Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here Come the Yankees....Break Up the Yankees!
I'm a Mets fan who grew up in a household that cheered for the Other Team, and before I was ten years old, I had memorized the starting lineup of the 1961 Yankees. Reading the definitive work on the most successful championship run in baseball history (9 World Series titles and 14 American League pennants in 16 years) did not cause me to break out in hives. Besides...
Published on March 16, 2002 by Jason A. Miller

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Meh
Published 4 days ago by Timothy Keough


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here Come the Yankees....Break Up the Yankees!, March 16, 2002
By 
Jason A. Miller (Brooklyn, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dynasty : The New York Yankees 1949-1964 (Paperback)
I'm a Mets fan who grew up in a household that cheered for the Other Team, and before I was ten years old, I had memorized the starting lineup of the 1961 Yankees. Reading the definitive work on the most successful championship run in baseball history (9 World Series titles and 14 American League pennants in 16 years) did not cause me to break out in hives. Besides which, I read "Dynasty" simply as preparation for the author's forthcoming book on the Amazin's.
Lawyer-turned-baseball-writer Golenbock is celebrated for his oral histories of, among other teams, the Brooklyn Dodgers and the Chicago Cubs. He's also written some less-than-memorable books, but "Dynasty" was his first, a deeply-researched labor of love which brings us the highlights of the 16 years when the Bronx Bombers humiliated the rest of the baseball world and shattered nearly every record in the book. Golenbock, writing in the mid-1970s, travelled all over the country to meet the players and reconstruct a bygone era. This project, then, did two things: it produced a worthy, important book; and allowed him to avoid watching the less stellar team of the day, then playing in Shea Stadium with the likes of Elliot Maddox, Fritz Peterson, and Fred Stanley.
Each chapter in the book treats a single year in the dynasty. The "story" of that season -- from the inevitable 9-22 record in spring training through the inevitable World Series victory over the Dodgers -- is interrupted for lengthy biographies of 3 or 4 of the pivotal players on that year's club. Golenbock catches up with everyone, from Mantle and Ford to Bob Grim, Tom Sturdivant, and Ryne Duren.
The best interviews in the books are with the spikiest subjects -- a world-weary Roger Maris, sitting on the hood of a truck parked outside Clete Boyer's bar; a matured Sturdivant wondering what might have been had he tried hard; and the bitter, bitter Joe Pepitone. In addition are memorable anecdotes about bruising bench-warmer Johnny Lindell, and general manager George Weiss's penurious contract negotiations. Jim Bouton is also interviewed, so if you haven't read _Ball Four_ there's a good fifteen-page summary of what he wrote earlier (and a spooky interjection by his soon-to-be ex-wife, predicting his late-'70s comeback with the Atlanta Braves).
A word about statistical accuracy: Ths is a book about Heroes, and it was written before the first Baseball Abstract. If you don't like generalizations in your statistics, if you don't want to hear about .260-hitting "team players" and guys who "know how to win when it counts", or read phrases like "He didn't have many hits, but they were all clutch hits", then for you, the definitive book on the Yankee dynasty has not yet been written. From a stats analysis, there may have been less to these world-beating Yankees than meets the eye. But they still won 14 pennants in 16 years.
Overall, lacking the sheer scope of _Bums_ or _Fenway_, but if the Mantle-Maris-Berra-Billy Martin Yankees still mean anything to you, this is the first book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Yankee book out there!!, August 8, 2000
This review is from: Dynasty : The New York Yankees 1949-1964 (Paperback)
I rarely rate a book a solid 5 stars, but this book is simply superb. Excellent research, lots of good stories, and well written. Plus, about every 10 pages I would have a good laugh because of some hilarious story that I had never heard before. I'm not even a Yankee fan really (loyal Red Sox fan) but I read a lot of sports books and this one goes down as one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The glory days of the Yankees revisited, June 4, 2001
By 
R.J. (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dynasty : The New York Yankees 1949-1964 (Paperback)
Dynasty is Golenbock's finest baseball book, and he has written many, especially in this format. (See Wrigley, Fenway etc.) What makes this book special is that it profiles in a year-by-year format the greatest era of the New York Yankees, alternating between detailing each season and also profiling many of the greats (and not so greats). This book is still fresh, but was written when Roger Maris and Mickey Mantle were still alive, so he was able to interview both. Also, many lesser lights are profiled, from Tom Sturdivant to Clete Boyer to Andy Carey. The whole setting revolves around the grandeur of Yankee Stadium, the presence of Casey Stengel, and baseball dominance which might never be seen again. I didn't find the book to be totally perfect, but it is still one of the better baseball books. For some reason I enjoy his section on the 1958 World Series the best; the Yankees were down 3 games to 1 and had to deal with the hostility of the Milwaukee crowd, and they managed to come back in style and win the World Series again. There are many exciting moments in this book, you can just see the shadow across the field on a late afternoon in October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT the Boss' Yankees!, September 19, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dynasty : The New York Yankees 1949-1964 (Paperback)
"Dynasty" is a solid, linear, year by year (one year=one chapter) account of the great post World War 2 New York Yankees baseball teams. It does not, to its credit, lose itself in game by game recapping. It is far stronger, in this reviewer's opinion, than Roger Kahn's "The Boys of Summer", which dealt with the Brooklyn Dodgers of the same era. Kahn frequently intruded into the story, with personal opinions and observations. Golenbock, to his further credit, writes as a good unbiased reporter, rarely encroaching into the text. The author is an excellent interviewer who was quite able to gather the cooperation of his subjects. Unlike Mr. Kahn, he never covered the Yankees daily for a newspaper but this detracts in no way from the story. The players shine through very clearly, thanks in large measure to the solid interviews. Golenbock does not concentrate on the big stars, as did Roger Kahn. He instead draws in men like Ryne Duren, Johnny Blanchard, Joe Pepitone, Ralph Terry, Tom Sturdivant and Bob Grim, So many of these guys, we now remember, had such a brief time in the sun before fate or injuries ended their careers or reduced them to mediocrity. Did Mr. Kahn interview Rube Walker, Erv Palica or Bobby Morgan? Thanks to poignant talks with Terry, Blanchard and Clete Boyer we are treated to an inside look at the front office politics/ backstabbing that led to Ralph Houk "ascending" to the General Managers chair, being rapidly succeeded by Yogi Berra, Johnny Keane and Houk himself again! Very little mud is thrown around, with the exception of Houk. Here is a "nice guy" exposed as a smoke blowing scoundrel, who made guys like Tommy Tresh play hurt.I never did like the Major, war hero or not. Now I know why. The office politics behind the dismissals of veteran broadcasters Mel Allen and Red Barber are also covered.There are few "Ball Four" revelations in "Dynasty" and there is no need for such. This book can stand on its own two feet! There are perpetual, if minor, weaknesses. 1)"Dynasty", as do so many publications, cries out for an editor and fact checker. I attended or watched on several of the games retold here and have a VASTLY differing recollection of events (i.e.: that crucial September '61 doubleheader (!) showdown with the Tigers and Frank Howard's 450 foot ground rule (!) double off Whitey Ford in Game 1 of the '63 series. That one was right under my nose! Was the author there?) 2) Contradictions are found often: In many years can Andy Carey be a rookie? 3) Some non-baseball facts (a Roger Kahn specialty) are "misalligned". Country singer Charley Pride is confused with Charley Rich (!), and two Vietnam War timelines (Kahn again) are flatly incorrect. For the record, the two Tonkin Gulf destroyers were the Maddox and C. Turner Joy. Finally, a wimpy two page epilogue tries to "connect the dots" from the post WW2 "DYNASTY" to the Steinbrenner "dynasty". Such comparisons are unfair and derogatory to both. This should not detract from the larger picture, since "Dynasty" is a large picture effort. These criticisms do not detract from 560 solid pages of research, interviewing and writing. "Dynasty" belongs on the bookshelf of any serious New York baseball fan. Any fan of a "certain age" is absolutely cheating him/herself by not reading it. Christmas is coming fast. In baseball terms, here is a "can't miss prospect" as a stocking stuffer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dynasty-A Must Have!, April 21, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynasty : The New York Yankees 1949-1964 (Paperback)
The Dynasty by Peter Goldenbock has been read so many times in my house that I am ordering my 4th copy. This is an in-depth story about the great Yankee teams from 1949-1964. (What we need now it a part 2 , describing the 90's! The New York Yankees ARE baseball & this book explains clearly why. This is a must read for any baseball fan who grew up w/the Yankees & even for those who are just discovering the world of baseball. No fiction can be as good as the true story of the New York Yankee Dynasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic baseball book, December 28, 2006
I'm ambivalent about the Yankees, but this is certainly one of the best baseball books I've ever read. The research is incredibly extensive and amazingly detailed, the accounts of games are lively, there are great quotations and stories, and the interviews with former players are enlightening. The reader gets a great sense of many ballplayers as people, and the only guy who really comes off negatively is Roger Maris. Golenbock seems to try too hard to justify Maris' actions, and although one can sympathize with Maris, who occasionally seems to be an OK guy, he really seems to have been a jerk. As great as the book is, there are some minor flaws. In addition to a lot of missing commas, there are factual mistakes and inconsistencies. Some examples are calling Dick Groat "Dick Grant," writing that the 1960 NL champion Pittsburgh Pirates had won their first pennant since 1972 (!), claiming early in the book that the Yankees always traveled by plane and then writing for hundreds of pages about the Yankees riding trains, saying that Yankees executive George Weiss was so formal that he didn't refer to himself in the first person when every quotation from Weiss is in fact in the first person, and mixing up country singers Charley Pride and Charlie Rich. Nevertheless, these mistakes are minor, and this is indeed a great, wonderfully detailed baseball book (which truly deserves to be back in print).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for all Fans, March 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is well wrirtten and has a great deal of history for the NY Yankees.
A must read for Yankee Fans. Also a great read for baseball historians.
Great price fast shipment and a job well done by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Yankee fan must have, May 30, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought it for my husband who is an avid Yankee fan. He loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT the Boss' Yankees!, September 19, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dynasty : The New York Yankees 1949-1964 (Paperback)
"Dynasty" is a solid, linear, year by year (one year=one chapter) account of the great post World War 2 New York Yankees baseball teams. It does not, to its credit, lose itself in game by game recapping. It is far stronger, in this reviewer's opinion, than Roger Kahn's "The Boys of Summer", which dealt with the Brooklyn Dodgers of the same era. Kahn frequently intruded into the story, with personal opinions and observations. Golenbock, to his further credit, writes as a good unbiased reporter, rarely encroaching into the text.

The author is an excellent interviewer who was quite able to gather the cooperation of his subjects. Unlike Mr. Kahn, he never covered the Yankees daily for a newspaper but this detracts in no way from the story. The players shine through very clearly, thanks in large measure to the solid interviews. Golenbock does not concentrate on the big stars, as did Roger Kahn. He instead draws in men like Ryne Duren, Johnny Blanchard, Joe Pepitone, Ralph Terry, Tom Sturdivant and Bob Grim, So many of these guys, we now remember, had such a brief time in the sun before fate or injuries ended their careers or reduced them to mediocrity. Did Mr. Kahn interview Rube Walker, Erv Palica or Bobby Morgan? Thanks to poignant talks with Terry, Blanchard and Clete Boyer we are treated to an inside look at the front office politics/ backstabbing that led to Ralph Houk "ascending" to the General Managers chair, being rapidly succeeded by Yogi Berra, Johnny Keane and Houk himself again! Very little mud is thrown around, with the exception of Houk. Here is a "nice guy" exposed as a smoke blowing scoundrel, who made guys like Tommy Tresh and Roger Maris play hurt. I never did like the Major, war hero or not. Now I know why. The office politics behind the dismissals of veteran broadcasters Mel Allen and Red Barber are also covered. Golenbock throws in an eye opening recounting of the team's "goodwill" trip to Japan after the '55 series. That little jaunt produced some serious long term shifts on the club.

There are few "Ball Four" revelations in "Dynasty" and there is no need for such. This book can stand on its own two feet! There are perpetual, if minor, weaknesses. 1)"Dynasty", as do so many publications, cries out for an editor and fact checker. I attended or watched on several of the games retold here and have a VASTLY differing recollection of events i.e.: that crucial September '61 doubleheader (!) showdown with the Tigers and Frank Howard's 450 foot ground rule (!) double off Whitey Ford in Game 1 of the '63 series. That one was right under my nose! Was the author there? Also, the Dodgers' Billy Loes really DID lose a ground ball in the sun during the '52 World Series. 2) Contradictions are found often: How many years can Andy Carey be a rookie? 3) Some non-baseball facts (a Roger Kahn specialty) are "misaligned". Country singer Charley Pride is confused with Charley Rich (!), and two Vietnam War timelines (Kahn again) are flatly incorrect. For the record, the two Tonkin Gulf destroyers were the Maddox and C. Turner Joy. Finally, a wimpy two page epilogue tries to "connect the dots" from the post WW2 "DYNASTY" to the Steinbrenner "dynasty". Such comparisons are unfair and derogatory to both. These rants are enough to subtract a star to the rating above. This should not detract from the big picture, since "Dynasty" is so broad in scope. These criticisms do not detract from 654 solid pages of research, interviewing and writing. "Dynasty" belongs on the bookshelf of any serious New York baseball fan. Any fan of a "certain age" is absolutely cheating him/herself by not reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bronx Bombers, April 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These years from 1949-1964 in baseball were dominated by the New York Yankees. During that timespan, no team won more pennants or World Series than the Bronx Bombers nor had more superstars than them. Rightly name Dynasty, this book chronicles those dominant years with many stories about the great Yankee teams and its many players that were instrumental in making it the best in the American League.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dynasty : The New York Yankees 1949-1964
Dynasty : The New York Yankees 1949-1964 by Peter Golenbock (Paperback - May 1, 2000)
Used & New from: $0.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.