Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an anatomy book for everyone
Subtlety is certainly not the strong point of this book. If you want realistic figures, look elsewhere like the Barcsay anatomy book. DYNAMIC FIGURE DRAWING doesn't explore the nuances of quiet poses or the beauty in overweight, underweight, or aged figures.
But if you aspire to draw or paint powerful, idealistic, and expressionistic figures, combine the lessons...
Published on December 8, 1999 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars abit disappointing. not really an anatomy book
Maybe i misread the blurb or other reviews. I saw the great muscle-toned figures in these pages and thought it would be a great anatomy book. I'd say it's closer to a comic-hero book if anything, but really there's the problem. I have no idea who its for. If you were interested in drawing the comic book figure, i'd say Tom Nguyens books are better and get you further...
Published 15 months ago by myk


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an anatomy book for everyone, December 8, 1999
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
Subtlety is certainly not the strong point of this book. If you want realistic figures, look elsewhere like the Barcsay anatomy book. DYNAMIC FIGURE DRAWING doesn't explore the nuances of quiet poses or the beauty in overweight, underweight, or aged figures.
But if you aspire to draw or paint powerful, idealistic, and expressionistic figures, combine the lessons of this book with drawing from athletic models. If you're into Michelangelo with his use of larger-than-life figures that use exaggerated poses and anatomy to convey strong emotion, you'll like this book.
After practicing the lessons inside the book, you'll be able to spot and draw them better when you draw from a model. Your powerful figures will have more authority to them. And with enough figure drawing under your belt, plus what you've learned from this book, you'll be able to draw figures out of your head in any position you want them in.
The Disney animated feature "Tarzan" was obviously inspired by Burne Hogarth's version of the comic strip "Tarzan." The animators learned many lessons from Hogarth, including foreshortening and dynamic poses and anatomy. I'll bet this book was an important reference to whoever worked on that film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another former student weighs in..., March 24, 2001
By 
skunktrain (So. California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
I was fortunate to be one the many students of Hogarth when he taught figure drawing in Los Angeles. He was a remarkable teacher, and his drawing style, and teaching style, is certainly "dynamic". All his books are great, but "Dynamic Figure Drawing" is a particular favorite. While you may find Hogarth's comic book roots not to your taste (and you don't want to have your art look too "Hogarth") - don't deprive yourself of his books. He has much to offer, and many details about the figure that are very valuable. My drawing has been forever impacted and improved because of what he taught me - in class and from his books.

Just because you absorb much from his books (and you will) it doesn't follow that you will adopt his "comic book" style as well. Learn from him, and many other artists' works, and consider yourself well-rounded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars secrets of figure drawing from imagination revealed, July 12, 2000
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
This is a must buy book for artists,animators comic book artists,or enthusiasts of figure drawing,who have dreamed of drawing foreshortened human figuresand human figures in action from memory/imagination. This book doesnt contain realistic anatomy,the author uses his own verson of human anatomy toexplain his methods andprinciples,these have to be taken as tools only and not rules. But after you have practised from this book hard enough you will find that your life drawing speed and skill is miles further than when you started,i also recommend the other books by burne hogarth ,dynamic anatomy,drawing dynamic hands, dynamic heads,dynamic light and shade and dynamic wrinkles and drapery.Only one word of caution its very easy to get influenced by burne hogarths work,and your work might start looking like a clone of his.So the key is get inspired not influenced ,keep your own style and use this book to add to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, July 3, 2005
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
This is one of those books you need to pick up to look at the pictures. The reading is good, but I highly reccomend getting a sketch pad and drawing each figure in this book over and over again, trying different styles each time. You'll be amazed at how much your understanding of foreshortening and the human body dynamic improves by just drawing. Some of it may go over the heads of newer artists as far as reading goes, but personally, I don't buy art books for the reading, I buy them so I can draw every panel in the book. After all, how are you supposed to learn if you spend all your time reading and no time actually drawing the pictures?

-Matt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest advanced figure drawing books ever, December 9, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
This is one of the greatest, most comprehensive guide to drawing figures in complicated poses and angles. Most people find this book to be too complicated. It's true that the book is very scholarly and requires a thorough study. It's not a how-to book for hobbyists and kids that guides people through figure drawing step-by-step. To get most out of it, one must already be fairly experienced at drawing the figure in more common poses and very committed to learning more. The book is an intellectual collection of techniques and methods to solving *problems* that arise in figure drawing.
I purchased Hogarth's Dynamic Figure Drawing book along with the other books in his Dynamic series almost a decade ago. Since then, I have been studying the books and learning the methods slowly but surely. The books take a great deal of practice and dedication to master the knowledge contained within them. I still feel that I have much to learn from these books, despite the number of times I have referred to them through these years. However, I feel that it is because of the knowledge gained from these books that I have grown so much as an artist over the past years. I only regret that Hogarth died before I could sign up for any of his classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars core of drawing to professionals and amateurs, August 5, 2000
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
Mr. Hogarth's book is clearly targeted at raising consciousness on human movement and visual perception and that is the most impressive, why not to say 'effective' point of his writing style. He describes what one should see in a drawing from varied points-of-view. That surely helps in identifying the most commom flaws most people starting at human body drawing have ever come to in the attempt. He points directly to the most disappointing in learning drawing: gaining the perception of space, proportion and movement and distributing the visual or imaginative input on paper. Concerning the practical aspects of learning through Mr. Hogarth's book, the author does not include exercises for practicing but that does not count as a weak point at all. The sketches in the book are more than helpful in showing how an oval shape becomes a head, all the initial strokes and lines are visible so that one can see through the sketch how it began to be created. As said before, through this book one will be able to understand the dinamics of human body movement and the sketches that come with these theoretical descriptions will help you redraw your own heads, torsos, legs and arms in the movement you may be able to imagine. That is not a tutorial or a how-to manual, it is a book that teaches you to think and see the human body with keen mind and eyes. A book based on understading not copying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta watch that foreshortening!, July 28, 2003
By 
Peter Vinton, Jr. (Not near Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
Superior to almost any human anatomy art book you care to name. Hogarth shows us that there are no shortcuts to any place worth going --the nuances of human musculature, skeletal structure, and basic laws of movement MUST be studied before anything approaching saleable results appear on paper. That said, this book is an immensely rewarding journey --it helped tremendously in getting my illustrative career off the ground and there frankly isn't enough praise I can heap upon Mr. Hogarth without sounding ridiculous. Forget "tips and tricks" from comic book artists --this book will propel your work to an entirely new level of kinetic realism. FOR SERIOUS ILLUSTRATORS ONLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great great stuff, but definately NOT a medical anatomy book, August 1, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
This book , though I have only seen it for one night has shown e thigs I never would have thought of about drawing comic book-esq figures. Its definately a great book for people who aspire to professionally pencil comic books, like myself. But it is not medically accurate, so in that case, not meant for realist drawing.
I see that a few of the reviewers have been rather harsh with this book. Well in that affair, let me say that they are cases of people not looking at this book as a comic book referrence, but rather a realistic, fine arts way. So if that is what you are looking for, I do not suggest this book.
As to the explanations in the book, they are a bit tough to understand, but if you study carefully the illustrations, then the instructionsbecome much clearer.
Also, as a side note, as its been stated this is NOT a good book for beginners in the comic book field. In that regard, I suggest "How to Draw Comics the Marvel Way," by Stan Lee, and John Buscema.
To sum it up, this book is for the small group of people who are not beginners to comics, but still need to refer or learn about the comic book style male body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A misunderstood and misjudged book., March 11, 2005
By 
Warren B. (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
Most of the dissatisfied reviews here seem to adopt one or more of a number of views.

This book is NOT:

1. A simple 'how to draw' book. Some of the descriptions and exercises are fairly complicated, and beginners will struggle if they rely on it alone.

2. An anatomy or reference book. The main aim of this book is not to provide examples to be meticulously copied; but to introduce a system of figure composition that reduces the need for (or, indeed, limitations of) life, photographic and other pose references. This has been my own personal experience, at the least.

3. A dictation of the 'right' style of drawing. Hogarth's style and exaggeration are not to everyone's taste. However, the principles of the book are not based on these. The reader is not required to limit themselves, and should be capable of adapting the rules and system to their own style and preferences.

Don't flip through this book and reject it because it's not a 'traditional' artist's book. Improving artists can learn a lot from it, as can beginners who use it in tandem with some form of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for artist or those who want to draw., December 10, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynamic Figure Drawing (Paperback)
This book is great!! The best i've seen on the human figure.It explains the human figure with examples from drawings don't by Hogarth. The explanation of the human body in 3D is important in getting the figure to not look flat. The process of learning proportions of the body before getting into detail is helpful. This book will help artist learn to draw without a real life model. If you can draw the human figure you can draw anything as figure drawing covers the basics needed to be a great artist. Best figure drawing book out there with ease of explaination that is sure to improve your figure drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dynamic Figure Drawing
Dynamic Figure Drawing by Burne Hogarth (Paperback - August 1, 1996)
$22.99 $17.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.