Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $22.00 (88%)

Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Duty, Honor, Planet Kindle Edition

125 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 516 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

"Seveneves"
Browse more selections from author Neal Stephenson.

Complete Series

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Rick Partlow was born in Tampa, FL, attended Florida Southern College, served in the US Army Infantry as a platoon leader and is currently a teacher, photographer and writer. He is married with two children.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1555 KB
  • Print Length: 516 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publication Date: July 31, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005FD1YMU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #271,720 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

I am that rarest of species, a native Floridian. I was born in Tampa in 1966, the son of a Baptist preacher. Dad was in his early 40s when I was born and had been the nose gunner on a B24 bomber in WWII---he had been shot down over the Ploesti Oil Fields, bailed out of his bomber and spent nearly a year in a POW camp.

Needless to say, his stories had quite the effect on me as a child, as did the tales of Robert Heinlein, whose "juvenile" novels shaped my adolescence. I fell in love with science fiction early.

I attended Florida Southern College on an ROTC scholarship and graduated with a BA in History and a commission in the Army. I served as an Infantry platoon leader with the 25th ID in Hawaii before getting out and bouncing around from one job to another for a while before settling on teaching.

And through that whole time, I was writing. I wrote my first novel (a wretched espionage thriller/action story) in 10th grade, my second (a wish fulfillment adventure story) as a senior in high school. They were both horrible and both written longhand on notebook paper and I threw them both away at some point while I was in college.

It was in college that I began writing my first science fiction novel. I began writing a story I called Rituals, which later, after many, many years and many revisions became Duty, Honor, Planet. At the same time I came up with a plot for a book that would later be the basis for the characters of Birthright.

After getting out of the Army, I finished the books and got a literary agent, but couldn't break into the genre so I shelved them and gave up on getting published.

Then came the advent of e-books and the opportunity to self-publish on Amazon. And I figured, what the heck? What was there to lose?
And the strangest thing happened...people BOUGHT the two books, lots of people, and they liked them!

That lit the fire under my butt to write even more, and 14 months later I finished the sequel to Duty, Honor, Planet, titled Honor Bound. It took another 15 months to finish the third and (for the moment) last book in the series, The Line of Duty, which just came out in June of 2014.

I am currently working on Northwest Passage, a sequel to Birthright.
Follow my progress on my Facebook page at:
https://www.facebook.com/DutyHonorPlanet

or follow me on Twitter @RickPartlow66

I also have an author blog at:
http://rickpartlow.wordpress.com/

I live in central Florida with my wife of 20+ years, our two children and a willfull mutt of a dog.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

82 of 90 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on August 3, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Duty, Honor, Planet is a rousing military science fiction novel in the tradition of David Drake and David Weber, with a touch of Doc Smith space opera thrown in and the mix works very well. The characters have depth, even the minor ones that could easily be cardboard cutouts in the hands of a lesser author, and I found myself very involved with them. The action is very well done, it draws you in and never becomes rote and boring in the manner of some military SF...I felt I was on the edge of my seat and the flow was very much like watching a (good) movie. This is a superior effort and I recommend it to all fans of military science fiction.

Just wish I had this in Iraq and Afghan to take my mind off things.
just get it and read it.

Tim
USMC
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
53 of 59 people found the following review helpful By MTH on August 31, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I was very impressed with this book. Most of the time when I download 99 cent books on Kindle, I am not expecting much. They're generally written by amateurs and it usually shows, particularly with genre fiction. But this book reads like something I would find in a brick-and-mortar book store. I can't imagine why it hasn't been published in hard-copy as it's better than most of the dreck I see in the science fiction section nowadays. The story is tight and coherent and the action is well written---I felt like I could see it happening, almost like I was watching a movie and it never seemed boring or tedious, the way some military science fiction novels' action sequences do. It was a fun read and I really enjoyed it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful By James Andrews on February 21, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
This novel is an excellent find, especially for 99 cents. Unlike some similiarly priced novels Duty Honor Planet is both well written and well editted. The pacing is perfect, the characters are well drawn ( for an sci fi adventure novel), the plot is engaging, and there are no distracting spelling, syntax, or usage errors to distract from the story. Like other reviewers, I couldn't put this novel down and am definately looking forward to reading more of Rick Partlow's work.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
32 of 37 people found the following review helpful By Junie on August 8, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
This book was a rousing, fast-paced and inventive take on the Space Opera framework. There's a good through-line of military thinking, both in the tactics and in the reactions and personalities of the central characters, a strong sense of the better sci-fi concepts, and a truly original twist on the source of the conflict at the center of the plot.

I'd be more descriptive, but really, the twist is worth not being spoiled.

The writing (and the story) have a feel similar to John Ringo or Tom Kratman, or really a variety of the Baen stable, but honestly, this book read better than more than a few of the published tomes Baen has gotten me to buy. "Duty, Honor, and Planet" is well more than worth the $0.99. It would be more than worth a standard paperback price.

If you like rip-roaring planet-spanning invasions and politics and ass-kicking, you will enjoy this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Maurice on May 10, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The story holds your attention from the start. Plenty of action which is sometimes presented from different characters point of view. It's almost like reading two different stories. Each describes the battles from a different angle. Although a SFI book, it is not cluttered with futuristic descriptions of weapons and space travel issues. Very entertaining with a good action plot from start to end.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Kevin C. Rohrer on October 23, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was well-written, nicely paced, and difficult to put down. It was also a much better novel than many I have paid ten times more for. I hope the author gets noticed by traditional publishers so he can earn more money for his efforts.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By rrv on November 21, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
I took a chance on this book figuring it was just a dollar, and I was very pleasantly surprised. This book is first class military science fiction on a par with the big names in the field. Actually, it's better in some ways as Mr Partlow seems to be able to edit his work rather than suffering from the Jordan/Clancy disease where they take chapters to describe a few minutes worth of action.
The characters came to life on the page and by the end I was just hoping none of them got killed off. I honestly think this book would be worth the full price that the big publishing firms charge for e books. At a dollar, it's a steal. Buy it! You'll thank me later.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By sunglow on December 30, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
Duty, Honor, Planet is a fast-paced page-turner of a book with well-drawn characters that get you invested in them from the beginning. The story is very solidly plotted and reminds me of the better military sci fi authors. I very much enjoyed this book and I recommend it highly.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Topic From this Discussion
When's the third book due out?
It took 14 months for me to write Honor Bound. I am hoping that the third book won't take quite as long. It will likely be no earlier than next Winter though.
Mar 18, 2013 by Amazon Customer |  See all 3 posts
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?