Customer Reviews


412 Reviews
5 star:
 (291)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great shoes.
I work in a research lab and am always on my feet. These shoes have the ability to look nice and still not feel like dress shoes. I have never felt the need to rush and take them off as I have with other dress shoes. Basically they are lightweight and comfortable enough to handle being worn by someone who stands all day.
Also, I live in NYC and you wouldn't even...
Published on October 31, 2010 by J. White

versus
40 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Decline of Ecco
Ecco has decided to move down market, using cheaper materials and construction. The welt (where the shoe is joined to the sole)on two pair I bought recently was glued rather than sewn (as they were in the past), which looks cheap. The quality of the soles has declined; they're thinner and more uneven. There's no comparison between the old Helsinkis I had and the new ones...
Published on April 29, 2012 by W. Benson


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great shoes., October 31, 2010
By 
I work in a research lab and am always on my feet. These shoes have the ability to look nice and still not feel like dress shoes. I have never felt the need to rush and take them off as I have with other dress shoes. Basically they are lightweight and comfortable enough to handle being worn by someone who stands all day.
Also, I live in NYC and you wouldn't even know by looking at these shoes how much I wear them. They are such great quality that the New York sidewalks have yet to put a serious scratch on them. I do try to keep them polished and protected with leather guard, but I honestly wonder how necessary it is.
Buy these shoes; you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL!, May 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought these shoes as i left to serve a two year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints from 2010 - 2012, where i wore them at least 10 hours 6 days out of every week. Not only were they the most comfortable shoes i had, they lasted the full two years! i still wear them!
I walked countless miles in these shoes and biked nearly 6,000 miles in them (i know because i have a odometer attached to my bike). i know that these shoes are not cheap, but they are worth it! in the long run they are cheaper than other shoes that don't last more than a year in such harsh conditions.
Thank you ECCO for quality that actually out live the warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost 6 years of wear....time for a new pair!, February 18, 2010
By 
I bought my pair when we moved to NYC in 2004. I walked all over the city in them...work and play. They are the best shoe I have owned. I am buying a new pair this week. I paid less than $30 a year for these shoes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Decline of Ecco, April 29, 2012
By 
W. Benson (McLean, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ecco has decided to move down market, using cheaper materials and construction. The welt (where the shoe is joined to the sole)on two pair I bought recently was glued rather than sewn (as they were in the past), which looks cheap. The quality of the soles has declined; they're thinner and more uneven. There's no comparison between the old Helsinkis I had and the new ones I bought to replace them. I sent them back. I've been buying Eccos for years, but no more. What a pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still confortable but lower quality, June 6, 2012
By 
Ben (Mountain View CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I tried many slip-on with the same style and those ecco were the most confortable, nevertheless, when I compare the materials to the same model few years back (a colleague owns an older pair of Helsinki) it looks definitely cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Shoe, November 8, 2012
By 
Tony17 (Alpharetta, GA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The fit and feel of this shoe is excellent. The quality of the leather is very good, as expected. I usually wear a size 10 1/2 in most shoes but as most of you can attest, not all shoe sizes are alike. Having a wide foot, I first ordered a size 45/11-11.5 thinking the extra length would allow for a more comfortable fit (width wise). Boy was I wrong. They were way too large so I returned for a size 44/10-1.0.5 and these fit perfect. I was surprised by how true to size the shoe was. While not a true "wide" shoe it was just wide enough to provide very nice comfort. So far I can't find anything I dislike about this shoe. I would definitely buy this shoe again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never tried slip-ons before, October 6, 2010
By 
Sean J. Miles (Waterford, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ECCO Men's Helsinki Slip-On (Apparel)
I've always either worn dress shoes or deck-tops to work, and decided I would try slip-ons. I went with Ecco from my past footwear of theirs I've owned. I went with the Helsinki because I wanted something dressy enough that they would not stand out as loafers or too casual. Having never worn slip-ons before, I was worried they would always be falling off. When I first tried them on I thought I was correct in my assumption. However after the first day, I never thought about it again. The fact that I work in one of the largest office buildings in the world was also not lost me, and after several months, I can truly say that these shoes are extremely comfortable and durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, comfortable shoe, September 8, 2009
By 
ML (Pleasanton, CA) - See all my reviews
First off, I'm a big guy (250+ lbs), and this shoe is very comfortable. I use it as an everyday work shoe (although I alternate between black and brown). Fits a little snugger than the brown pair I have, and I need a shoe horn to put on, but still very good fit. I'm guessing I'll purchase again once these wear out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great shoe!, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Comfortable, attractive shoe.

ONE THING: Many of the comments/reviews I read on ECCOs insist that you must buy a size down. DO NOT do this. They don't necessarily run that large. I size a 12E. If I hadn't bought the 46 (equivalent to US size 12-12.5), then I wouldn't have been able to wear the shoe.

It starts a bit tight at the center and rear of the foot. Hugs that area, but broke in nicely in a day or so. Fits fine. In the forward portion of the shoe, there is just enough room.

POINT: don't buy a size down. Just buy your size precisely, and enjoy your shoes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Professional Work Shoe Ever Made, January 27, 2014
By 
Jason Perez (Costa Mesa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been working in the professional environment for over seven years now. The thing is that my job is labor intensive, but I still have to look professional (Tie, slacks, ...etc.). EVERY shoe I have bought prior to ECCO has a limit of six months then I have to toss them for falling apart. I have tried Kenneth Cole, Cole Haan, Clarks, Sketchers,... the list goes on. Shoes that only cost me $30 and shoes that cost me $250. Every one has a limit of around six months. I have had my ECCOs for over a year and a half now and only the inserts have had to be replaced. The leather did fade slightly but nothing a little boot polish could not fix. So lasting this long alone is worth the 5 stars. Where I would rate the shoes even higher is because of the comfort. These shoes feel like sneakers, but look like traditional slip-ons. The only way where people could tell that these shoes have a rubber sole is if it rains and my shoes squeak on the tile. But I would prefer a little squeak rather than a hard fall if I were using leather soles.

So to sum up my review if you want a shoe that is extremely comfortable and that will last you, ECCO is well worth the amount they charge. If you have to wear shoes like these every day like I do you WILL spend more over time if you pick any other brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.