Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Par
These worked about as well as our Rayovacs. I stocked up for our baby swing that was chewing through batteries at an insane rate. The Rayovacs seemed to have a slow tapering fade while the Duracells held out good performance for longer but had a quick death. Each brand would work the swing for 1.5 days of use.
Published on December 1, 2011 by Ayn Prinn

versus
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over-priced low-capacity batteries - You can do better for less
Don't be fooled by the hefty size of those DURACELL D RECHARGEABLE BATTERIES. Each so-called 'D battery' is a mostly empty shell with a sub-C cell inside. The capacity of this sub-C cell is just 2200mAh, which is similar to that of a typical AA rechargeable NiMH cell (2000-2500mAh).

To put this capacity number in perspective: a typical alkaline D battery such...
Published 18 months ago by NLee the Engineer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over-priced low-capacity batteries - You can do better for less, February 7, 2013
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
Don't be fooled by the hefty size of those DURACELL D RECHARGEABLE BATTERIES. Each so-called 'D battery' is a mostly empty shell with a sub-C cell inside. The capacity of this sub-C cell is just 2200mAh, which is similar to that of a typical AA rechargeable NiMH cell (2000-2500mAh).

To put this capacity number in perspective: a typical alkaline D battery such as Duracell Coppertop is rated 18,000mAh (when driving a light load of 50mA), or 8x higher than the rechargeable counterpart. So let's say a set of alkaline D cells can power your baby swing for a week to 10 days. When you switch to those rechargeable D cells, you need to recharge them once every day.

Instead of those low-capacity Duracell D cells, consider other alternates with higher capacity and/or lower cost. For examples:
- Rayovac Platinum Low Self Discharge NiMH D Size Batteries: those provide 1/3 higher capacity (3000mAh) for just half the cost.
- Tenergy Centura D Size Low Self-Discharge-LSD NiMH Rechargeable Batteries: those contain nearly 4x the capacity (8000mAh) for about the same cost.

One word of caution: Most inexpensive 'universal' chargers cannot fully recharge batteries with capacity over 3000mAh. So if you want to use D rechargeable batteries with higher capacity, you'll need a charger that specifically says it can handle high capacity batteries. Consider, for example, the Tenergy Advanced Universal Charger TN190.

In the long run, using rechargeable batteries will save you money and is good for the environment. You just need to pick your batteries and chargers wisely, so that you won't over pay for an inferior product such as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BATTERIES HAVE BEEN DISCONTINUED, November 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
After receiving the batteries, noticing the old looking packaging I gave Duracell a call. After a 15 min wait I was reassured that THEY HAVE NOT PRODUCED RECHARGEABLE D CELL BATTERIES FOR 5 YEARS. Amazon needs to take this down. The batteries have to all be expired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WATCH FOR OLD EXPIRATION DATES!!!!!, March 15, 2012
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
Be sure to check the expiration date on your batteries when they arrive. I got some supposed to have a 5 year expire date and they only had 3. AMAZON tried to make it "right" and send me some with 4 year expiration dates while allowing me to keep the ones with 3 year expire dates::::-CAVEAT EMPTOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
These are AA batteries in a D casing. They will work ... about as long as an AA battery powering a D battery device. And yet they sell them for the same price as a real "D" battery. Your money is better spent on true rechargeable D batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars over priced, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
Did not pay close attention to liyer's boilerplate. Maybe they said they could substitute these low performance duds for Tenergy D cells. The weight of the cells suggest they have the capacity of an AAA cell. Check the terms of your supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless in just a few cycles of charging, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
Please do not buy this product. Instead spend some more to buy Tenergy D Size 10,000mAh.
This seems to me like fake rechargeable batteries. I have also purchased the other brand I mentioned for comparison.
Tenergy last for 3/4 weeks in the device I use while Duracell just 5-6 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inferior Product, January 10, 2013
By 
ICUAlex (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
At 2200 mAh, the capcity of this battery is 25-50% less than many of the other rechargeable D batteries available. Tenergy's Premium D (at 10,000 mAh) certainly seems to be a much better deal. Duracell used to lead the pack in battery performance and value, but sadly this product just doesn't deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unacceptable, October 12, 2013
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
When a nickel metal hydride battery could easily hold a 10,000 mah charge, why would anyone want to settle for this Duracell D, which holds about a fourth as much. Even Radio Shack's D rechargeable is rated at 5,000 mah, which is a C size capacity. Spend a little more on a set of Tenergy or Powerex D batteries. Don't let a big name fool you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Par, December 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
These worked about as well as our Rayovacs. I stocked up for our baby swing that was chewing through batteries at an insane rate. The Rayovacs seemed to have a slow tapering fade while the Duracells held out good performance for longer but had a quick death. Each brand would work the swing for 1.5 days of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK (Health and Beauty)
I bought these yesterday and paid extra to get them fast. I'm sorry I did because they aren't worth the money. I was disappointed. I barely used them and they are already dead and sitting in the charger. It takes any D battery a long time to recharge but you expect them to last a little while before you have to recharge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DURACELL D BATTERIES RECHARGEABLE 2 PACK
$15.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.