Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this season.
This season is great. Always fast paced and dramatic. The characters change, but the story line remains the same: Save lives amid the chaos of the ER, and hold your own life in balance. It provides a clear picture that health care providers are human and suffer the same problems that those outside of health care do.
Published 13 months ago by GeniusNP

versus
28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My Least Favorite Season
ER had some ups and downs it's last five seasons, and this was the lowest point. Why? I can sum 90% of it up in one word: Africa.

After leaving the show in the season 11 finale, it was announced that Noah Wyle would return for several episodes in season 12. That sounded great...at first.
Then the episodes aired, and it was more of Dr. Carter in Africa. The...
Published on September 30, 2009 by Nathan B. Blake


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My Least Favorite Season, September 30, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ER: Season 12 (DVD)
ER had some ups and downs it's last five seasons, and this was the lowest point. Why? I can sum 90% of it up in one word: Africa.

After leaving the show in the season 11 finale, it was announced that Noah Wyle would return for several episodes in season 12. That sounded great...at first.
Then the episodes aired, and it was more of Dr. Carter in Africa. The writer's already made their points with this storyline in season 10. The Africa episodes in season 12 simply don't add anything to the story, and are just more of the same.
Granted, none of these Africa episodes are as bad as "Makemba" from season ten, but
they still consume too much of season 12.

And now for the other 10% of the problems.

There is an episode in the first half of the season callled "dream House", and it is probobly the worst non-Africa episode of the series. It focuses on Abby and Neela treating a baby Monkey. There were other occasions where animals were treated in the ER, but this case takes up too much time and lacks effective exectution.
Also, the season premiere was weak.

Now, for what I did like:

Kristen Johnston (I'm not sure if I got her name right) and John Leguizamo all have good recurring roles, and James Woods is excellent in an episode where he plays
a former teacher of Abby's, who has ALS. Woods received a well deserved emmy nomination for this role.

There is an excellent storyline where Kovac treats a woman who emerges from a coma after several years, and on a personal note he and Abby's relationship was rekindled.

There are some other good patient storylines (an Islamic girl is the victim of an honor killing, a child used as a human shield by her abductor, etc) and Scott Grimes becomes a regular cast member, which I wasn't happy about at first, but starting with the season finale and continuing through the remainder of the series, Dr. Archie Morris became (in my opinion) one of the best charachters of the series.

One last thing I want to discuss is the season finale, 21 Guns. This is a polarizing episode among ER fans. It caused many to tune out for good, while causing others to wait at the edge of their seat for the season 13 premiere. I was somewhere in the middle. After twelve seasons, the show had already done so much gunplay in the hospital that this finale pushed believeability. However, it was an intense way of pushing some tired old storylines out of the way (Sam's ex-boyfriend) while paving the way for a strong start to season 13 (and some fresh storylines) I personally believe in it's fifteen years on the airway, ER did stretch believeability when it came to gunfights in the hospital, but compared to some other popular shows, I don't think this was even close to the worse
case of stretching reality (24's Jack Bauer couldn't possibly survive everything the writer's have thrown at him, and Meredith on Grey's Anatomy would've died in the Ferry accident episode (and no, I don't watch Grey's Anatomy).

I will definately be adding season 12 to my collection, but I see much of it as merely a bridge to better seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this season., December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This season is great. Always fast paced and dramatic. The characters change, but the story line remains the same: Save lives amid the chaos of the ER, and hold your own life in balance. It provides a clear picture that health care providers are human and suffer the same problems that those outside of health care do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Africa Episodes, January 7, 2010
This review is from: ER: Season 12 (DVD)
I agree with many of the reviews about the Africa episodes, but I think they are vital to the storyline of John Carter. This is where he meets his wife, she gets pregnant, and they have to make the decision to go back to Chicago for the baby. Although some of the episodes may be boring, and yes, there didn't need to be quite so many of them, they are a necessity for Carter's background. These episodes give us insight into the humanity of Carter and his desire to help those outside of Chicago County General. Great show, not the best season, but vital to the development of characters and the last three seasons of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars E.R. Rocks!!, February 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ER: Season 12 (DVD)
I really love E.R., it is definetly one of my all time favorite t.v. shows. I plan on purchasing all of the box sets as they become available. This season(12), marks a real change in County Hospital, I think. Noah Wylie (Dr. John Carter) has left to go to Africa to be with his love, Kem, and Dr. Luca Kovac is now in charge. I really enjoyed most of the episodes in this season, and am anxious to see what season 13 holds in store. I've not seen any of the episodes after this season, so 13-15 is all new to me, as I was always working on Thursday nights when the episodes originally aired, and syndication hasn't shown many, if any of season 13.
I do wish they would go ahead and release the next three box sets sooner, seein that E.R. is no longer on network t.v. Oh, well, patience is a virtue, huh?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great series!, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ER: Season 12 (DVD)
great series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ER 12, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ER: Season 12 (DVD)
Arrived on time and worked perfectly. The packaging was as advertised and arrived as requested. I love ER and liked re-watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ER Season 12, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ER: Season 12 (DVD)
Awesome, just like all the other season! Loved this show. Wish it was still around. DVD stopped and started once or twice though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars er 12, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ER: Season 12 (DVD)
We are coming to near the end of an era and the actors and storylines are wonderful and exciting the dramas are amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The front runner, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
C'mon, this is ER ... of course it was great. I missed the original cast, especially Anthony Edwards, Maura Tierney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better "last third" seasons., January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ER: Season 12 (DVD)
There are six major milestones that make this season stand out. The first is that Dr. Susan Lewis leaves the show in the first episode. Her role was never strong. Her two best episodes are the two where she leaves. The second is the season long guest appearance of John Leguizamo as Dr. Victor Clemente as a hot shot resident. The third is the episode devoted exclusively to a patient played by James Woods, as a leading researcher who arrives in the final stages of Lou Gerhig's disease (ALS), with lots of flashbacks covering the time when the disease first appeared, and as it progressed. The fourth is the appearance of Kristen Johnston as Nurse Manager Eve Peyton (Kristen Johnston was a regular, and Emmy award winner for "Third Rock from the Sun"). The fifth was the appearance of John Stamos (He becomes a regular next season.). The sixth is the arc with Linda Cardel.ini and guest star Armand Assante.

I also enjoy the episodes where Laura Innes has a major role. She always seems like a more realistic Chief of Staff than Lisa Edelstein's role as Dr. House's boss on "House". She goes through a life changing arc in this season.

This season is a turning point for Dr. Archie Morris, who began on the show as a lazy and not very sharp intern. He is now part of the main cast, and will remain there for the remaining seasons.

There are more cases of musical chairs in romantic attachments between members of the ER staff. With some exceptions, this may be my least favorite part of "ER" from the first season. It seems that practically every major character deals with some kind of romantic or professional crisis this season. There are some episodes where scenes take place in Darfur, with Dr. Carter, but thankfully, they are brief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ER: Season 12
ER: Season 12 by Lesli Linka Glatter (DVD - 2010)
$29.98 $18.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.