions as individuals.
Moreover, the book has lots of the kind of beginning-of-chapter epigraphs that were a hallmark of the original Dune. This is a treacherous thing to attempt, and if a writer is going to attempt it, he or she had better really have something important and relevant to say. The elder Herbert did in fact have something of a knack for this, whereas the epigraphs in DTBJ strike me, for the most part, as fatuous and sophomoric, and would best have been omitted.
In summary, what could have been a three- or four-star effort ended up as mere two-star pulp entertainment.If you are a hard-core Dune fan, and are interested in the plot for its own sake, then you might be interested in reading DTBJ; otherwise, you won't miss a great deal by giving it a pass.
*Gloss: a hack literary device wherein the author either breaks out of narrative to deliver the reader a synopsis-like block of information, or else transparently and artifically manipulates dialogue to a similar end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, October 13, 2002
By A Customer
I was waiting patiently for this book to come out after having read the House trilogy. When I got it, I finished it pretty quick because there is a lot of action and some interesting ideas. It was extremely easy to read and follow. However, I cannot help feeling that they did not hit the mark with this book. They were supposed to be taking us back in time in the Dune Universe to that pivotal time 10 000 years prior to the events of Dune. Somehow, they did not capture the mysticism of this legendary time. Truthfully, this book could have been written to stand on its own just by changing the characters' names and getting rid of the sandworms. It almost seems like they wrote it so that they could fill in the important preceding events with another series. Despite its grandiose title, The Butlerian Jihad, which was alluded to tantalizingly in Frank Herbert's novels, this book did not live up to my expectations in terms of developing the mythology and legends of Dune. But, being a die hard Dune fan, I did not regret buying it and will buy the upcoming novels in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor writing, changes history, but good plot, December 31, 2003
If you have read DUNE and the sequels but not the Dune Encyclopedia (ISBN: 0425068137) you will almost certainly find this prequel interesting enough to finish. If you are a fanatic about Dune and own the Encyclopedia this book will drive you nuts. Everything has changed. Norma Cenva is not an Ixian Refugee, but daughter to a Sorceress (?!). In fact she and Holtzman (who has had his name changed in this book and is no longer a cyborg robot ship) live in the same age and work together. The Thinking Machines are no longer subtle inventions that Butler only accidentally discovers killing humans (unnecessary abortions ordered by Hospital computers), but have totally run amok and are slaughtering people left and right in the street and enslaving all that rest. While from a conceptional viewpoint many things have merely been reinterpreted and repainted (by an overtly and extremely BROAD brush). Still, Frank Herbert specifically endorsed how the Encyclopedia told the Butler story. In fact, the similarity of the character names and roles makes it quite apparent that the author of the Encyclopedia had some kind of access to at least some (if not all) of the original notes Brian Herbert is using to base these new prequel books on. While Brian Herbert has more right to say what is Dune canon than some unrelated guy who wrote some speculative history he had no involvement in creating and called it an Encyclopedia, I feel the Prequel books ruin the world more than enhance it, especially when compared to the old Encyclopedia.
Despite this, the story is interesting. Brain Herbert may not be a great writer, but he has come up with some interesting ideas and reinterpretations of the Dune Universe. I don't think they are entirely consistent with the Dune universe, but if you can't afford the 80-100 bucks to get a used beat up copy of the old Dune Encyclopedia, you will find The Butlerian Jihad at least somewhat entertaining. If you don't know what Dune is, you are likely to find this book poorly written, and will miss much of what is being insinuated here.
And finally, on the official Dune website ([...]) Brian Herbert has said he intends to publish the "Dune Concordance," a collection of all the references in the books to the history, and I would assume the original background notes Frank Herbert himself must have kept. So there is still something to look forward to, even if you find yourself despising the prequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dune - The Butlerian Jihad
Dune - The Butlerian Jihad by Kevin J. Anderson (Hardcover - 2002)
Used & New from: $9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.