Customer Reviews

126
3.5 out of 5 stars
Dungeon Siege III - Xbox 360
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: StandardChange
Price:$13.84 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

74 of 82 people found the following review helpful
on June 22, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: Standard
Dungeon Siege 3 has been much awaited as it brings the Dungeon Siege element to the Consoles. While the game has under gone a drastic amount of changes is it enough for this game to stand on, or have the changes made done nothing but sink the ship? In short a bit of both! Dungeon Siege 3 simplifies the experience and gears the entire game for console users essentially putting the PC experience on the back burner. In doing so gone are the micro managing of your comrades, a basic inventory system with a very basic leveling system that does little to promote individual variety(you eventually unlock everything).

Still what we have here is a solid game that will not be a disappointment to the Hack & Slash RPG fans of ye olde day such as Diablo, Titan Quest, etc.

GAMEPLAY
What can I say.. it is a hack n' slash RPG. Be prepared to go through dungeons grinding away on mobs and collecting loot! Dungeon Siege 3 does not disappoint in this category. It brings lots of gameplay something crucial to any video game; especially a hack and slash type. You have a choice of 4 pre-made characters which of course breaks down into typical Warrior, Caster, Rogue etc. When not in dungeons you will be visiting towns to buy and sell goods, pick up some simple quests that are not to bad to complete, and of course continue the storyline. It is fairly simple but gets the job done. Dungeons are varied as are the types of mobs you encounter so things get changed up enough to not get boring. Throw in a variety of difficulty levels and drop-in/out co-op and you have a pretty solid gameplay experience.

Combat is handled exceptionally well I feel for a hack & slash on a console. Your main attack and 3 skills are bound to your attack buttons while blocking and your stances are controlled via the shoulder/trigger buttons. During mid-combat with the warrior-type lets say, a bunch of trash rushes you just switch to a 2-handed stance and hack away. By doing this you open up your 2 Handed skills. Middle of the fight a boss mob comes in you can just switch, on the fly, back to a sword/shield stance and of course unlock 1 handed skills. You can map 3 skills per stance which makes you have to choice between the available skills per stance. Toss in Proficiencies, which add some customization to the skills by allowing you to pick a perk for that skill, and you have a simple yet somewhat diverse set of skills. While it is no Diablo or Titan Quest in skill variety and customization it keeps it very simple.

GRAPHICS
The game looks pretty good on the console. I have not checked it out on the PC but it is a very pretty game. The fire effects aren't bad and the variety of colors and effects for your skills are awesome. By no means is this a perfect engine here but it has graphical appeal and does help to make the world a bit more recognizable. I did notice some slow down on the PS3 version when I was looking awkwardly at fire with the camera, but I tend to try and kill the frame-rates on purpose at times. Combat however was very smooth and I noticed no difference between the PS3 or 360 versions when it came to the FPS during combat or cut-scenes.

SOUND/STORY
The effects and sound track here aren't bad. I would say average. Nothing special to talk about but the voice acting I would say is sub-par. Many times it seemed as is the actors/actresses really did not care much about their lines. This puts a damper on the already boring storyline. Yes there is a storyline here for a Hack & Slash! A detailed storyline to boot! Problem is I found the storyline incredibly boring and uninteresting. A lot of it had to do with the dialogue as it really didn't sell you on the story. Still there is some meat here to give purpose to your adventure.

REPLAY/LENGTH
What good is a hack & slash without replay!? Well this game boasts some solid replay value if you are up for it. Where as past Hack and Slash games I have played allow you to continue on harder difficulties with your existing loot... not the case here. There is no Game+ feature here. Instead you just start a new difficulty from square one again. Replay value will come down to simple trophy/achievement collecting, simple enjoyment of the game and of course Co-Op. The game itself took me around 13-15 hours to complete on my play-through; and I have yet to replay it on another difficulty since nothing carries over.

*** CO-OP FEATURES *** ( 4 player ONLINE support, no LAN support, 2 player LOCAL co-op )
A crucial part of this game that people have been getting confused about. Co-Op works very strange in this game and while it does work.. it doesn't at the same time. Much like how the game really simplified the elements almost to a fault, the Co-Op was simplified far past a fault. Not only is there a lack of Game+ here, but Co-Op works fairly backwards for a game of this type. If you hop into a game online or with your friend only, your SP character WILL NOT be used. No progress you make with your friend/PUG will carry to your account. You are simply there for moral support you could say. To make things worse, even if you are doing Co-Op on different accounts (like a 4 player PUG group) the host is who the camera centers on. Meaning you are locked into the hosts camera frame. While this just takes time to get used to, it seems like a colossal step backwards compared to previous hack&slash titles. The overall Co-Op experience can be a lot of fun if you put aside gear, level and just work as a team to have some fun.

OVERALL 73% (7.3) .. C
Dungeon Siege 3 is not a bad game by any means. It simplified the Hack & Slash elements to suit the console but in doing so it over-simplified the elements down to a no-brainer. While perhaps a disappointment at first glance Dungeon Siege 3 still brings gameplay to the table and lots of it. There is plenty to do here, and despite a slightly simplified dungeon design you still have tons of baddies to plow through and loads of loot to gather.

A weak inventory system holds it back as does the Co-Op method used by the game but still... this is the kind of game Hack and Slash fans have been craving for a long time. It is a fresh change of pace for the genre despite being simplified. While not a full-price for some, it is a game worth picking up if you are a fan of the genre. The flaws in DS3's armor are not bad enough to ruin the game but it might leave a sour taste if you set expectations to high.

**NOTE: I was disappointed with the absence of SET items. However with no real game+ mode, and a 10-15 hr campaign it is understandable why they were probably absent
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on October 22, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: Standard
This game is somewhat short and almost predictable. While the graphics are amazing, the game however falls short in many categories. Ill break it down below.

Solo - If you like to play solo, this game is NOT for you. Unless you play as Marcus, you are pretty much going to have a tough time in this game. The AI team mate does not...I repeat does Not hold aggro or act with very strong AI support. I played as Katrina, and found it extremely difficult to get through the campaign because she is range. The so called dodge/roll is like a double edged sword. You can avoid attacks completely but when you come out of the dodge, you can not pre-aim while rolling. So if your rolling away from the mob, when you try to fire...you will have to spend the extra 1 or 2 seconds to re-aim or you will just shoot in the opposite direction of the mob. I put this in this part because if your not tanking, you will be doing this since the AI party member can not attack first or get aggro. There is no party member tactics. So your stuck with it.

Camera control - Still kinda hurt the game because you can not go low enough to see that far in front of you. Yet, you can look directly down at you which defeats the purpose of great graphics.

Character skills/abilities - Yes I only played Katrina but understand that there is NO reason to play this game again once you complete it. The selection of abilities/spells is rather limited and somewhat child's play. There are 3 tiers and with in the tiers there is 3 abilities/spells. You can increase each one of these but it is divided into 2 different categories and limited to a total of 5 improvements in each spell. By the time you reach the end. you will have mastered most of the skills even the ones you do not want to. Its a big waste. No reason to limit what you want your own abilities.

Travel - you run everywhere. There is no ability to teleport back to down or even take a short cut. In most cases, you have to go back and forth several times. While this may seem legit, it is worse when you have no ability to explore unless doing a quest. Although if you go every part while in a quest, you will find random chests everywhere. What is worse, you find yourself attacking the walls of the environment because you can not tell the difference between a breakable object with treasure inside or the wall.

Final review - If you are looking for a decent rental, this is a decent game for that. I would not recommend buying this game. The story line is excellent but do not expect too much from this game. If you play online...make sure you create your own server. You can transfer items from one character to another.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on July 17, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
This type of game is one of my favorite genres. Its one that my wife and I can play through together and have fun doing it. That being said there are some definate problems that I feel must be written down so other fans will know before the purchase of this game.

1)Probobly my biggest issue with this game is the scripted combat. Once you start your character swinging, punching, shooting, etc. the combat follows a pattern that doesnt vary. It is nice when the game makers give you the ability to create your own combo within your combat.

2)Next and maybe I'm nit-picking here but with the multiplayer there is some one sidedness to the conversations here. Yeah it is nice that all four players can select which dialogue that they would prefer in conversations but ultimately the party leader/player one has the only real choice in the matter. Also the money goes into a community pot rather than individual accounts which can be frustrating at times.

3)There is no way to have two players in the equipment selection screen as with other games in the genre. My wife and I have been fans of this type of game since the Balders Gate game came out on the PS2 whenever we could find a dungeon crawling multiplayer game we were there. Now this might not seem like such a big deal but when you each get something new that you want to checkout it can be quite annoying to have to wait while the other person takes his sweet time checking out the new item he just recieved(my own personel flaw).

There might be some other minor issues that I have with this game but all in all this is one of the best games in the genre to come out recently I would definatly recommend buying this game if you are into a good dungeon crawl with friends just be aware that player one ultimately in the one in charge of the story.

Hope this helps anyone still on the fence about this game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 20, 2012
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
I have played this game in the past and I enjoyed it only because I have played it with a friend but playing it by ones self it can be difficult so I recommend that if you decide to get this game make sure you have a friend to help you out because you wont get far by yourself
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 16, 2012
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: Standard
I was a big fan of Square/Enix until the 7th generation of video game consoles came out. They're starting to fall apart for some reason, and it's kind of sad. This game is no exception. Don't get me wrong, it is beautiful: the landscapes, the character models, the dungeons are all fantastically detailed. However, that's where its wonderful qualities fall away.

The story is neat, but the game isn't story-driven. There is a lot of dialog to listen to and literature to read through in the game, which would make you think that it's story-driven, but that isn't the case. There's an unusual amount of repetition, and the characters tend to drone on far too long about the current topic hammering in some point you already got a while ago. And a lot of the dialog is delivered with stiff, unfeeling characterization by the voice actors, which leaves the characters themselves unmemorable. This is a shame, since you spend about 10% of the game listening to these robots babble. You can, however, skip through the conversations. While they're meant to spur on the next bit of action, which where the meat of the game actually exists, the game has nailed the definition of the word "linear" so you really don't need to pay attention to the rambling to get from the beginning to the end without missing anything. Unfortunately, that just doesn't take that much time.

The entire game can be played through in about 10 hours, or ~15 if you have the DLC. At least, that number is what the final save will say, and it's a complete lie which I will get to later. However, it's still an overall small number of hours which is a boon since you have to play through at least 4 times to get all of the achievements. I'm a perfectionist and a completionist, but I hate when games force multiple playthroughs, especially in games like this and Mass Effect where playing through with a different character or class has a neglible effect on the story. Halfway through the second playthrough it. Just. Gets. Boring. Fortunately, you don't have to listen to all of the dialog each time but you can't just skip through a scene. You have to make choices, despite the fact that not a single one of them has any bearing whatsoever on the gameplay itself. Some of the choices will affect the ending you get, but big whoop. You can skip through the speech with the X button to get to the next choice selection screen, reducing your playthrough to about 8.5 hours of mostly travelling and fighting. That would be great if that part - the very meat of the game - didn't suck.

Combat is atrocious. The skills are neat, the attacks are well-animated, and the dodge and block mechanics are pretty good for what they are. Most of the game, you're fighting somewhat weak enemies. Two or three here, four or five there. However, every now and then the game will throw a barage of enemies at you that will do this incredibly annoying thing where, even on the easiest setting, they can drain your health bar in about .75s. That's 3/4 of a single second, and it is NOT an exaggeration. Less than one second and you're dead. On easy. Normal? .5s. Hard? .25s. There are enmies at the end of the game who can kill you with a single hit despite a full health bar. This results in a game of dodge and strike that simply isn't fun. The concept of tactics flies right out the window once you get about 20% of the way into the game (less if you're playing on hard, which you have to, of course, to get all the achievements). In a lot of games, blocking is actually useful. Not so much in this one: you need a high 'block' stat on your items in order to actually mitigate any damage your character receives, but nothing with a high block valyes comes in a damage-dealing flavor as well. To boot, the block value aren't really worth it since all of your equipment rarely totals more than 100 points of blocking but enemies dish out >1000 points of damage at a time. So you have to really on high attack values and lots of dodging. You just have to jump around like an idiot and strike whenever you happen to land near an enemy that, for whatever reason, can't attack you. Translated: this game is a glorified button-masher. Combat is little more than boring and repetitve game of hop-around that's useful against normal enemies, but not so much against the bosses.

I don't like it when games don't prepare the player for boss battles. It is NOT a pleasant surprise when you whoop your way through a bunch of mid-powered cronies to find out the area boss is 5x more powerful, which happens to be 4x more powerful than you. This games makes that into a joke. Bosses are easily 10x more powerful than the mobs leading up to them, who can already kill you while you blink, and some boss battles (Jeyne Kessinder and the final battle) add unstoppable super-powered moves. Jeyne has a leap-attack that you can't block, can't dodge, and which tracks you, so no matter where you were when she started the move and where you are when it ends, she still hits you and it will always kill you. The final boss has an attack that produces a STREAM of little orbs each one of which can take ~80% of a full health bar WHEN BLOCKING and which also will track you, quickly, no matter how much you dodge. That is to say, unless you are the Supreme Button Commander of the Universe, you WILL die when facing these bosses. You might say that most games mitigate damage-dealing enemies by giving the player decent armor and some high-powered weapons of their own, but I'd answer that this game isn't one of them.

Every now and then you'll find a decent weapon or piece of armor that has a handful of good perks, but it's often something that would have been most useful several levels earlier. With the DLC, you at least get to enchant your items at any point in the game, but it's expensive and so not useful until the very, very end when you're about to go up against the final boss and have your final set of equipment. The items they sell to you in the last store will spruce up your attacks for the final fight, but most of them literally have 0 defense. That's right: the game gives you absolutely no defense as you go up against a boss that can already kill you outright with a single shot that WILL connect no matter what you do. The problem is, even if you skip out on the super-powered effects of the items to keep whatever high defense you already have, you're still going to be used a mop because the bosses are just that strong. So in a game where enemies drop stuff constantly, the treasure table is just dull, boring, and ultimately useless. Sure, you'll need the most powerful weapons and armor that you can find if you hope to win the battles, but only because you need to output damage as fast as possible while you're still on your feet. Your defense scores won't matter: the only thing that can save you is your companion(s), who can revive you when you die.

Which leads me to the AI itself. This is another game like Mass Effect where you have a little helper following you around that has a great set of skills that you've invested in throughout the game and which they use like the most idiotic piece of trash in the world. In Mass Effect, your party members refuse to unload clips into enmies, jump out of cover despite low health bars and no shields, and use skills incredibly infrequently, which is about as unhelpful as it can get. Or so I thought. In Dungeon Siege III, if your AI-controlled buddy uses a skill during a fight, count yourself lucky. If you get killed and they actually disengage to come over and revive you before getting themselves killed and resulting in a game-over, count yourself super-lucky. If they actually attack more than once every 3 or 4 seconds (whereas the player will be attacking 3 or 4 times PER second) you are the luckiest person to ever play the game. I would say the AI is utterly useless, but it really is the only thing that keeps the game going when you get killed. The problem is that you have to play through a scene several times before the AI will actually manage to disengage the enemy and revive you in an order that allows you to live through it. This means that, despite the fact that your save at the end of the game will say something between 8 and 12 hours, you've probably actually put in upwards of 20. This extra overhead is just in terms of how many times you'll have to play the ridiculously long boss battles where you die several times and have to rely on getting superduperstupid lucky with the idiotic AI reviving you. The number you see at the end of the game is what it would have cost you to play through perfectly without dying once. That, in and of itself, would be worthy of the title "achievement".

The only other aspect of the game is the multiplayer. Multiplayer, especially with all 4 characters in use, can make the boss fights go just a little better than normal. However, for the most part it really dulls the game. In single player, you have to rely on selling items to generate money that you use at the end of the game to buy better equipment for the main character and maybe your favorite sidekick. Note this: if you do play this game, save your gold and don't ever buy anything until the very, very end of the game, because everything is replaceable and will be replaced quite quickly, which wastes any funds you may have spent. The final store is quite expensive, and you will want to get almost everything in it, which is really hard to do unless you haven't bought a single thing up to then. However, in multiplayer the other players need equipment too, which means you can't sell things willy nilly which results in your funds being spread thin. The good thing is, you can turn multiplayer on at any point, so if you're having a hard time with a boss you can open your game and get some random help. Which is also a negative point: unless you happen to have 3 friends with the exact same life schedule as you who enjoy RPGs, you're not likely to play with anybody you know. You'll have to allow the game to assign random strangers and this always results in your party having some moron who spends most of the time running into a wall instead of being useful. It really sucks that you have to play multiplayer to get certain achievements because it forces you to rely on a group of other people to do the right thing. I don't mind multiplayer, but I prefer it to stand on its own merits rather than get in the way of actually enjoying and completing a game.

I would love to love this game. The story is neat, but too short. The combat system is neat, but combat itself sucks. The voice acting is dull and stiff. Multiplayer is bland but sometimes helpful. The only thing great about it is that the art really is gorgeous.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: Standard
This is a pretty good game in the under 20 price range (currently) if you like playing rpgs with action elements and don't want to be playing the same game for a 4 month stretch. It's typical hack and slash gameplay; there is one sword button and the rest are special moves. Some strategy is required for the bosses and mini-bosses; you will die if you go head long into the battle and just stand there pressing the button. As has been stated in reviews it's a bit like gauntlet legends except with more story and upgradeable weapons and armor (maybe dragon age light is an appropriate description). Certainly not a boring game and you'll end up playing for a couple hour clips.

It's fairly short as far as length even if you do all the side missions but for 10-15 bucks you should enjoy the game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2013
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: Standard
Dungeon Siege 3 is, IMO, 3/5 stars. The original Dungeon Siege franchise used to be a party based, hack/slash game that focused on highly customizable character and party selections; however, the latest installment was a blatant clone of the Diablo franchise, without the strengths that Diablo has. While it is still a strong installment, it does not live up to the expectations or any of the potential that the release had.

The main problem is that the game play was far easier than any prior Dungeon Siege or Diablo game, and only had a few difficult parts. While the character's health was generally low and you can only define Katarina as "squishy," the dodging function was exceptionally overpowered. Once I got a good tempo while playing Katarina, I spent more time dodging than anything else. Due to the game's auto-target system, it was exceptionally easy to dodge, dodge, face in the general direction of your target, shoot, dodge. While this removed most, if not all, of the difficulty of the game, it added a level of difficulty created by the pure frustration of changing targets. Once the game selected a target, it was usually counter productive to attempt to change to a more desirable target than it was to simply kill all the least desirable targets to get to your intended target.

The second issue was that the story was completely unengaging.

The UI was cumbersome, and counterintuitive.

Finally, the exact way stats affected your character were never defined, leaving the power gamer in me screaming for satisfaction.

It's a clear step-down from the original Dungeon Sieges in almost every way, but it is very similar to the Diablo franchise now. The original Dungeon Sieges were hack/slashes, but were party based and unique enough to stand apart. If you don't have some other game to occupy your time, DS3 is an awesome game. However, don't go in expecting something comparable to DS 1 or 2. Expect another Diablo clone and while it is a pretty good clone, no clone is comparable to the original.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 5, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: Standard
I loved Baldur's Gate and Champions of Norrath, but with the upheaval of the D&D licenses following the Hasbro acquisition of WotC, it looked like we would never get a top-down dungeon crawl on the new gen consoles. But finally enter Dungeon Siege III.

A spiritual heir to BG and CoN in every way, DS3 is a classic dungeon hack-and-slash. There's a peripheral storyline, but like most hack-and-slash games you can easily ignore it if you're just here for the action.

My first solo play-through was with Reinhart and was a blast. Classic wizard, gotta be cautious at low levels, then blow everything away as you rank up. Anjali was my second, and favorite, playthrough - a good combo of close and ranged. I hit Lucas 3rd, even though he's the title character, and he's a typical tank. Katarina was my coop choice and was a good in-between Lucas and Anjali, though after playing through with Lucas she seemed lightning-fast.

Square-Enix did a gorgeous job with the graphics, especially evidenced in the fire and forest scenes. The gameplay is a bit repetitive, but you already knew that of this genre. What's fantastic is the drop-in, drop-out co-op mode that lets a buddy come to play but doesn't lock my campaign up when he has to leave. On the down side, money is single-pot and the co-op character has no real say in the campaign. On the 360 it's only a few bucks these days, so definitely worth picking up!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 31, 2011
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
Got this to play with my boyfriend. The controls are easy to learn and the gameplay is smooth and lots of fun. No stall for loading different areas in the game. The only issue is that sometimes the characters will not auto aim on an enemy. And end up shooting the walls.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 2, 2013
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
bought it CHEAP, played it for about 2 hours then got tired of it. That was many months ago and i still haven't played it since. Wouldn't recommend even though the graphics are good and it's a fun game. There's just too many other better games out there, now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Blades of Time - Xbox 360
Blades of Time - Xbox 360 by Konami (Xbox 360)
$13.99

The First Templar - Xbox 360
The First Templar - Xbox 360 by Kalypso Media (Xbox 360)
$13.74

Sacred 2: Fallen Angel - Xbox 360
Sacred 2: Fallen Angel - Xbox 360 by CDV Software Entertainment (Xbox 360)
$34.75
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.