Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful organic music
This is one of the best albums I have purchased in a long time, so good that I bought the mp3 and I have now sent for the cd. I did this because I need to know who is playing the wonderful guitar accompaning her singing. The album hooks you right from the beginning with two great fast songs., where the playing and singing is exceptional! Her voice is truly a magnificient...
Published on October 21, 2012 by Eddie A. Ortiz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stop at Two
I have followed her spectacular unique voice, sent Duos to friends. There seems to be a bell curve to her music making-just like other superb musicians. Lawrence Benz
Published on December 19, 2012 by Benzman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful organic music, October 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duos III (MP3 Music)
This is one of the best albums I have purchased in a long time, so good that I bought the mp3 and I have now sent for the cd. I did this because I need to know who is playing the wonderful guitar accompaning her singing. The album hooks you right from the beginning with two great fast songs., where the playing and singing is exceptional! Her voice is truly a magnificient instrument which the guitarists have to keep up with. But I also love the slow haunting pieces, especially "Dindi" with its sparse guitar playing. I need to own the cd because I need to know who plays what and who is singing with Luciana on two songs. If you are a fan of Brazilian music this cd is a must. I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRAMMY-NOMINATED: MARVELOUS VOICE & EXCELLENT GUITARS IN BEAUTIFUL PERFORMANCES, September 21, 2012
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Duos III (Audio CD)
Multi-talented Grammy-winning jazz, MPB (Brazilian Popular Music), classical singer Luciana Souza, returns to her MPB roots for the third installment of her critically-acclaimed 'voice & guitar-only' recordings, of which Brazilian Duos was nominated for a Grammy. It features the accompanist work of 3 brilliant Brazilian guitarists: the legendary singer/guitarist/composer Toninho Horta, and the return of dazzling guitarists Marco Pereira and Romero Lubambo, all of whom get 4 songs each. Recorded partly in São Paulo, Brazil and Los Angeles, California, São Paulo-born Souza is a Paulista marvel of phrasing, emotion, and vocal gymnastics, blending wonderfully with the guitar of each musician. The 'best of the best' begins with her dancing, tongue-twisting version of the popular Dorival Caymmi song "Doralice". She puts her own singing/scatting nuances to the Elis Regina/Tom Jobim favorite "Inútil Paisagem" (Useless Landscape). "Pedra da Lua" (Moon Stone) features guitarist Horta who also sings/duets a verse of his composition. "Beijo Partido" (Broken Kiss) also by composer Horta gets one of the best interpretations ever by Luciana, nodding towards Flora Purim. And perhaps best of all "As Rosas Não Falam" (Roses Do Not Speak) and the entirely scatted performance of Pereira's song "Dona Lu". Produced by her husband Larry Klein, the audiophile sound is vividly intimate. Perennial jazz poll selectee Luciana Souza has produced another beautiful MPB duo recording. My Highest Recommendation. Five HUGE Stars! (12 tracks; Time: 41 min, 18 sec. This Grammy-nominated recording is being released simultaneously with Luciana's Book of Chet) which is also up for a Grammy: a rare feat!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic voice channeling Brazil, September 24, 2012
By 
staticantics (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duos III (MP3 Music)
Luciana Souza's newest release of Brazilian Bossa Nova inspiration ranges takes simple melodies and beats and transcends to a memorable ride of Brazilian emotions. Dona Lu is a fun take on a Bossa Nova scat. The ensemble is simple with a nylon-strung guitar and her sweet voice. The simple set up lends itself to multiple repeated listens without grating. A terrific album if you are looking to broaden your horizons to some great vocal talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Souza did it again, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duos III (Audio CD)
Duos III is almost as good as Duos II and even better than Duos Brazileiros. On these three disks, Souza is at her best, like a fish in the water. There's a nice mix of fast and slow songs (she sometimes forgets the more pacey stuff on her jazz albums), and she gives some of the most beautiful performances on record for many of them. Not too mention that her guitarists are ace players too. If you wonder how they play their almost impossible arrangements, think 7th string. In the case of Luciana it is probably 7th sense (or she has a singing organ that other singers don't).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as hearing her live, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duos III (Audio CD)
I purchased this after being privileged to see Luciana live in mid-November. In concert, her voice was so aurally soothing that I had to have some of her music. The best way I can describe the feeling of Duos III is the peace and satisfaction that comes from experiencing a warm afternoon rain at home with your windows open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes! Another Duos album!!!, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duos III (MP3 Music)
I first saw a duo performance of Luciana and Romero Lumbambo probably about five years ago at a jazz festival where I saw every other show with acts like Dave Holland and other big name jazz performers. I was blown away more by the amount of music and depth two people could create and the depth with which they conveyed the music more than any other performance during that festival. Since then I have got the other two duos albums and enjoyed them immensely. In this third installment you'll hear Luciana singing at her best with amazing accompaniment on guitar by some of the best in the world including Romero Lumbambo. If you enjoy Brazilian music I can't recommend these projects enough for well played duo music that is naked and has substantial depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stop at Two, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duos III (Audio CD)
I have followed her spectacular unique voice, sent Duos to friends. There seems to be a bell curve to her music making-just like other superb musicians. Lawrence Benz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duos III (Audio CD)
not quite as nice for me as duos I and II, but excellent and definitely a progression of the art. Eagerly await IV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duos III (Audio CD)
This is what Luciana does best. A joy to listen, again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly excellent music, performance, and recording quality., September 26, 2013
This review is from: Duos III (MP3 Music)
This CD is the perfect complement to Duos I and Duos II. Excellent guitar work, simply excellent and outstanding compositions and vocals and recording quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Duos III
Duos III by Luciana Souza (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.