Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the nostalgic the newcomer alike. A unique RPG Beat em Up
Finally, a way to play this game without having to worry about MAME emulators. Had no issues integrating my logitech controller. Some people are saying that they have issues forming a group of people, but in my experience, if you just start a game, you'll have people drop into your game pretty quickly. Had a full party before the end of the first level of both games,...
Published 12 months ago by R J.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Think you have to be nostalgic for this one...
I had never heard of this game before it originally came out and the concept excited me - a multi-player arcade game based around D&D with online play? Nice, sign me up!

But despite my initial excitement, this was a bit of a let-down. For one thing, the graphics have not been updated at all from the original arcade game, and it's very difficult to look at at...
Published 10 months ago by S. Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the nostalgic the newcomer alike. A unique RPG Beat em Up, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Finally, a way to play this game without having to worry about MAME emulators. Had no issues integrating my logitech controller. Some people are saying that they have issues forming a group of people, but in my experience, if you just start a game, you'll have people drop into your game pretty quickly. Had a full party before the end of the first level of both games, and we played it right through.

My only complaint is that Capcom doesn't do anyhting with this IP. The RPG BMup genre has way too little going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great classic arcade multiplayer experience brought to the computer., January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
First off, it's important to note the game comes with Tower of Doom as well as Chronicles of Mystara. This completes the classic arcade collection, and adds a whole extra arcade game/campaign to play.

For newcomers, the game is a blast to play a couple times with a friend. It's a fantasy beat-em-up with several different classes, and a large variety of enemies and pickups. Decent graphics, (the smooth filter used to scale the graphics seems a bit poor at times, but it's not bad most of the time. And you can always disable the filter if you want to see the original look.) and memorable music. (Although the title screen music for Tower of Doom is a bad choice, it loops almost immediately!)

The game is a lot of fun especially with a controller, although you'll probably want to setup your own scheme, since Tower of Doom and Shadows of Mystara have slightly different controls for some reason... (Also note, you have to press start on the controller at the first title loading screen to use a controller...).

Difficulty is actually really pretty easy due to having unlimited lives. It might have been a better/tougher experience actually, if you could set the amount of credits you start with... Not sure if there was a way to change that, I didn't see a way. It just counts up each time you die.

Story is pretty good for an arcade game, mostly set in stone, but at the end of some stages, you are given choices on which path you should take next. This adds quite a bit to the replayability and interaction.

Lastly, this port adds unlockables to the game; mostly interesting bits of artwork, and a few easy and challenge mode settings. It's not interesting though, and will probably be mostly appreciated by hardcore fans of the original.

Overall, it's a classic experience, and if you see it on sale I recommend considering picking it up along with a friend; and prepare to have quick a blast with this great little gem from the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Game, July 13, 2013
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Based on the game, i give it 5 stars. Its my first experience playing this game, and it is easily one of the deepest if not the deepest beatemup rpg ever created. If you're a fan of dark souls or demons' souls, i think you should also check this out. 2 great games, 2 thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to the arcade version., March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Basically just the two (excellent) arcade games with some additional play options/modes that increase the replay value.

It has some filters, but this is NOT an HD remake. It uses the original 90's era assets. So if you were expecting Crysis 3, well, that's more of a personal issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Think you have to be nostalgic for this one..., January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I had never heard of this game before it originally came out and the concept excited me - a multi-player arcade game based around D&D with online play? Nice, sign me up!

But despite my initial excitement, this was a bit of a let-down. For one thing, the graphics have not been updated at all from the original arcade game, and it's very difficult to look at at higher resolutions. This also does not have novelty of being played in an exciting (and distracting) arcade atmosphere when you're playing it at home, which gives you a lot of time to realize how limiting arcade machine game structures actually are. The controls are blocky and repetitive and you can really tell that the game was originally engineered to mine as many quarters as possible out of kids pockets.

I like arcade games, but without the nostalgia goggles for this one, I don't enjoy it at all. Online multiplayer helps a bit, but it's still very dull to play. It's a shame that this was pretty much a direct port - I might have enjoyed it more as a full-on graphical and control remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no HD, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
They saying this have renew Graphic but Not, it look like a mame graphic no more improve I was Cheated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dont get it at full price, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I got mine on a heavy sale, and for the money I spent it was worth it. But at full price you will be disappointed to know the graphics are not updated, issues with controllers abound, and you will be done with both games in about a few hours.

If you are a fan of the arcade version, its great for nostalgia, but not $15 of nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, prefer it on the Xbox, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I own the Sega Saturn version of this - imported it when it came out in 1999. Got this version for the PC and enjoyed it, but I would recommend getting it on the Xbox 360 if you have one since you can get Achievements there (and I don't pay any attention to the Steam ones)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love AD&D, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
But where is the HD graphic?
I wish CAPCCOM can really make a new chapter of the series, or give me a true remade game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars capcom hahaha, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I buy this game just cheep price.

actually MAME D&D game play is better than this.

multi has no man

and graphic is poor too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.