Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best emo/punk money can buy.
I went to see Matchbook Romance (an amaizng band, and is great live) last July and The Matches were opening up for them, and i all i can say is that i was blown away. They were absolutely amazing. They had so much energy and talent, and the songs were good. well, i got the CD, and i wasn't disappointed.

These have some incredibly catchy songs and some great...
Published on April 27, 2005 by Bruce Campbell

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good future...
The Matches is the kind of band everyone should watch, not only do I think they will become a huge sensation in the next few years, I think their material will be looked at closer. This is one of those reviews.

The Matches first album, E. Von Dahl Killed The Locals (title comes from the man who made them change their name from The Locals to The Matches), is a...
Published on August 14, 2005 by JWM


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best emo/punk money can buy., April 27, 2005
By 
Bruce Campbell "destroyer_of_false_metal" ((Borrowed that from Shadows Fall, one of the greatest bands to ever set foot on this earth)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
I went to see Matchbook Romance (an amaizng band, and is great live) last July and The Matches were opening up for them, and i all i can say is that i was blown away. They were absolutely amazing. They had so much energy and talent, and the songs were good. well, i got the CD, and i wasn't disappointed.

These have some incredibly catchy songs and some great guitar. These guys are like no band out there right now, they completely stand out. There are even some great solos (see "Sick Little Suicide". Really good) stuck in there. They have a harmonizing thing where they have two singers (the two guitarists) singing, and it sounds really good (See "Chain Me Free"). The lyrics (emo influenced) are very funny ( See "Say 18" and "Eryn Smith") and the songs range in styles, drawing influences from all over the place. Over all, these guys are just a very unique band, that is very talented, and worth your time, not matter what your style of music is.

The best songs are: "Chain Me Free", "Audio Blood", "More than Local Boys", "Sick Little Suicide", "Jack Slap Cheer", and the reason i wrote this review "Scrathced Out". This is the last song and it is acoustic, and is undescribable by words, it is just that good. The harmonizing is in it, going back in forth between each singer, and as the Verses go on, they slowly get faster and begin to build in intensity, and they stop, go to the chorus, and then repeat it. It is just amazing.

So, overall, if you are looking for something new, fresh, and just plain good, go pick up The Matches, and then go see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good future..., August 14, 2005
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
The Matches is the kind of band everyone should watch, not only do I think they will become a huge sensation in the next few years, I think their material will be looked at closer. This is one of those reviews.

The Matches first album, E. Von Dahl Killed The Locals (title comes from the man who made them change their name from The Locals to The Matches), is a modest pop-punk album. It's lyrics are well written and well sung, if not very deep. The album is the self-biography of the band, and mixed in there are the required girlfriend (or lack therefor of) complaints and social this-has-to-be-the-end-of-my-life ideas and dramas of an 18 year old.

While a great first time effort, the main problem is that E. Von Dahl lacks any variety or musical depth that other major bands produce. I'd recomend this album to many people, but I can't see this being their best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Band, Awesome CD, and AMAZING Live, July 29, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
I saw these guys at warped tour and i was blown away. I knew they were good, i had the cd, but after seeing them play, i had a new respect for them. They had so much energy, Shawn's voice was flawless, the guitars sounded perfect, and you could tell the entire audience was digging it. My favorite songs on the CD are Chain Me Free, Audio Blood, Sick Little Suicide, and the untitled track. This is worth your money, and you will not be let down. If you ever get a chance, go to one of their shows. It is nothing short of amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best New Band Around, January 2, 2005
By 
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
THE MATCHES cd is awseome and their live performances are out of this world. The band members are also the coolest guys and love talking to their fans after their shows. Every song on this cd is excellent and I usually never like every song on a cd. Their sound is unique which is what makes them great, but if you like bands like Taking Back Sunday, Fall Out Boy, Brand New, Matchbook Romance, etc., then you should spend every dime you have to buy this cd. I drove across an entire state and traveled an entire highway system to see them two nights in a row in concert because they are that good. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums I own, May 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
These guys are really really freaking good, and even better in concert. Normally, with a lot of CD's, if you listen to the whole thing a couple of times, you pick out songs you like more than others, and are able to narrow down your playlist to the "better" tracks on the album. Not so with The Matches. After roughly 9 months worth of listening, I am still hard-pressed to pick out a "best" song on it, because they're all really good. This would have to be one of the best punk CD's I own. Download the free mp3's on their website, and listen to them. If you like the samples, then you'll love this CD too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, October 22, 2005
By 
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
I got this CD after hearing one of their songs on Mark Hoppus' podcast.

Wow.

It just blew me away. I'll not go so far as to say that every song is amazing, but they're a great band, and this CD is certainly a great buy. From Dog Eared Page to Borderline Creep, you'll find a set of catchy, brilliant songs. I haven't tired of them, even after listening to their CD on repeat numerous times.

I reccommend this CD to anyone who wants to listen to some great rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of ANY type of punk rock, this cd rocks!, January 25, 2005
By 
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
The Matches are amazing. I didn't think much of it when a friend of mine told me about them, after getting this cd however I realized how awesome these guys are. Eryn Smith, Dog-Eared page, Superman (not on the Epitach cd), and Sick Little Suicide are all great songs. Not a bad song on the entire cd. This is one of the best cds I've heard in a long time. They are all over the place, so basically if you are a fan of ANY type of punk, ska-punk, or alternative music, GET THIS CD! It's not like any other punk rock band around and these guys are gonna be huge some day! You will NOT be dissappointed, I promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Some Good Music, July 24, 2005
By 
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
I've had this CD sitting on my shelf for months because I bought it after hearing Sick Little Suicide on a sampler. Just returned from Warped Tour and heard The Matches live. They were one of the best bands there. Beat out Fall Out Boy, All American Rejects, and the rest. When I got back I put this in my car and I've had it there since. Do youself a favor and if you like some of the new punk, get this. The band has some real talent is not just following a trend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing...what more can i say?, May 17, 2004
By 
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
you've got to love these guys, from the catchy songs to energic shows...you can't go wrong. i recommend this cd to anyone who loves music and more importantly going to their shows, they will not disappoint you.
i am so happy they are getting the knowledgement they deserve.
rock on. \m/ ^_^ \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep an eye on these guys, December 17, 2005
This review is from: E Von Dahl Killed the Locals (Audio CD)
The Matches aren't exactly my favorite sound, but the song Chain me Free is absolutely amazing. I definately think these guys have a good start and will get even better with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

E Von Dahl Killed the Locals
E Von Dahl Killed the Locals by The Matches (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.