Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lifesaver
For those of us with canes, this is an inexpensive way to get good traction in ice and snow. It attaches to an ordinary cane so that the metal prongs can be flipped up and down as needed.
Published on November 1, 2007 by Judith Guttman

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dangerous on snow
These are more dangerous on snow than the rubber tip of your crutches. The 5 prongs capture the snow, which balls up, creating a snow on snow interface with the ground. I'm writing from Jackson Hole Wyoming, and I've been using forearm crutches for 10 months now. I'm more familiar with crutching on snow and ice than I ever want to be. DO NOT USE THESE. Try...
Published on November 28, 2011 by climber


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lifesaver, November 1, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those of us with canes, this is an inexpensive way to get good traction in ice and snow. It attaches to an ordinary cane so that the metal prongs can be flipped up and down as needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, February 12, 2007
By 
D. Long (, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have problems walking in snow and ice. This product has saved me more times that I can count. It is good in ice, but also works on grass when it is slippery. If you use a single prong cane this is a must have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5-Prong Ice Grip Cane attachment, March 17, 2009
OH, MY GOSH!!! This tiny little "ice pick" has saved me several times this winter from taking a spill. It screws onto your cane quickly. Folds down when you need it and when you are inside, push the two buttons on the side and the prongs flip up out the way. Someone like me with MS just doesn't need to fall anymore than necessary.
People all over ask me where I got "that fine device" from and I tell them AMAZON!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for crutches+ice, September 29, 2011
By 
LCB (Somerville, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duro-Med 5 Prong Ice Grip Cane/Crutch Attachment (Health and Beauty)
I broke my foot last winter and spent ages on crutches in the frozen tundra that is Boston. Since I'm a student, I kept going to class as much as possible, which includes a pretty major commute. One day, on the bus, an elderly gentleman held up his cane and said menacingly "you gotta get you some of *these!!*" After my initial shock, I realized that he had ice picks on his cane. Oh sweet joy of joys. I ordered them that day. Of course, the tundra started melting the next week, but those seven days were excellent, increasing my speed and decreasing my falls. Plus, I could use them to threaten friends and assailants alike. Seriously, before I had these, this girl pushed me into a snowbank to get past me. Had I already had these babies, her face would've been mincemeat, though I would've probably been arrested).

The only reason they get 4 stars instead of 5 is durability. The frame bent fairly quickly, and the spikes started to bend quickly thereafter. I was able to bend the frame back into working order, but had I been purchasing these for a more permanent solution rather than an injury (cane vs crutches), I'd have been very upset. As it was, I got my $20 worth (each order is only one, so if you need a pair, order two).

I did like that the frame folded up to a non-use position, prolonging the life, but it was during this that the frame caught on something and bent. One note of caution: be sure to keep the spikes on the outside of the crutches/cane for the non-use position. It's slightly harder to engage, but less crappy than tearing your one good ankle up with spikes that you aren't using.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dangerous on snow, November 28, 2011
This review is from: Duro-Med 5 Prong Ice Grip Cane/Crutch Attachment (Health and Beauty)
These are more dangerous on snow than the rubber tip of your crutches. The 5 prongs capture the snow, which balls up, creating a snow on snow interface with the ground. I'm writing from Jackson Hole Wyoming, and I've been using forearm crutches for 10 months now. I'm more familiar with crutching on snow and ice than I ever want to be. DO NOT USE THESE. Try "Retractable Ice and Snow Spike Tip for Canes and Crutches - Medium by The Wright Stuff"Retractable Ice and Snow Spike Tip for Canes and Crutches - Medium instead. These work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Safety Aid - Highly Recommneded!, January 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duro-Med 5 Prong Ice Grip Cane/Crutch Attachment (Health and Beauty)
The Ice Grip Attachment is a great safety aid for cane users. We live in the North-East and get more than our fair share of snow and ice and, unfortunately, we also occasionally need to use canes to get around. With this handy device attached to our canes, we feel a lot safer when walking on ice covered surfaces. We have bought 4 of these for ourselves and our elderly parents and are very pleased with them. Here are my observations:

Pros -
+ Easy to Install - The bracket has been easy to attach to every cane we have tried
+ Easy to Use - The prongs can be deployed and locked into place with minimal effort

Cons -
- Exposed Prongs - When not deployed for walking, the prongs point up and can get snagged on pant legs

Misc -
* Bulky - A bit of an eyesore on nicer canes

Overall, I am very pleased with these Ice Grips and even find myself using a cane with one of these attached for extra stability in snow and ice when my joints don't hurt.

Highly Recommended!

CFH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crutch tip review, March 25, 2008
By 
Craig D. Warner (Weston, Oh United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This product does work but I experienced it snapping out of place and almost causing me to fall on more than one occasssion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These crampons for crutches are excellent!, January 30, 2011
This review is from: Duro-Med 5 Prong Ice Grip Cane/Crutch Attachment (Health and Beauty)
Broke my tibia and fibula and live in NH...this has been a very snowy & icy winter, I was very nervous about the walk from parking garage to office in downtown Manchester....these crampons for my crutches saved my life and gave me extra confidence for getting around! Very liberating and SAFE!!!!! If you are on crutches, in the winter in a snow/ice area, this is a MUST HAVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product, December 11, 2010
By 
R. Schnell (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Duro-Med 5 Prong Ice Grip Cane/Crutch Attachment (Health and Beauty)
This ice grip is just great. It is sturdy, secure and easy to use. I can even operate it with one hand while holding the cane with the other. I recommend it highly to aid in walking on ice, snow and even grass in the summer. Some of my other friends have this also and they feel much safer with it on their cane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Safety Aid For Canes, Highly Recommneded, January 14, 2010
The Ice Tip Attachment is a great safety aid for cane users. We live in the North-East and get more than our fair share of snow and ice and, unfortunately, we also occasionally need to use canes to get around. With this handy device attached to our canes, we feel a lot safer when walking on ice covered surfaces. We have bought 4 of these for ourselves and our elderly parents and are very pleased with them. Here are my observations:

Pros -
+ Easy to Install - The bracket has been easy to attach to every cane we have tried
+ Easy to Use - The prongs can be deployed and locked into place with minimal effort

Cons -
- Exposed Prongs - When not deployed for walking, the prongs point up and can get snagged on pant legs

Misc -
* Bulky - A bit of an eyesore on nicer canes

Overall, I am very pleased with these Ice Grips and even find myself using a cane with one of these attached for extra stability in snow and ice when my joints don't hurt.

Highly Recommended!

CFH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Duro-Med 5 Prong Ice Grip Cane/Crutch Attachment
$9.99 $6.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.