Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff!
I got this book because I'm a really big college football fan and I like the idea of learning how to cook better, but, truth be told, I'm not really very good at it. (I've never tailgated in my life, but love the bbq!) There are good tips in it for beginners without it feeling like the writer is talking down to you and the recipes that I've done have all come out GREAT...
Published on October 11, 2007 by Beaumont

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good recipes
the recipes in this cookbook are very good, however; there are no color photographs. the book has nice graphics, but no photos of the food.
the paper is not glossy or high quality.
i am sure these comments do not impact how the recipes will turn out, but they are important to someone making a purchase.
Published 12 months ago by preppygirl56


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff!, October 11, 2007
By 
Beaumont (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
I got this book because I'm a really big college football fan and I like the idea of learning how to cook better, but, truth be told, I'm not really very good at it. (I've never tailgated in my life, but love the bbq!) There are good tips in it for beginners without it feeling like the writer is talking down to you and the recipes that I've done have all come out GREAT without a lot of fuss. And the little sidebars by the ESPN guys are really funny, so I even read the whole thing. Who sits down and reads a COOKBOOK? Well, this one you can. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POT ROAST!, October 7, 2009
With a foreword by Mike Golic, former NFL and Notre Dame defensive tackle, now of Mike & Mike fame, this book starts off perfectly. Nothing fancy should be at tailgates, and ketchup doesn't belong on a brat (Golic agrees). The rest of the 174 pages of this magnum opus to tailgating do not disappoint.

The entire production of Gameday Gourmet is perfect for the sports fan. Both the recipes and technicalities of tailgating are broken down like box scores. Nothing complicated, and very in order. The guide is not, however, stuffy and purely regurgitated ingredients; in fact, there is a ton of humor within. If it's not the "All-Time Tailgating Team" (e.g. Porkchop Womack, Refrigerator Perry, Jerry Rice, Jack Ham), it's the creatively named dishes and the sidebars with helpful information about the intricacies of pregame events.

More than a simple recipe book, there are guides for the novice tailgater. What to bring, how to cook it, what's essential for set up, who to be on the lookout for, and even the basics of an indoor tailgating experience. This is the definitive guide of tailgating, the top of the pantheon, and everyone who follows the guidelines is well on their way to MVP status.

A few favorites from the recipes
Breakfast: Sticky Fingers Monkey Bread - Like cinnamon rolls, but with nuts and more sugar. Perfect for the early morning starts on the west coast.

Dips: Hurry up Black Bean Dip - A bit spicy, a pregame must for Big 12 games

Liquids: LSU Tigers Milk Punch - Essentially a milkshake with whiskey, a delicacy spawned from the insanity that is SEC football

Grilling/Barbecuing: First of all, if you don't know the difference between grilling and barbecue, you need to buy this book if you plan to tailgate. As for the my favorite from this book, easy, brats in beer.

Long-cooking: Fighting Irish Beef Stew - The prep work is minimal, and it produces a delicious concoction with tons of ingredients. Could be similar to Bachelor Stew (i.e. grab a ton of stuff from the fridge and throw into crockpot).

Casseroles: Hashmark Hash Brown Casserole - Stay away if you don't like cheese with your cheese.

There's even a small section of salads and desserts, neither of which belong at a tailgate. These two sections are the books only failing, and directly contradict Golic's advice in the foreword.

Great book. Put on pounds like the big boys. POT ROAST!

Jason Elin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for college football fan!, December 23, 2008
By 
My husband and brother-in-law are both huge college football fans and love to cook so this was perfect for them. Love the way the book addresses individual teams instead of just lumping the usual tailgating favs together. Also liked having the commentators I'm used to seeing throw their 2 cents in. Would definitely recommend to friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good recipes, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the recipes in this cookbook are very good, however; there are no color photographs. the book has nice graphics, but no photos of the food.
the paper is not glossy or high quality.
i am sure these comments do not impact how the recipes will turn out, but they are important to someone making a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook!, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ESPN Gameday Gourmet: More Than 80 All-American Tailgate Recipes (Paperback)
Great book (especially as a a gift), fun to read, with delicious recipes! It is well used and enjoyed. Definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy and funny!, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ESPN Gameday Gourmet: More Than 80 All-American Tailgate Recipes (Paperback)
Purchased this book to include in a "Sports" themed gift basket for raffle fundraiser. Once I had a chance to examine it, I was very tempted to keep it myself! A great gender-neutral gift that attracted both male and female interest!! I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ESPN Gameday Gourmet: More Than 80 All-American Tailgate Recipes
ESPN Gameday Gourmet: More Than 80 All-American Tailgate Recipes by Pableaux Johnson (Paperback - July 10, 2007)
Used & New from: $1.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.