Customer Reviews


463 Reviews
5 star:
 (271)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recent production batteries...not factory surplus apparently
I'm pretty used to buying batteries online and finding they had been made long before I ordered them (had some CR123 with experations the next month from another vendor). In at least my case, my batteries from this vendor show a production date of 3/30/10...and I ordered them on April 18th. You can't get any younger batteries (exp is Mar2016). I'll be checking this...
Published on April 22, 2010 by Chris L. Holmes

versus
79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Ad for Duracell Batteries
The items are not as represented by seller. These batteries are not in the original Duracell packaging. They come loose in a plastic bag. There is no way to tell if they are real, fake or have been used. Do not buy this product from this seller. Very misleading ad.
Published on April 20, 2012 by Paul D


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

119 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recent production batteries...not factory surplus apparently, April 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm pretty used to buying batteries online and finding they had been made long before I ordered them (had some CR123 with experations the next month from another vendor). In at least my case, my batteries from this vendor show a production date of 3/30/10...and I ordered them on April 18th. You can't get any younger batteries (exp is Mar2016). I'll be checking this distrbutor out for the rest of my battery needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Ad for Duracell Batteries, April 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The items are not as represented by seller. These batteries are not in the original Duracell packaging. They come loose in a plastic bag. There is no way to tell if they are real, fake or have been used. Do not buy this product from this seller. Very misleading ad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


220 of 262 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Batteries leaked, ruined camera, October 11, 2010
Picked up a pair of Duracell AA batteries on a vacation when my rechargeables died. The batteries started leaking after about two months of light use in the camera, and the clear liquid that came out couldn't all be cleaned from the camera, which now refuses to turn on with new batteries despite it being in near perfect condition otherwise.

I am in the market for a new camera... and I don't plan to buy Duracell again (I'll remember an extra set of rechargeables next time).

- - -

Edit, 12/14/2010:

I have gotten a bit of flack for putting a negative review on these batteries (just 1 out of 5 helpful, which is pretty typical when putting a negative review on Amazon). My review is to note that I got a lemon product. I realize it is probably rare, and there are plenty of folks who review the batteries who got a good set. But so long as there are lemons, there should be an occasional negative review on a product.

Reviews are almost entirely based on anecdotal evidence. Some folks happen to get a bad product (a lemon), so we rate the product we got, not the product we might have gotten. Other folks who purchased a good product (not a lemon) do the same. Looking at all the reviews, you get an overall impression of the integrity and utility of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chinese Knock-Offs? P&G says they are fake and they died quickly., February 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Update (2/27/12): I ordered 4 Duracell 9v from this seller. The picture you see here shows standard retail packaging. What I got was not retail packaging, it was 3rd party repackaged batteries. The seller says they repackage from large bulk packaging (they sent me a pic of a big box of batteries that also did not even say Duracell on the box). On further inspection, the batteries did not match the retail Duracell 9v's I already had. These batteries weighed about half as much and felt flimsy. These have 3 Chinese letters on the base with a date. They also had a symbol of a trash can crossed out with "EU" over it, a sign telling you not to throw these in the trash in the European Union. These batteries also died in half a day of use in a TENS unit, where the real Duracell's had lasted 2-3 days. I contacted Procter & Gamble (makers of Duracell) and they told me:
1. They do not allow their authorized sellers to repackage from bulk packaging. Any batteries not in retail packaging should be assumed to be fake.
2. Their batteries sold in the US do not have the standard EU "no trash" warning on them as these did.
3. Their batteries sold in the US do not have a date on the bottom or Chinese letters.

This is very unfortunate, as my previous review had been quite positive, having received true retail packaging and good batteries.

Here is my previous review:

Just received my batteries on 02/03/12. They were dated 9/27/11 (they are supposed to stay fresh for 7 years and are guaranteed by Duracell). They were in full retail display packaging that was unopened. Great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING THEY LEAK!, August 22, 2012
Upate 10/11/12: I know some can exaggerate but unfortunately I am not. I just found another flashlight, one of those little, metal Brinkmanns, where the batteries were not only corroded but I had to pry them out only to find a horrible odor. Half of the battery label was even eaten away. This is just unbelievable. What't the point of batteries if you have to constantly take them out and put them in only when you need to use the item!

----------------------------

I have had several Duracell batteries leak and ruin equipment. I have had to replace a thermostat, several radios, flashlights, remotes, etc. Duracell will not do a thing about it and in fact have a FAQ that states not to get the leakage on you or clothing.

Most recently I checked a remote and not just a little bit but the entire battery compartment was covered in battery leakage. The batteries were dated March 2016 - this is 2012!

I am not exaggerating how many things have been ruined by Duracell batteries - it blows my mind.

Check your equipment!

Very expensive when you realize the amount of equipment that needs to be replaced!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DEAD!, December 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I went through five sets of these in ONE DAY taking pictures. I didn't even take that many. These were so bad!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duracell batteries at an Amazon price, May 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you check out local stores, you will find these are at least a bit below retail sales price for these batteries. Batteries will always be around the same price, but a few dollars off is worth getting them through Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batteries, batteries, batteries!, March 31, 2010
By 
Sara Schmitt (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got these about three weeks ago, and still haven't used them up yet. So many batteries. Awesome. So far, they've lasted about four times as long in my Canon digital point-and-shoot than my Energizer rechargeables. And they're on track to outperform the regular Energizers in my Xbox controllers. I think I'm a coppertop convert. The price is pretty good, too--probably not the absolute cheapest, but these are real Duracells (not knockoffs) that are far from their expiration date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Delivered product does not match webpage, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As many others have reviewed, I got the batteries in a lose package and they were made in China, whereas the Amazon website shows Duracell packaging and mentions "Made in USA".
Also this product is "Fulfilled by Amazon", i.e. shipped and packed at Amazon warehouses!

I have written an email to Amazon, lets see how Amazon responds:

I am writing to complain about misleading product placement on Amazon website.
I ordered Duracell Batteries as part of Order <redacted>.
There were couple of issues:
1. Amazon Website shows them in Duracell packaging, but I got it in lose bag.
2. Amazon website claims this is made in the USA, but the batteries have Made in China printed.
After seeing the customer reviews for the product in detail, I see that many customers have already complained about this and also that the product is not working as expected. Why has this still not be pulled from the Amazon store?
I also find it shocking that this is a "Fulfilled by Amazon" product - were there no quality/authenticity checks done?
Requesting you to look into this matter. In the meantime I am returning this product.
Pictures of the packaging and battery attached. Also, the Amazon website screenshot attached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead Batteries, February 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a disabled person I rely on ordering things online since it's very difficult for me to get out and I dont drive. I ordered these batteries and it took them 16 days to get here and when they arrived all of them were dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Duracell Coppertop AA Batteries Retail Pack 20-Count (Pack of 3)
$80.23
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.