Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good...but with a big drawback.
I would like to give this charger 5 stars, I really would. It charges both the batteries it came with and the extra pack of NiMh AAA's I bought seperately in record time, between 30-45 mins usually. That is spectacular.

However, it absolutely will not charge any of the batteries I already own and have charged previously with a different charger. Eight of these...
Published on December 22, 2009 by D Allen

versus
91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be a great mobile charger - except for one flaw
The Duracell Go Mobile Charger CEF26 sounds like an ideal solution for recharging AA/AAA cells on the road. It accepts either universal AC (100-240V) or 12V from car battery, and it recharges cells in just around one hour. Note that many other so called 'one hour' charger usually require at least 2 hours when charging 4 cells. But this Duracell Go Mobile charger charges...
Published on August 14, 2009 by NLee the Engineer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be a great mobile charger - except for one flaw, August 14, 2009
This review is from: Duracell Go Mobile Charger / Rechargeable / includes car adaptor and 2 AA / 2 AAA precharged, rechargeable batteries, (Electronics)
The Duracell Go Mobile Charger CEF26 sounds like an ideal solution for recharging AA/AAA cells on the road. It accepts either universal AC (100-240V) or 12V from car battery, and it recharges cells in just around one hour. Note that many other so called 'one hour' charger usually require at least 2 hours when charging 4 cells. But this Duracell Go Mobile charger charges at the same current of 2.3A (for AA) or 0.98A (for AAA) whether you put in 2 or 4 cells. That's why it takes less than one hour to fully recharge those included 2000mAh Duracell Pre Charged AA cells.

Unfortunately, there is a major design flaw with this charger: it charges in pairs only. That is, you can only recharge either 2 or 4 cells, and you cannot group AA and AAA in a pair.

Why is charging NiMH cells in pairs a very bad idea? Suppose you have one cell that is only partially discharged, and another one that is fully discharged. When you charge those two as a pair in this charger, the charging process will terminate as soon as the first cell is full (signaled by a negative dV/dt in the combined voltage). But the second cell is still half empty at this point. Naturally, when you use those two cells together in an appliance, the power will run out much sooner.

Then there's always the problem when your appliance requires either one or three cells. Now you are left with one drained cell that you cannot charge. If you try to charge a drained cell in series with a full one, you're end up with the above situation again.

If you always use identical NiMH cells in pairs, and you never mix up cells from different appliances, then the Go Mobile Charger is still worth considering. For the rest of us, however, the Duracell Mobile Charger CEF23DX4N may be a better choice. It charges cells individually (but at a lower current of 550mA), has four status indicator lights, and even doubles as an USB power source.

[Update on Oct 8, 2010]:
Duracell has discontinued the excellent CEF23 charger (at least in the US) last year. So prices for the dwindling inventory have skyrocketed.
- If you just need an inexpensive 2-cell charger that can handle individual cell, consider the Sanyo eneloop MDR02.
- If you need a good 4-cell charger that can operate from 12V cigarette lighter adapter, consider the Targus LCD2700 with LCD Display
- If you need an advanced charger that can operate from 12V CLA, consider the La Crosse Technology BC500
- If you need a good 4-cell charger that can operate from 12V CLA _and_ can power an USB port using internal batteries... Sorry! Your best hope is to look for an international version of CEF23, such as the CEF23AU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good...but with a big drawback., December 22, 2009
By 
This review is from: Duracell Go Mobile Charger / Rechargeable / includes car adaptor and 2 AA / 2 AAA precharged, rechargeable batteries, (Electronics)
I would like to give this charger 5 stars, I really would. It charges both the batteries it came with and the extra pack of NiMh AAA's I bought seperately in record time, between 30-45 mins usually. That is spectacular.

However, it absolutely will not charge any of the batteries I already own and have charged previously with a different charger. Eight of these are Duracell NiMh 1000mAh AAA's and are less than two months old. And they charge fine in my old charger. I also have assorted AA's I tried, some of which are Duracell and are all NiMh and fall within the specs of the charger. No dice, it just flashes red.

So, if you are planning to charge only new Duracell batteries and only in this specific charger, then this may be the charger for you. If your situation is like mine, then you will likely need to have two chargers going. Just remember not to mix up your batteries or all you will have in the end is a charger that constantly flashes red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be a great mobile charger - except for one flaw, May 20, 2012
I have tested an older model of Duracell Mobile Charger, the CEF23DX back in 2008. I found it to be an extremely versatile product and highly recommend it (see my Amazon review for details). Unfortunately, Duracell subsequently discontinued the CEF23, and replaced it with this model, the Duracell Go Mobile Charger CEF26DX.

Both the old CEF23 and new CEF26 are very flexible in terms of input power. They can accept universal supply voltage of 100-240V AC, and also 12V DC from your car battery.

The main selling point of CEF26 is that it is a '1-hour' charger. That is because its charging current is relatively high at 2300mA for AA cells, 980mA for AAA cells. So it takes just around one hour to fully recharge a pair of 2000mAh Duracell precharged AA cells. In contrast, the old CEF23 charges at one-quarter the current (550mA), so the required charge time is around 4 hours. Faster charge rate is often desired while charging on the road. On the other hand, slower charge rate is better for battery lifespan.

The Duracell Precharged batteries included in this package may be either rebranded Sanyo Eneloop, or Rayovac Hybrid. Here's how you can distinguish between those two types:
- The rebranded eneloop cell is made in Japan, and has a white ring around its positive terminal.
- The rebranded Hybrid cell is made in China, and has a black ring around its positive terminal.
Unfortunately, there is no way to tell which type of batteries you will receive at the time of your order.

Finally, there is a major design flaw with the CEF26: it charges in pairs only. That is, you can only recharge either 2 or 4 cells at a time. This is most inconvenient when you have appliances that require odd number of batteries, such as LED flashlights. If you try to recharge a completely drained cell with a partially full cell, charging will stop as soon as the second cell is full (as signaled by negative delta-voltage on their combined voltage). But the first cell is still half empty at this point! Naturally, when you use those two cells together in an appliance, the power will run out much sooner.

If you always use identical NiMH cells in pairs, and you never mix up cells from different appliances, then this Go Mobile Charger CEF26 is still worth considering. Otherwise, consider getting the old Duracell Mobile Charger CEF23AU instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Charger, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duracell Go Mobile Charger / Rechargeable / includes car adaptor and 2 AA / 2 AAA precharged, rechargeable batteries, (Electronics)
This charger comes with batteries which works very good! It has a built in indicator which let you know when your batteries are charged and it charges quickly! Great product for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little charger, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duracell Go Mobile Charger / Rechargeable / includes car adaptor and 2 AA / 2 AAA precharged, rechargeable batteries, (Electronics)
This is a great little charger. It is well made and charges quickly. If you are looking for something in this line, I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duracell Go Mobile Charger / Rechargeable / includes car adaptor and 2 AA / 2 AAA precharged, rechargeable batteries, (Electronics)
Nothing out of the ordinary, includes AA(2000mAh) and AAA(800mAh), nice build quality and the batteries works great without any problem at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duracell charger from Amazon, December 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Work well. I like the fact that you can charge 4 batteries at a time, either AA's or AAA's. Saves money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally awesome, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duracell Go Mobile Charger / Rechargeable / includes car adaptor and 2 AA / 2 AAA precharged, rechargeable batteries, (Electronics)
Totally great to have batteries that is ready to go when u need them. The charger come with 2 aa and 2 aaa battery. Since than I purchase additional set of aaa and aa batteries. I have 2 compartment which I which I set aside those battery that already been charged and a separate compartment for battery to be charge. The charger also come with car adapter as well as a home charger. The charger must have 4 battery in it for it to work. It will not work with only 2 battery in is slots with 2 slots empty. Btw additional battery doesn't have to be Duracell, the other brand will work fine. Just beware of the amp hour, amp hours will determine the length of the time the battery will operate. Also be aware that with rechargeable the more frequent you charge them, the battery will show a slight diminish in use time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please do not buy it, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duracell Go Mobile Charger / Rechargeable / includes car adaptor and 2 AA / 2 AAA precharged, rechargeable batteries, (Electronics)
I bought this on October 24th 2013 and it stopped working on December 15th 2013. I have been using a duracell charger which i bought from walmart for the past 3 years and bought this one as its replacement. Please dont waste ur money on this model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best rechargeable battery I've use, November 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duracell Go Mobile Charger / Rechargeable / includes car adaptor and 2 AA / 2 AAA precharged, rechargeable batteries, (Electronics)
These batteries held their charge longer than any batteries I've use in my kodak max camera Now I won't have to carry so many extra The charger worked great batteries were charge in an hr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.