Customer Reviews


741 Reviews
5 star:
 (406)
4 star:
 (161)
3 star:
 (77)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does What it Says
I purchased this product to update my old HP Media Center Computer that is running Windows XP. I wanted to connect the PC to my large flat screen TV to stream content from the internet (Hulu, Pandora, Netflix, etc.) My original graphics card did not have an HDMI out option. It was very easy to install, and it works great. I actually like this option better than the...
Published on January 9, 2012 by Pamela

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent card but the fan can sure get loud
This is a decent graphics card I got only because I needed an HDMI port to watch Blu-rays on my PC. My motherboard has two PCIE 2.0 ports, one for this card and one for USB 3.0 ports. The fan on this thing is quite noticeable. It's annoying to me because I use it to watch movies in my bedroom and I'm forced to turn the volume up. If you have your PC tucked away or...
Published 18 months ago by Nick K.


‹ Previous | 1 275 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does What it Says, January 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
I purchased this product to update my old HP Media Center Computer that is running Windows XP. I wanted to connect the PC to my large flat screen TV to stream content from the internet (Hulu, Pandora, Netflix, etc.) My original graphics card did not have an HDMI out option. It was very easy to install, and it works great. I actually like this option better than the ROKU (which I have on another one of my TVs) because it gives me more variety. I did not have any problems, and it works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, July 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
Bought this card because I was looking for an inexpensive card to help boost my system's gaming capabilities. Installation was quick and simple. As was all the driverwork. My computer was unsupported at the time for Diablo 3 and this inexpensive little card did the trick just fine. Everything runs nice and smooth for me now. Games like WoW are able to be set to Ultra or slightly lower on all settings and still be able to clock in 35 fps, which was a huge improvement to my old 10-12 fps I was getting on much lower settings. The fan runs super quiet, and if it makes any real noise at all, I hardly notice. Great buy, I highly recommend for anyone looking to get as their first card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dependable, December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
History: My original video card died. It didn't die suddenly, but intermittently. The diagnostics indicated the video card. As I am no expert, I didn't want to spend a lot of money and be wrong.

Results: I got this card for $39.99 and couldn't have been happier. although this is obviously a card for the gaming crowd, the installation instructions were clearly written for beginners like me. After a few display adjustments I was feeling as if I had a new computer. The memory is larger than my original card.

As an added bonus, the delivery was faster than estimated. I am very pleased with every aspect of this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
This device works fine. It's in a computer running Linux and it works. What more can I say? This stupid minimum word requirement is annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Card For The Price, March 14, 2011
By 
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
This was a good deal with a $20 rebate from Frys. It's a bit slower than my other ATI Radeon HD4500 but then it didn't cost as much either. Also it came with 64 bit drivers and worked fine with the Windows-7 64 bit version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video Card, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
I purchased this card to solve a problem I was having with screen resolution after installing windows 7. I also wanted to continue using 2 monitors. The card solved both of my problems ...

Larry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent upgrade for that aging machine., October 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
I dropped this card into a Dell Inspiron 530 with 4GB of RAM to help an aging computer pull better frames in World of Warcraft, Skyrim, DCU Online as well as a variety of other somewhat graphic intensive games (some .ini tweaks were necessary for Skyrim to run as smooth and 1113MB cached video memory, DXdiag reporting 2137MB total). For the price and the age of the machine, I'm very happy with it. Resolution at 1440x900 in all games as well as view distances up are fine ...but shadows, environmental detail and particle density must be kept on the lower spectrum to get decent frame rate. Netflix through Chrome and high-resolution video play great. I've been using this card for the past week and have not experienced any major noise from the fan (I've been listening carefully) that seems louder than it should. The side of the package suggests a 350w PSU but mine is 300w and works great with two HDDs and a DVD-RW drive consuming power as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does Exactly The improvement I wanted!!, May 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
If you want to see what your games should look like instead of the washed out way they look with the built in video, get this card. You will not believe the improvement!! I didn't untill I played R.U.S.E. after installing this card. The detail is just unbelievable. I am so glad I got this card. The price is just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent card but the fan can sure get loud, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
This is a decent graphics card I got only because I needed an HDMI port to watch Blu-rays on my PC. My motherboard has two PCIE 2.0 ports, one for this card and one for USB 3.0 ports. The fan on this thing is quite noticeable. It's annoying to me because I use it to watch movies in my bedroom and I'm forced to turn the volume up. If you have your PC tucked away or positioned differently, it won't be too much of a bother.

The card itself is fine and will get an average user by for everyday use. Plus it's well worth the extra couple dollars over the 512MB version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Runs Sims 3 at max settings., February 28, 2013
By 
jim merlin (CLAIRTON, PA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1 GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card, 01G-P3-1302-LR (Personal Computers)
I got this for a desktop thats a few years old so my girlfriend could play Sims 3 and Have it run better then it does on the onboard graphics chip. It does this rather well. Which is why I'm writing this review on our old laptop instead of having sex.
Perhaps I should rethink the 5 star rateing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 275 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.