Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sooo long to charge!
It's a very sturdy charger. Once you shove a battery in, it won't fall out. I find it a bit annoying, but it's nice to know that it won't fall out since it is a wall plug in model.

It does take an absolutely long time to charge, but it's a good overnight charger.

Reasons why I've not traded it in for a faster charger is..

1- I've had it...
Published on December 30, 2008 by <3 Mochi

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Obsolete stock
These are VERY old stock Duracells that are being unloaded. If you look closely you will see that these are only 1800mAh AA's. The new Duracell's you can buy everywhere are 2750 for the most part. I was burnt on this deal and disappointed when these batteries showed up. My 2 year old Duracells are more powerfull than these!!! Most NiMH battieries will be between...
Published on December 15, 2008 by Tad A.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Obsolete stock, December 15, 2008
By 
Tad A. (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These are VERY old stock Duracells that are being unloaded. If you look closely you will see that these are only 1800mAh AA's. The new Duracell's you can buy everywhere are 2750 for the most part. I was burnt on this deal and disappointed when these batteries showed up. My 2 year old Duracells are more powerfull than these!!! Most NiMH battieries will be between 2500-2900mAh these days. That's a big difference in amount of run time. There's nothing "wrong" with these per se but they are just flat out obsolete in terms of power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sooo long to charge!, December 30, 2008
It's a very sturdy charger. Once you shove a battery in, it won't fall out. I find it a bit annoying, but it's nice to know that it won't fall out since it is a wall plug in model.

It does take an absolutely long time to charge, but it's a good overnight charger.

Reasons why I've not traded it in for a faster charger is..

1- I've had it for a year and it's still working
2- It's soo small and convenient to travel with
3- it charges both AAs and AAAs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money charger, December 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Duracell Value Charger With 4aa Rechargeables Battery, 4 Count (Health and Beauty)
Simple and value for money NiMH charger from Duracell. Came only with 1800mA batteries and not 2300mA as stated on Amazon as well as Circuit City website. Takes 6 hours to charge 4 1800mA AAs. Good thing is that it works from 110V to 240V making it universal. It is reasonably compact (with no wires and no external AC-DC adaptor)It directly plugs into the power socket and the plug turns and snaps into the body of the charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon's shame representation, December 15, 2005
By 
Paul "Traktor" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duracell Value Charger With 4aa Rechargeables Battery, 4 Count (Health and Beauty)
Amazon is claming:

* Great entry-level charger system

* Charges four AA / AAA NiMH batteries in 6-10 hours

* Includes four 2300mAh NiMH AA batteries

It is only 1800mAh which makes these rechargeable an average capacity by today standards, while if it was as Amazon claims it would have been a nice step up. Shame on Amazon, oversight or misrepresentation. Charger is cheaply made. It can charge 4 AA or only 2 AAA. Poor design. The charger that came with my camera can do 4 AAA, go figure. Get something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, November 26, 2011
Bought two of these, after only two charges the batteries don't stay in the charger. The springed part to hold them in pops them out because the front part doesn't securely snap them in anymore. Supercheap metal has worn down or something. Also, even when held in manually one of the chargers simply doesn't light up or work whatsoever.

Dumb things like this never cease to amaze. Replacing with competitors brand tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decreasing Quality, September 19, 2009
I bought one of this four years ago and it was a very good inversion. Charger was Ok and Batteries keep the charge. I got a similar one a couple a months ago and it is a cr..It gest HOT and turned Off. Batteries never get charged. I'm looking for customer reviews on new models to buy another one. I lost my money in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A better 'Value Charger' now - though still not good enough, February 15, 2010
This review is from: Duracell Value Charger With 4aa Rechargeables Battery, 4 Count (Health and Beauty)
Duracell has updated the 'Value Charger' CEF14NC in this package. The old model is black and shaped like a sea shell, with batteries in slightly fanning-out positions. The new one is gray and more rectangular. It offers several improvements over the previous version:

- It accepts 100-240V universal AC input (instead of just 120V AC)
- It can charge up to 4 AAA cells (instead of just 2 AAA)

The charging current is same as before: 360mA when charging AA cells, 180mA for AAA cells. That's why it takes about 6-8 hours to recharge a set of exhausted AA cells with capacity 2000-2650mAh.

One remaining drawback with this charger is that it still charges in pairs. That is, either 2 or 4 cells. This is very inconvenient when you have appliance that requires either 1 or 3 cells. Now you're left with one cell that you cannot charge. If you try to charge one exhausted cell together with one that is full, then the second cell will be over-charged (becuase the charger only stops when the combined voltage of two cells is high enough). NiMH cells are fairly robust, so they are unlikely to burst or leak when over-charged occasionally. But over-charging is very bad for battery lifespan in the long run.

Although this 'value charge' is better than previous version, this package is still not a good value. This is beacuse it comes with ordinary NiMH AA cell, instead of the new Pre-Charged NiMH cells. For a few dollars more (as of this writing), I recommend buying the Duracell Pre Charged Rechargeable Nimh Batteries Combo. It contains the same CEF14NC charger, plus four Pre-Charged AA and four AAA cells. If you need to charge odd number of cells occasionally, then I recommend buying the Sanyo Eneloop 2 Pack AA NiMH Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries w/ Charger in addition to this one. It contains a compact charger 'MDR02' that can handle 1-2 cells, and it recharges much faster.

[Update on Feb 25, 2010]
When I wrote the above review, the Amazon product page showed the picture of a new value charger. But now the picture is switched back to the old charger. I guess that means you cannot know in advance which version you're going to receive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value!, August 19, 2006
This review is from: Duracell Value Charger With 4aa Rechargeables Battery, 4 Count (Health and Beauty)
grabbed this charger a few months ago, and i cant be happier..its a great value..first of all you get the charger...which is not a hyper speed charger, but it works really well. also, you get 4 AA bonus batteries included its a excellent buy...i took this with me on my trip to canada, to charge my batteries for my digital cameras, gameboy etc... because who wants to spend money on batteries?? id rather spend my hard earned cash on other things..

batteries are getting expensive..and then what? you got to throw them out and get more and then you dont really know how old they are....its like throwing money out the window! get with the times invest in some rechargeables and save MONEY when they die just pop them in charge them and your good to go..its a no brainer..they virtually pay for themselves..

oh and the good thing of this model charger is..you can also recharge AAA batteries also..great value.. if your a smart consumer grab this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Duracell Charger, July 9, 2007
This review is from: Duracell Value Charger With 4aa Rechargeables Battery, 4 Count (Health and Beauty)
Don't waste your money! The green light indicated the batteries were charged but when I tried to use them they didn't work. I put them back in the charger and the red light was on for a while then it turned off (not green). When I would readjust the batteries the red light would turn on again. I could never get this thing to work. I bought it at Walgreens for only 9.99 but not worth the money. I'm going to invest in the Energizer 15 minute charger instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, April 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the battery chargers were not working properly and were just no good. Label this review to let customers know you purchased the items at amazon.com, not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.